The Enhanced Smart Teen Project
Correctional Services Department, Education Bureau

Exemplary Services@Gov
2011

Fostering students' development outside the classroom

What causes some teenagers to start committing crimes? The Correctional Services Department (CSD) believes that part of the answer may be a lack of self-confidence and education about the consequences of a life of crime.

"The Education Bureau has provided us with an excellent opportunity to share positive and encouraging messages that help inspire teens to avoid a life of crime. The more we get these messages out, the larger our impact will be," said Ms Chung Lai Fong, an Assistant Officer I, who is an instructor at the CSD's Smart Teen Challenge Camp.

To really get positive messages through to teens, the CSD decided to "go outside its own brick walls" to enhance students' self-discipline, confidence and resilience. The Education Bureau shares the CSD's belief in taking an "outside-the-classroom" approach to foster students' holistic development. Mrs Harmony Kwok, a Senior Inspector at the Education Bureau who is responsible for coordinating the camp, said that the strict and stern image of the CSD's disciplinary force helps set an example for students to develop their self-discipline.

Curing "prince and princess syndrome"

With barred windows, guard towers, and manicured lawns, the CSD Staff Training Institute provides the perfect backdrop to emphasise the Smart Teen Challenge Camp's focus on discipline. The camp uses a dedicated coach model that enlists the CSD officers to guide students throughout the camp to develop a sense of independence and responsibility away from their parents. Activities at the camp – including foot drills, physical fitness exercises, trying "prisoners' meals", adventure training and orienteering – are designed to enhance the participants' self- discipline, self-confidence, problem solving skills and team spirit.

The camp also includes a "correctional" segment that gives students insight into what it is like "behind bars" through a simulated incarcerated experience and meetings with juvenile offenders. These activities help teens understand the importance of respect for the law and self-control.

Personal growth through heartfelt dialogues

Education Bureau staff and teachers work together with CSD staff during the camp to regularly review and fine tune the programme as needed to ensure that the training continues to be effective.

One of the programme's highlights is the night-chat sessions between teachers and students, which allow teachers and students to put aside their roles in the classroom and communicate freely. Both teachers and students highly value these sessions and wish they could bring this level of communication to their campus life.

Through the concerted efforts of these two departments, students come away from the camp with a greater sense of self-discipline. According to the Education Bureau's "Data Analysis on the Outcome Evaluation", students' self-confidence and resilience substantially* increased by 7.22% and 4.92% respectively after participating in the "Smart Teen Challenge Camp". (*Note: A mean difference of 5% indicates a significant positive change.)

Students are not the only ones who learn from the camp; the civil servants who work on the programme also find the experience rewarding. "There are certain prejudices ingrained in our society against teens, but [during the camp] the instructors come to learn how to put aside their own preconceived notions," said Mr Chung Kui Man, Chief Officer of the Correctional Services Department.

As demands from the public for quality service increases, "learning to listen" is undoubtedly the key to success.

Smart Teen Challenge Camp 5-Day 4-Night Programme Highlights

  • "Beyond Classroom" Training: Building self-discipline, self-confidence, problem solving skills and team spirit through activities such as foot drills, physical fitness exercises, adventure training and orienteering.
  • Meeting with Prisoners: Strengthening students' anti-crime awareness through understanding the mentality of juvenile offenders, how they went astray and how they are rehabilitating themselves.
  • Dialogue between teachers and students: Enabling sincere communication between teachers and students by going outside the limitations of classroom dialogue.

The CSD and the EDB share the same belief in fostering students' development outside the classroom.
The CSD and the EDB share the same belief in fostering students' development outside the classroom.
A dedicated coach guides students throughout the Camp.
A dedicated coach guides students throughout the Camp.
Students participate in orienteering activities.
Students participate in orienteering activities.
Students give special thanks to instructors.
Students give special thanks to instructors.

多元智能跃进计划
惩教署、教育局

卓越服务@政府
2011

跳出框框 成就学生多元发展

「教育局给予惩教教官一个很好的机会让我们去『播种』,向青少年灌输正确观念,劝喻他们切勿误入歧途。我们播种愈多,自己成功感愈大。」有份负责「挑战营」的一级惩教助理锺丽芳娓娓道出课後感受。

惩教署这种冲出围墙、向外撒种的抱负,与教育局致力跳出课室框框,提升学生自律、自信、抗逆能力的理念不谋而合。统筹「挑战营」的教育局高级督学郭黄敏仪指出,纪律部队形象鲜明,严守纲纪,具有先天的优势培训学生的自律能力。

教官「专人专教」 踢走「公主」、「王子」

为善用纪律部队的先天优势,由惩教署筹办的「挑战营」选择在惩教署职员训练院进行,采取「专人专教」的模式由惩教署教官亲自培训,务求令学生在没有父母呵护备至的环境下独立成长。「挑战营」的内容亦精心设计,以步操、体能练习、品尝「犯人餐」、历奇训练及野外定向等,培养学生自律、自信、解难及团队精神。「挑战营」同时具有「惩教」元素,学生在模拟失去自由的情景及与在囚青少年的会面中,学会自律、遵守法纪和坚拒引诱的重要性。

师生真情对话 营中彼此成长

为令「挑战营」发挥最大效益,教育局人员及学校老师亦亲身上阵,在营中定期与惩教人员检讨,按学生进度调整训练。当中的精彩环节「师生夜话」,让师生放下固有的关系,坦诚对待。大家都希望将这份和洽延续至校园生活。

一个又一个学生的转变,体现大家努力的成果,同时,根据教育局「成效评估数据分析」的结果显示,学生参与「挑战营」後,自信及抗逆能力均有显着*提升,分别为7.22%及4.92%。(*注:平均值差百分比达5%,表示有显着的正向转变。)

活动背後,成长的不但是学生,参与的政府人员均表示得益不少。筹划「挑战营」的惩教署总惩教主任锺飓文指出:「社会大众对时下年青人或多或少有一些偏见,(在「挑战营」中)教官需要学习放下成见。」公务员面对不断提升的社会诉求,学会聆听,定必有助服务质素的提升。

惩教署冲出围墙的抱负,与教育局跳出课室框框的理念不谋而合。
惩教署冲出围墙的抱负,与教育局跳出课室框框的理念不谋而合。
「挑战营」由惩教署教官「专人专教」。
「挑战营」由惩教署教官「专人专教」。
学生参加野外定向活动。
学生参加野外定向活动。
学生向教官致意,场面温馨。
学生向教官致意,场面温馨。