Innovation and Strategic Resource
Management
Immigration Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2009
JW Player goes here

"With its effective use of resources and strategic management, comradeship and innovation, coupled with the support of information technology, the Immigration Department (ImmD) has been able to meet the growing demand for services and fulfil its pledges"Mrs CHUI CHAN Wai-kuen, Assistant Principal Immigration Officer (Service Support and Public Relations) said. The performance pledges of the department, which were developed in 1992, have been expanded to cover 6 service types, 29 service items and 40 service standards.

Effective Use of Resources and Strategic Management

As the ImmD's performance pledges have been expanded to cover wider service areas and job varieties, the department has leveraged on information technology and a well-established human resource management system to sustain its growth and development. Citing immigration services as an example, Mr CHEUNG Man-keung, Chief Immigration Officer (Information and Liaison) said, "The department will collate and analyse passenger traffic statistics for the purpose of staff deployment planning. Emergency Response Team will be set up, where necessary, for flexible staff deployment. By real-time monitoring of traffic situation, the hardware facilities at control points will be flexibly employed and the operation mode of the e-Channels will be reversed in the light of the change of passenger flow. Moreover, with the Border Liaison mechanism at the Boundary Joint Command Centre in place, and announcements made to the public about traffic situation at various control points to facilitate full utilization of individual control points, the handling capacity of passengers at boundary control points are enhanced." In 2008, the Airport Control Point was able to clear 99% of visitors within 15 minutes waiting time, which has exceeded the 92% set under the pledge. The department's outstanding management of passenger and vehicular traffic has served as a role model for its counterparts in other regions and has enhanced the international status of Hong Kong.

Comradeship and Innovation

The ImmD has listened to the views of the public through various channels and collected feedback and suggestions from related sectors through the Immigration Department Users' Committee. Internally, it has encouraged its staff to forward their views through platforms like the "Staff Suggestion Scheme"to share the experiences gained with a view to streamlining the work processes.

Miss LAM Pui-ling, Senior Immigration Officer (Service Support) cited the trial run of the e-Channel System as an example. She said, "During the trial stage, we found that many users of the system could not get through the e-Channel because of the wrong positioning of their fingers or cards. To get round the problem, we have added an indicative label and a fingerprint-guard on the fingerprint scanner."

Strong team spirit has been conducive to service enhancement, and the formation of the Emergency Response Team is an example. It is formed by voluntary off-duty staff from different sections to strengthen the deployment capability of the department. Moreover, the department has also met the demand of the time by implementing the Quality Migrant Admission Scheme in support of the Government's policy, and introducing new initiatives like the Civil Celebrants of Marriages Scheme.

Mrs CHUI CHAN Wai-kuen, Assistant Principal Immigration Officer (Service Support and Public Relations) (middle) pointed out that the performance pledges of the department cover 6 service types and a broad spectrum of services. To the left is Mr CHEUNG Man-keung, Chief Immigration Officer (Information and Liaison) and to the right is Miss LAM Pui-ling, Senior Immigration Officer (Service Support)
The ImmD is committed to providing professional services to the public and visitors in an efficient and courteous manner.
The ImmD's "Easy Send" self-service kiosks allowed submission of applications for the HKSAR passports in a convenient way.
Flexibility in the use of hardware at control points is conducive to effective management of passenger traffic.

创新思维 灵活资源管理
入境事务处

卓越服务@政府
2009
JW Player goes here

「在『善用资源,灵活管理』及『团队精神,锐意创新』的大前提下,加上资讯科技的协助,入境处得以应付日益提高的服务需求,兑现服务承诺。」助理首席入境事务主任(部队支援及公共关系)徐陈慧娟指出,部门的服务承诺由1992年订立至今,涵盖范畴已增至6大服务类别,29个项目及40项标准。

善用资源 灵活管理

入境处的服务承诺涵盖广泛,工作亦愈趋多元化,故此要让部门持续发展,除了资讯科技外,亦有赖完善的人力资源管理架构。以出入境服务为例,总入境事务主任(查询及联络)张文强说∶「部门会收集及分析出入境旅客数据,预先部署人手编配,成立紧急应变部队,亦会实时观察,调配人手;同时亦灵活运用口岸硬件装置,因应人流而改变e-道系统的运作模式,并透过边境联合指挥中心的通报机制,必要时向市民作出呼吁,善用不同口岸,加强处理旅客的能力。」2008年,机场管制站为99%的访客在15分钟的等候时间内办理出入境手续,超越了服务承诺所定的92%。出色的出入境管理,让入境处成为其他地区仿效的对象,提升本港的国际地位。

团队精神 锐意创新

入境处从不同途径听取市民意见,及在「使用服务人士委员会」收集业界的建议。对内,亦鼓励职员集结经验,通过「员工建议书计划」等沟通渠道提出意见,优化工序。

高级入境事务主任(部队支援)林佩玲举例说∶「在e-道系统的测试阶段,同事发现许多使用者由於摆放手指位置及插咭方向不对位,而不能通过e-道。於是,我们加上指示图及在指纹感应器上,加上有助固定手指的胶片。」

职员的团队精神有助提升服务,例如入境处的紧急应变部队,是由各科组别职员在休假期间自愿参与,加强部门的人手编配能力。部门亦因时制宜,推出配合政府政策的优秀人才入境计划和创新的婚姻监礼人计划等。

助理首席入境事务主任(部队支援及公共关系)徐陈慧娟(中)指出,部门服务承诺至今涵盖6大服务类别,范围广泛。(左)总入境事务主任(查询及联络)张文强;(右)为高级入境事务主任(部队支援)林佩玲。
助理首席入境事务主任(部队支援及公共关系)徐陈慧娟(中)指出,部门服务承诺至今涵盖6大服务类别,范围广泛。(左)总入境事务主任(查询及联络)张文强;(右)为高级入境事务主任(部队支援)林佩玲。
入境事务处致力为市民及旅客提供专业丶高效率及有礼貌的服务。
入境事务处致力为市民及旅客提供专业丶高效率及有礼貌的服务。
入境事务处崭新项目—「常服务」自助服务站,让市民可以自助递交特区护照的申请。
入境事务处崭新项目—「常服务」自助服务站,让市民可以自助递交特区护照的申请。
灵活运用口岸硬件装置,能有效处理出入境人潮。
灵活运用口岸硬件装置,能有效处理出入境人潮。