Contemporary Wireless Traffic
Surveillance System
Transport Department, Electrical and Mechanical Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2009
JW Player goes here

(Cantonese version only)

Handling Incidents Speedily and Accurately

Kowloon was hit by squalls on 9th May 2005, and as a result scaffoldings and trees collapsed in a number of places, seriously disabling the traffic. The Transport Department (TD) and the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD), following the spirit of striving for excellence and delivering quality public service, actively studied viable options and launched the Contemporary Wireless Traffic Surveillance System (the system). With this surveillance system, TD can acquire live video images, accurately monitor the progress of incidents, formulate strategies to handle incidents, and release accurate traffic information to the public. People can avoid traffic congestions by not entering the affected road sections or by using other means of transport according to actual situations. At the same time traffic congestions at the incident sites can also be relieved.

New Technology in Traffic Monitoring

Mr WONG Po Fung, Senior Engineer, TD, indicated, Following two departmental missions of Putting Our Heart Into It, Keep Hong Kong Moving and Give our community a better quality of life by providing our customers and the public with total engineering solutions and service excellence, TD and EMSD formulated the joint-mission of Using advanced technologies to transmit quickly all live images on the roads to the Traffic Control Centre and launched the Contemporary Wireless Traffic Surveillance System in May, 2006.

Mr CHUNG Ching Wai, Senior Electronics Engineer, EMSD, added, The system is named Contemporary because it uses the latest and fastest wireless telephone network as its transmission platform and is powered by batteries. We can dispatch motorcycles to incident sites quickly, install cameras on the road signs or railings, and transmit real-time video images of road situations to the Emergency Transport Co-ordination Centre (ETCC). Unlike traditional Closed Circuit Televisions (CCTVs), it requires neither utility works for laying telecommunications lines nor exorbitant costs for line hiring and repairing. At the initial stage, the use of commercially available equipment resulted in unstable quality of video images and the need to manually adjust camera directions on-site. The EMSD therefore developed in-house a proprietary system with stable images and remote-control functions, thus greatly enhanced the efficiency of managing incidents. The system has also assisted in the live broadcasting of the Olympic Torch Relay and the Equestrian Events in Hong Kong. Furthermore, the two Departments have extended the technologies to a number of other departments for their uses.

Mr WONG Po Fung (first from the right), Senior Engineer (Transport Incident Management Division), TD, remarked that the inter-departmental collaborations and the birth of the new system were responses to actual needs of the community for handling traffic incidents. The second and third from the right are, respectively, Mr Benny HUI, Engineer (Transport Incident Management Division), TD, and Mr CHUNG Ching Wai, Senior Electronics Engineer (Electronic Communication), EMSD.
In the early stage of operation of the system, operational personnel rode the mobile monitoring motorcycle every day to familiarise themselves with road environment and ensure prompt services.
The system can transmit, anytime and anywhere, video images to the Emergency Transport Co-ordination Centre (ETCC), thus facilitating the handling of traffic incidents.

第一代的无线交通监察系统及运输资讯系统
运输署丶机电工程署

卓越服务@政府
2009
JW Player goes here

处理事故快而准

2005年5月9日,九龙区受狂风吹袭,多处棚架及大树倒塌,交通严重瘫痪。运输署及机电工程署本着追求卓越,为市民提供优质服务的精神,积极研究解决方案,推出新一代无线交通监察系统。部门透过监察系统,即时取得现场影像,准确掌握事故进展,制定对策;并向公众发放准确的交通讯息,使市民可因应实际情况,尽量避免进入受影响的路段,或转乘其他交通工具,免受堵车之苦;同时亦可减轻事故现场的交通挤塞情况。

崭新技术 监察交通

运输署高级工程师黄步峰表示∶「两个部门秉承『全心全意,以诚待人,保持香港路路畅通』及『向客户及公众提供完备的工程方案及优质服务,并藉此提升社会的生活质素』的部门使命,订下『利用先进科技,将任何路面的即时影像,快捷地传送到交通控制中心』的共同使命。运输署与机电工程署於2006年5月推出新一代的无线交通监察系统。」

机电工程署高级电子工程师锺正伟说:「系统名为「新一代」,因为该系统采用了最新及最快的无线电话网络作传输平台,并用电池驱动,可以派电单车迅速到达现场,安装镜头於路牌或栏杆上,即时将路面影像传送到运输署『紧急事故交通协调中心』。相比传统闭路电视,省却铺设线路所需的掘路工程及价值不菲的租线及维修费用。」初期因使用市面的设备,影像质素不稳定,亦需要现场用人手去调校镜头方向。机电署遂自行开发一套影像稳定及有遥远控制功能的系统,大大提升处理事故的效率。该系统亦曾协助直播奥运火炬传送及马术比赛,两个部门更将技术推广至多个其他部门使用。

运输署高级工程师(运输事故管理部)黄步峰(右一)表示,部门间的合作及新系统的诞生,是回应社会对处理交通事故的实际需要。右二及右三分别为运输署工程师(运输事故管理部)许盛发及机电工程署高级电子工程师(电子通讯)锺正伟。
运输署高级工程师(运输事故管理部)黄步峰(右一)表示,部门间的合作及新系统的诞生,是回应社会对处理交通事故的实际需要。右二及右三分别为运输署工程师(运输事故管理部)许盛发及机电工程署高级电子工程师(电子通讯)锺正伟。
系统运作初期,操作人员每天都驾驶流动监察电单车,熟习道路环境,以确保迅速服务。
系统运作初期,操作人员每天都驾驶流动监察电单车,熟习道路环境,以确保迅速服务。
系统能随时随地传送影像到『紧急事故交通协调中心』,有助处理交通事故。
系统能随时随地传送影像到『紧急事故交通协调中心』,有助处理交通事故。