Striving for Excellence
Firmly Committed to
Providing Customer-oriented Service
Water Supplies Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2009
JW Player goes here

Enhancement of Water Quality and Conservation Tops Its Agenda

Facing the growing population and ever-increasing expectation of the public on the quality of water supply services, the Water Supplies Department (WSD) continues to provide customer-oriented services. Mr. MA Lee-tak, JP, Director of Water Supplies, said, "We engage our customers in a number of forums to understand how they perceive our performance and what they expect of us. We will do our best to enhance the quality of service through practical means."

Since the launching of the performance pledge scheme in 1993, the WSD has enhanced the targets 28 times and added 21 new items. Mr. David CHAU, Assistant Director, said, "It is our objective to satisfy the 7 million Hong Kong people's needs for the provision of water supply services, focusing on quality, quantity and customer services.

Water is Safe for Consumption

Mr. CHAU said, "The fresh water provided by the Water Supplies Department is safe for direct drinking." He pointed out that Hong Kong's water treatment technologies were comparable to those of advanced countries and the WSD's quality management system governing the provision of water supply services was ISO 9001:2000 certified. The quality of fresh water in Hong Kong fully complies with the World Health Organization's Guidelines for Drinking-water Quality. Water is therefore safe for direct drinking if the consumers' own buildings' plumbing systems are properly maintained. To ensure that consumers can enjoy good quality of water at the taps, the WSD launched the Quality Water Recognition Scheme for Buildings in July 2002 to encourage owners, owners' corporations and property management companies to regularly maintain the plumbing systems of their buildings. The scheme has been a huge success and so far more than one million registered consumers of the WSD have joined it.

Environmental Protection is an On-going Job

To achieve sustainable use of water resources, the WSD has formulated a Total Water Management (TWM) Strategy. A Water Efficiency Labelling Scheme (WELS) will be launched to help consumers choose water-saving devices. The voluntary WELS aims to reduce household water consumption and enhance public knowledge of water conservation. WSD staff are proactively exploring new water resources, including an important initiative of using the less costly recycled water for non-drinking purposes.

Quality Services are Duly Recognised

The WSD collects public views through various channels so as to formulate measures for enhancing the quality of service. After the launch of the Quality Water Recognition Scheme for Buildings, Replacement and Rehabilitation of Water Mains Programme and Replacement of Water Meters Programme, customers are much more satisfied with the fresh water quality and water supply services. Without additional manpower, the WSD has been able to deal with the increasing number of customers and increase the customer satisfaction rate. This is indeed a remarkable achievement.

Firmly Committed to Providing Customer-oriented Service
Putting Performance Pledges First

The Water Supplies Department (WSD) strives to fulfill its customer-oriented performance pledges. To make sure that quality water supply services are provided for the public, the WSD has established various channels of communication and conducts regular service quality reviews to translate the opinions expressed by customers and staff into targets for service enhancement.

The WSD collects opinions on its water supply strategies and services through the Advisory Committee on the Quality of Water Supplies, territory-wide customer surveys carried out every two to three years, regular Customer Liaison Group meetings, and 24-hour customer telephone enquiry hotlines, etc. The department also enhances public awareness of water conservation through publicity in media, school education and environmental competitions, resulting in continuous improvements in water quality and customer services.

Honouring the Pledge on "Customer-oriented" Service

Based on the public enquiries received by the telephone hotline centre, water mains bursts is the subject with which most people is concerned. The WSD has in response set up time targets for isolation of burst mains and water supply resumption. Working diligently to meet the demanding targets, WSD staff succeed in minimising the impact of mains bursts on road traffic and the inconvenience to affected customers. To ensure that customers can enjoy good quality water at the taps, the WSD launched the Quality Water Recognition Scheme for Buildings in July 2002 to encourage property owners, owners' corporations and building management agents to regularly maintain their fresh water plumbing systems.

Happy Staff, Satisfied Customers

The WSD won the Silver Award in the Community Relations category at the Eighth China Golden Awards for Excellence in Public Relations. The award speaks for itself the wide recognition of the quality services provided by the WSD. "We focus on doing the right things, not just finishing our work according to rules," stressed Mr. David CHAU, Assistant Director of the WSD. The WSD considers that staff efficiency is crucial, and the policy adopted should also be cost-effective. In view of the increasingly diversified demands for water supply services and the limited manpower available, the department has, on one hand, relieved the workload of staff through outsourcing, and has, on the other hand, made arrangements for its staff to receive training, obtain recognised qualifications, and join overseas study visits to help increase efficiency of work. To boost staff morale, a Staff Suggestion Scheme and a Best Service Award based on customers' ratings have been put in place. Apart from cash awards, the winners are commended in the departmental publication "Droplet" as they live up to the department's motto of "happy staff, satisfied customers".

Mr. MA Lee-tak, JP, Director of Water Supplies, emphasises the importance of engaging the customers and that the WSD enhances the service quality through practical means.
The WSD management not only practises the concept of providing customer-oriented services, but also actively boosts the staff's morale. From left to right: Mr. SUEN Kwok-keung, Senior Engineer, Mr. Roger LAM, Chief Engineer, Mr. David CHAU, Assistant Director.
The WSD has adopted the most advanced and reliable water treatment technologies and the water quality fully complies with the World Health Organization's Guidelines for Drinking-water Quality.
A territory-wide Replacement and Rehabilitation of Water Mains Programme has been launched to resolve the problem of aged water mains.
Members of the public are able to enquire at the WSD's Customer Enquiry Centre. Staff at the centre provide prompt responses and collect public views for use in future reviews.
The WSD inspects water mains regularly to ensure that fresh water quality is up to standard.
Mr. David CHAU, Assistant Director of the WSD, stresses that staff are trained to maintain a high level of efficiency and standard.
The WSD's service values are: customer satisfaction, reliability, environmental awareness, dedication, improvement and teamwork.

坚持以客为本 精益求精 不断进步
水务署

卓越服务@政府
2009
JW Player goes here

从用水质与量出发 精益求精不断进步

面对本港人口增长及市民对供水服务质素的期望不断提高,水务署持续提供「以客为本」的服务。水务署署长马利德表示:「我们通过各种方式接触客户,了解他们对水务署工作的评价和期望。并努力不懈,以确切可行的方法,提升服务的水平。」

十多年来,水务署曾作出28次提升服务目标及21次增加服务目标。水务署助理署长邹志伟表示:「服务指标是旨在满足700万香港人对用水的需求,并从水质丶量和客户服务出发。」

优良水质,放心饮用

邹志伟表示:「水务署提供的食水是可以直接饮用的。」他解释本港的食水处理技术,与其他先进国家无异;时至今日,水务署的供水服务更获得国际标准化组织认可的ISO9001:2000的品质认证,百分百符合世界衞生组织饮用水水质的指引,因此,只要用户楼宇本身供水系统保养得宜,根本可以「即开即饮」。水务署为确保客户得享优质食水,於2002年7月推出「大厦优质食水认可计划」,鼓励业主丶立案法团及物业管理公司进行食水系统的定期维修,计划广受用户支持,至今参与过的注册用户已超过100万户。

展望未来,环保历程持续不断

为了确保可持续地运用水资源,部门制订了「全面水资源管理策略」,并将发展一套自愿性的「用水效益标签计划」,协助消费者自行选择节水器具,目标令家庭室内耗水量减少,以及提高公众节约用水的知识。员工积极研究开发水资源的计划,当中「使用再造水」是重点发展项目之一,用成本较低的再造水作非饮用性用途。

服务水平备受肯定

水务署建立多重沟通渠道,集合市民意见,从而订立各项有助提升服务质素的措施,如「大厦优质食水认可计划」丶「更换及修复水管计划」及「更换旧水表计划」推出後,用户对食水水质及供水服务的满意度大大提高。在员工人数不变但客户数目增加的情况下,该署仍能维持相当的服务满意度,可见服务达致一定的优质水平。

坚持以客为本 服务承诺为先

水务署履行一贯「以客为本」的服务承诺,建立多方面沟通渠道,透过不断检讨服务质素,积极将客户和员工的意见转为提升服务的指标,以确保市民得到优质的供水服务。

水务署透过「水质事务谘询委员会」(水谘会)丶每两至三年作评估的全港客户意见调查丶定期举行的客户联络小组会议及廿四小时客户电话谘询热线等,就有关供水策略及服务的事宜收集意见。另外,亦会透过媒体宣传丶学校教育及环保比赛等,引起社会各界对珍惜用水的关注,使本港供水的水质及客户服务得到持续进步。

兑现「以客为本」承诺

据热线中心累积接获的查询,当中以水管爆裂尤为受到市民关注。水务署遂作出回应,订出在指定时间内截断爆喉及抢修後恢复供水的目标;虽然实施上具一定难度,但水务署也一丝不苟,将可能引致的路面交通问题降至最低,尽力减低对市民造成的不便。水务署为确保用户得享优质食水,亦於 2002年7月推出「大厦优质食水认可计划」,希望鼓励业主丶立案法团及物业管理公司进行食水系统的定期维修。

员工开心,客户称心

在「第八届中国最佳公共关系案例大赛」中荣获社区关系案例银奖的水务署,优质服务水平备受肯定和认可。水务署助理署长邹志伟强调:「我们应该着眼於做正确的事,而非把事情按章完成就算。」他认为员工效率相当重要,推行的策略也必须同时具有成本效益。面对市民对供水服务的需求日趋多元化,但员工人数有限,水务署一方面以外判方法减轻员工的工作量,另一方面安排员工定期接受培训和考取认可资格,举办外地交流考察团,以增强员工的工作效率。为激励员工士气,该署内部设有员工建议计划,以及由顾客评分的「最佳服务员」嘉许奖,得奖员工除可获发奖金奖励外,更会於内部刊物<点滴>内加以表扬,力求达到「员工开心,客户称心」。

水务署的管理层不单实践「以客为本」的服务理念,更积极鼓励员工士气。左起:高级工程师孙国强丶总工程师林文鹏丶助理署长邹志伟。
水务署的管理层不单实践「以客为本」的服务理念,更积极鼓励员工士气。左起:高级工程师孙国强丶总工程师林文鹏丶助理署长邹志伟。
水务署署长马利德强调「以客为本」,以确切可行的方法,提升服务水平。
水务署署长马利德强调「以客为本」,以确切可行的方法,提升服务水平。
水务署为确保食水水质达标,采用最先进可靠的食水处理技术,以完全符合世界衞生组织饮用水水质的指引。
水务署为确保食水水质达标,采用最先进可靠的食水处理技术,以完全符合世界衞生组织饮用水水质的指引。
全港推行「更换及修复水管计划」解决水管老化问题。
全港推行「更换及修复水管计划」解决水管老化问题。
市民可以到水务署的客户谘询中心查询服务,职员迅速回应市民诉求,并将所收集的意见作检讨之用。
市民可以到水务署的客户谘询中心查询服务,职员迅速回应市民诉求,并将所收集的意见作检讨之用。
水务署定期检查水管,以确保食水水质达标。
水务署定期检查水管,以确保食水水质达标。
水务署助理署长邹志伟强调署方培训的员工必须维持高效率和高水准质素。
水务署助理署长邹志伟强调署方培训的员工必须维持高效率和高水准质素。
水务署的服务信念,包括以客为本丶确保质量丶重视环保丶竭尽所能丶精益求精及同心协力。
水务署的服务信念,包括以客为本丶确保质量丶重视环保丶竭尽所能丶精益求精及同心协力。