Endless Possibilities Realised
Through People-oriented Service and
Systematic Delivery
Immigration Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2009
JW Player goes here

To keep pace with the global trend of information technology, the Immigration Department (ImmD) has launched a number of e-schemes to boost its services with a view to reducing significantly the processing time for immigration clearance and application for personal documentation. Though under resource constraint, the schemes were rolled out in strategic phases and delivered with emphasis on people-oriented service culture, bringing great convenience to the public and travelers.

Gradual Development Beyond Core Schemes

Mrs CHUI CHAN Wai-kuen, Assistant Principal Immigration Officer (Service Support and Public Relations), said, "With the issuance of smart identity card in 2003, starting from 2004, the ImmD has gradually implemented the Passenger e-Channels, Vehicular e-Channels, e-Channels for Cross-boundary Primary School Students, Frequent Visitor e-Channels and Express e-Channels to facilitate immigration clearance. The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Electronic Passport (e-Passport) later introduced provides the residents with greater convenience when travelling aboard. The e-Passport System has also been extended to cover the application for other documents. Furthermore, to tie in with the Application and Investigation Easy System fully implemented in late 2008, more one-stop e-Services will be rolled out to provide the public with diversified means of application."

In March 2009, the ImmD introduced the pilot scheme on Express e-Channel at the Lo Wu Control Point. The Express e-Channels only take 8 seconds to complete immigration clearance, 4 seconds faster than the traditional e-Channels. As a government department with close contact with the public, the ImmD is keen on applying information technology and other advanced technologies in order to enhance its performance and provide quality services to the community.

Flexibility in Management for Service Enhancement

With a people-oriented service culture, the ImmD attends to the views of its staff and the public from time to time in order to make enhancement. Mrs HO TSE Bing-yee, Chief Immigration Officer (Communications and Public Affairs), remarked that, "Allowing our colleagues to enjoy some degree of flexibility within the framework of the established workflow is conducive to smoother operation. For instance, within the resources permitted, our staff in the Registration of Persons Division will take several photos of an applicant as choice of his identity card photo." The flexibility in management, coupled with the training and care given by the department helps motivate the staff to devote themselves to work.

Mr CHAN Hon-ming, Senior Immigration Officer (Service Support), said, "We analyse the system data and behavioural patterns of the public with a view to continuously enhancing our services. For example, following the roll out of the mock e-Channels in 2004, we set up mock e-Channels for vehicles and invited representatives from the transport sector to give it a try so as to collect feedback from users. In various publicity events, we encourage the public to experience our new systems, such as the 'Easy Send' self-service kiosk for HKSAR e-Passport applications."

Mrs CHUI CHAN Wai-kuen, Assistant Principal Immigration Officer (Service Support and Public Relations) (middle), pointed out that the services were implemented in an orderly manner, beginning with core schemes. To the left is Mrs HO TSE Bing-yee, Chief Immigration Officer (Communications and Public Affairs) and to the right, Mr CHAN Hon-ming, Senior Immigration Officer (Service Support).
The HKSAR e-Passport that adopts the "biometrics technology" has won critical international acclaim.
It takes 12 seconds for the traditional e-Channels to complete immigration clearance, while the Express e-Channels further shorten it to 8 seconds.
The ImmD is committed to providing its staff with diversified professional training to ensure that they are adequately equipped to cope with the challenges ahead.

推行有序 以人为本 以有限创无限
入境事务处

卓越服务@政府
2009
JW Player goes here

为切合环球资讯发展趋势,入境处推行多项电子化项目计划,配合井然有序的推行策略和「以人为本」的服务精神,在有限资源下,令出入境事务及证件申请流程大大缩短,为市民及旅客带来方便。

核心项目为先 逐步推广

助理首席入境事务主任(部队支援及公共关系)徐陈慧娟说:「为便利市民出入境,部门以2003年智能身份证作为基础,在2004年开始,陆续推出旅客e-道丶车辆e-道丶学童e-道丶经常访港旅客e-道及快捷e-道等;其後的e-Passport,更便利市民外游,部门将电子护照系统,推及至其他证件申请;另配合2008年底全面推行的「个案简易处理系统」,逐步推出更多一站式电子服务,提供多元化的申请途径。」

2009年3月,入境处在罗湖管制站推行「快捷e-道」试验计划,过关程序只需8秒,比传统e-道快4秒。作为经常与市民接触的政府部门之一,入境处致力应用资讯科技及其他先进技术,进一步提升业务的表现,为市民提供更优质服务。

灵活管理 不断优化

在「以人为本」的服务文化下,入境处会广纳员工及市民的意见,改进服务。总入境事务主任(传讯及公共事务)何谢冰儿指出∶「让同事在既定的工作流程框架内有灵活发挥的空间,他们工作会更畅顺,例如人事登记科的同事在资源许可的情况下,为申请人拍摄多帧照片,申请人可从中选择合意的作为身份证相片。」入境处的灵活管理方法丶培训及关怀,鼓励职员投入工作。

高级入境事务主任(部队支援)陈汉明说∶「部门就系统数据和市民的行为模式作出分析,不断优化服务,例如效法2004年的模拟e-道,我们进而设立模拟车辆e-道,邀请运输业界代表试用,收集用家意见。在公开宣传活动,我们鼓励市民试用新系统,例如『常服务』电子护照自助服务站。」

助理首席入境事务主任(部队支援及公共关系)徐陈慧娟(中)指出,部门服务推行有序,由核心项目再扩展。(左)总入境事务主任(传讯及公共事务)何谢冰儿;(右)高级入境事务主任(部队支援)陈汉明。
助理首席入境事务主任(部队支援及公共关系)徐陈慧娟(中)指出,部门服务推行有序,由核心项目再扩展。(左)总入境事务主任(传讯及公共事务)何谢冰儿;(右)高级入境事务主任(部队支援)陈汉明。
采用「生物特徵科技」的特区电子护照,国际评价甚高。
采用「生物特徵科技」的特区电子护照,国际评价甚高。
传统e-道过关需时12秒,「快捷e-道」进一步缩短过关时间至8秒。
传统e-道过关需时12秒,「快捷e-道」进一步缩短过关时间至8秒。
入境处一向致力为部队成员提供多元化的专业培训,确保他们具备所需的技能面对不同挑战。
入境处一向致力为部队成员提供多元化的专业培训,确保他们具备所需的技能面对不同挑战。