Promoting district administration and
enhancing community building
Home Affairs Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2011

Promoting district administration, enhancing community building, serving the public and co-ordinating emergency relief services are the missions and responsibilities of the Home Affairs Department (HAD) and its District Offices. The HAD assists Government departments to understand the community's aspirations as well as district needs and formulate policies. The department also strives to improve district facilities and environment for the well-being of the community.

Promoting the development of district administration

District administration is a key Government policy. In promoting the development of district administration, the HAD provides support to and publicise the work of District Councils (DCs). The department encourages public participation in community affairs to foster community spirit in the neighbourhood and to enhance the sense of belonging in the community. The HAD also assists DCs and local organisations in organising a wide range of activities, as well as publicity and promotional campaigns in support of various Government's policies.

Enhancing community building

The District Minor Works Programme is one of the major initiatives to improve district facilities and the living environment with a view to enhancing the quality of life among members of the public. Since its launch in 2007, over 2,060 projects have been implemented to meet the community's needs and serve the overall interest of the community. They cover major highlight projects, provision and enhancement of recreational and leisure facilities, beautification projects etc. The HAD also endeavours to enhance the living environment by facilitating more effective management of buildings by owners through assisting them in forming owners' corporations and the introduction of the Building Management Provisional Advisory Service Scheme for owners of old buildings etc.

Serving the public

The department is an important bridge between the Government and the public. There are 20 Public Enquiry Service Centres (PESCs) throughout the territory to provide information and answer general enquiries on Government services as well as offering various services such as administering declarations for private use, providing free legal advice and advice on rental matters. In 2010, PESCs have provided services on more than 1.6 million occasions.

Coordinating emergency relief services

In the event of major incidents, natural disasters and typhoons, the HAD's emergency support services will immediately spring into action. Where circumstances warrant or in the case of major incidents, various other support services will be provided such as setting up inter-departmental help desks at the scene or in hospitals to coordinate emergency relief efforts, close liaison with other Government departments and non-governmental organisations in ensuring well-coordinated support and aftercare services to members of the public affected.

With the active participation of 18 District Councils, about 1,000 activities were organised under the 'Vibrant People, Harmonious Community Activities' in 2010-11 to promote the themes of 'Get into Vitality', 'Get into Creativity', 'Get into Harmony' and 'Get into Discovery'.
With the active participation of 18 District Councils, about 1,000 activities were organised under the "Vibrant People, Harmonious Community Activities" in 2010-11 to promote the themes of "Get into Vitality", "Get into Creativity", "Get into Harmony" and "Get into Discovery".
A highlight under the 'Vibrant People, Harmonious Community Activities' programme, the 'Dragon Boat Family Carnival' was organised to enhance community harmony, encourage participation in cultural and sports activities, and boost local tourism.
A highlight under the "Vibrant People, Harmonious Community Activities" programme, the "Dragon Boat Family Carnival" was organised to enhance community harmony, encourage participation in cultural and sports activities, and boost local tourism.
The rain shelter at Kau Wai Village is an example of the District Minor Works Programme to improve the district facilities and living environment to meet local needs.
The rain shelter at Kau Wai Village is an example of the District Minor Works Programme to improve the district facilities and living environment to meet local needs.
The Public Enquiry Service Centre of the HAD in various districts are an effective communication channel between the Government and the public.
The Public Enquiry Service Centre of the HAD in various districts are an effective communication channel between the Government and the public.

促进地方行政 建设美好社区
民政事务总署

卓越服务@政府
2011

促进地方行政,建设美好社区,为市民服务,济急应困,是民政事务总署 (民政总署)及其辖下的各区民政事务处的使命和职责。部门协助政府各部门了解市民和地区的需要,推行适切的政策,并积极推动社区发展,改善地区设施和环境,好让市民幸福安居。

促进地方行政发展

地方行政是政府的主要政策。民政总署致力促进地方行政发展,支援区议会,并向市民推广区议会的工作。部门积极鼓励市民参与社区事务,共同建立守望相助的睦邻精神,增进对社区的归属感。为此,民政总署大力协助区议会及地区团体举办各类活动,以及配合政府推广个别政策的宣传活动等。

建设美好社区

为了建设更美好的社区,民政总署积极改善地区设施和环境,以提升市民的生活质素。其中一项重点工作是地区小型工程计划。计划於2007年推出,至今推行的项目逾2,060个,包括大规模的亮点建设丶新的康体和休憩设施,提升原有设施的工程,以及美化工程等。这些项目都能够切合整区利益和居民需要。另外,为了让市民有更理想的居住环境,部门一直致力帮助业主更有效地管理自己的大厦,例如协助业主成立业主立案法团,以及为旧楼推行大厦管理专业顾问服务计划。

为市民服务

民政总署是连系政府与市民的桥梁,因此,部门在全港各区设立了20个谘询服务中心,方便市民查询和索取政府各类服务的资料。另外,中心还提供多种其他服务,包括办理作私人用途的声明丶免费法律谘询服务,以及租务谘询等。2010年,各谘询中心共为超过160万人次提供服务。

济急应困

遇有天灾丶重大事故丶台风袭港,民政总署会马上提供紧急支援服务,协助市民。另外,在发生重大事故时,部门会迅速安排适切的服务,包括在事故现场或医院等设立跨部门援助站协助统筹服务,并与各部门和非政府机构联系,协调支援和善後工作。

「缤Fun融和社区活动」於2010-11年度举行了约一千项活动,得到18区区议会的积极参与,宣扬「活出动力」丶「活出创意」丶「活出融和」及「活出逍遥」四个主题。
「缤Fun融和社区活动」於2010-11年度举行了约一千项活动,得到18区区议会的积极参与,宣扬「活出动力」丶「活出创意」丶「活出融和」及「活出逍遥」四个主题。
「合家欢龙舟嘉年华」为「缤Fun融和社区活动」的其中一项亮点活动。活动的目的是加强社区融和,提倡文化体育活动及推广本地旅游。
「合家欢龙舟嘉年华」为「缤Fun融和社区活动」的其中一项亮点活动。活动的目的是加强社区融和,提倡文化体育活动及推广本地旅游。
南区旧围村避雨亭是推行地区小型工程计划的一个例子,目的是因应居民的需求,改善地区设施和居住环境。
南区旧围村避雨亭是推行地区小型工程计划的一个例子,目的是因应居民的需求,改善地区设施和居住环境。
民政事务总署於各区的谘询中心,是政府与市民之间有效的沟通途径。
民政事务总署於各区的谘询中心,是政府与市民之间有效的沟通途径。