Employing Information Technology
Accomplishing Performance Pledge
Targets
Inland Revenue Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2009

The Inland Revenue Department (IRD) is one of the first government departments to offer performance pledges to the public. Its scope of services have been extended from the initial 13 items in 8 categories to the present 28 items in 15 categories, covering IRD's major services to the public. This year, the newly added performance pledge items are electronic stamp duty service, the issue of electronic receipts to taxpayers, and handling complaint cases. Over the years, the targets pledged for most services have been achieved. In a number of items, IRD's services even exceeded the pledged standard.s

Tax services have been brought into a new era since the launch of eTAX in 2008. It encourages taxpayers to file tax returns, pay taxes, check personal tax positions and update personal particulars via the Internet. Currently, over 270,000 taxpayers have opened their eTAX accounts. Mrs Virginia GREEN, former Assistant Commissioner of the Inland Revenue, said, "We are taxpayers, too. Every time when we examine our department's performance pledges, we would empathically consider public demands with an aim to provide more efficient services.

Reviewing Service Effectiveness and Serving the Public with Customer-Oriented Spirit

The IRD attaches much importance to public opinions. Each complaint case is followed up independently by a senior officer in order to ensure all of them are handled in a fair and unbiased manner. Ms LAM Fung-shan, Senior Assessor, said, "As early as 1978, our department already had Complaints Officers to specifically handle complaints from the public. Ever since launching the Performance Pledge in 1993, the Department has included results of complaints handling in its Performance Pledge Annual Report. This year, complaints handling has been formally included in our Performance Pledge. Generally speaking, enquiries will be answered immediately if the information needed is already stored in the computer. In other situations, we will issue an interim reply within seven days and a substantive reply within 15 days.

The IRD issues over 2 million tax returns each year. In an effort to improve work efficiency, the IRD introduced the Document Management System in 2003. Subsequently, the launch of the Workflow Management System, which enables the Department to respond promptly to public enquiries, followed in 2006. Mr Vincent CHIU, Chief Assessor, said, "In the past, our colleagues often had to refer to paper file records before answering and verifying enquiries from the public. The new systems enable them to check records and handle cases speedily, thus tremendously reducing the time required for processing cases."

Constantly Reviewing Service Standards

Since implementing the Performance Pledge, the IRD has specifically invited legal practitioners, accountants and academic professionals from various sectors of the community to form an independent IRD Users' Committee to monitor its various services and provide opinions. Members of the Committee visit IRD's frontline staff to understand their work procedures, listen to their views and offer them improvement suggestions. At the same time, the IRD's departmental Service Standards Committee submits quarterly reports to the Users' Committee with plans for improving various services.

Mrs YIP SHAM Yin-har, Chief Assessor, said, "The aim of establishing Users' Committee and Service Standards Committee was to consolidate the comments from the public, professionals and IRD staff in order to achieve service improvement."

The function of the IRD is tax administration, and its major duty is raising revenue through taxes, duties and fees. Left to right (front row): Mrs Virginia GREEN, former Assistant Commissioner, Mrs Alice LAU, Commissioner of Inland Revenue, and Mrs Teresa CHU, Deputy Commissioner of Inland Revenue (Operations). Left to right (back row): Mrs YIP SHAM Yin-har, Chief Assessor, Mr Vincent CHIU, Chief Assessor, and Ms LAM Fung-shan, Senior Assessor.
By adopting the Document Management System and Workflow Management System, the IRD is able to respond to public enquiries speedily.
The e-Stamping Service enables the public to instantly stamp the agreements for sale, transfer assignments and tenancy agreements of their properties via the Internet.
More than 270,000 taxpayers, or about 10% of all taxpayers, have opened an eTAX account, reducing paper consumption effectively.

善用资讯科技 兑现服务承诺目标
税务局

卓越服务@政府
2009

税务局是首批政府部门向市民推行服务承诺的其中之一,服务范畴由最初的8大类13项,增至目前的15大类28项,涵盖所有市民关注和税务局主要的服务。今年新增的服务承诺项目包括电子印花税服务丶向纳税人发出电子收据及处理投诉个案。多年来,税务局绝大部分服务承诺项目的表现均能达标。在多个项目更超越承诺的服务水平,成绩理想。

自2008年开始,推出的「税务易」更将税务服务带进一个新纪元,鼓励纳税人透过网上报税丶缴税丶查阅个人的税务状况及更新个人资料。目前,有逾27万纳税人开立了「税务易」帐户。前税务局助理局长孙淑仪说∶「我们同样是纳税人,每当审视部门的服务承诺时,我们会切身处地考虑市民的诉求,希望所提供的服务更有效率。」

检讨服务成效 以客为本服务市民

税务局重视市民的意见,所有投诉个案均由高级职员独立跟进,确保处理方法公平公正。高级评税主任林凤珊说∶「早於1978年,部门已经有投诉主任专责处理公众投诉。自1993年推行服务承诺以来,部门每年在服务承诺年报内公布处理投诉个案的成绩。今年更将处理投诉正式纳入服务承诺。一般来说,如所需资料已存於电脑中,投诉可获即时处理。在其他情况下,我们在7日内作出初步回覆,15日内会有实质答覆。」

每年,税务局平均发出超过200万份报税表,为提高工作效率,早於2003年引进「文件管理系统」,在2006年,更推行「工作流程管理系统」,促使部门可迅速地回应市民的查询。总评税主任赵世明说∶「以前同事需要翻查文书纪录,才能回答及核对市民的查询,新系统方便他们快速查阅个案纪录及处理的进度,大幅减少处理个案的时间。」

持续研究服务标准 为员工提供支援培训

自推行服务承诺以来,税务局特别邀请执业律师丶会计师丶学术界等社会各界专业人士,组成独立的「服务承诺关注委员会」,监察各项服务和提供意见。委员会会探访前线同事,了解他们的工作程序,并听取意见及提供改善建议。同时,税务局内部的服务标准研究小组,每季会向委员会提交报告书,策划改善各项服务。

总评税主任叶岑燕霞说∶「委员会及研究小组的成立,就是希望结合市民丶专业人士及员工的意见,以达到改善服务的目标。」

税务局的职能是税务管理,主要职责就是徵收税款及收费。(前排左起) 前助理局长孙淑仪丶税务局局长刘麦懿明及税务局副局长(执行事务)朱黄丽芬。(後排左起) 总评税主任叶岑燕霞丶总评税主任赵世明及高级评税主任林凤珊。
税务局的职能是税务管理,主要职责就是徵收税款及收费。(前排左起) 前助理局长孙淑仪丶税务局局长刘麦懿明及税务局副局长(执行事务)朱黄丽芬。(後排左起) 总评税主任叶岑燕霞丶总评税主任赵世明及高级评税主任林凤珊。
税务局的职能是税务管理,主要职责就是徵收税款及收费。(前排左起) 前助理局长孙淑仪丶税务局局长刘麦懿明及税务局副局长(执行事务)朱黄丽芬。(後排左起) 总评税主任叶岑燕霞丶总评税主任赵世明及高级评税主任林凤珊。
利用「文件管理系统」及「工作流程管理系统」,能迅速地回应市民的查询。
利用「文件管理系统」及「工作流程管理系统」,能迅速地回应市民的查询。
电子印花服务让市民可以即时在网上为物业买卖合约,转让契约及租约加盖印花。
电子印花服务让市民可以即时在网上为物业买卖合约,转让契约及租约加盖印花。
逾27万纳税人已开立了「税务易」帐户,约占总纳税人口十分一,有效节省纸张用量。
逾27万纳税人已开立了「税务易」帐户,约占总纳税人口十分一,有效节省纸张用量。