Integrating fire services into the
community
Hong Kong Fire Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2011

At the beginning of the TV drama series "Fire Speed", Andy Lau sings the show's theme song, "With a heroic heart I embrace you, even in face of the burning flames," which highlights the courage and bravery of firefighters.

Jointly produced by the Hong Kong Fire Services Department (FSD) and the Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK) and on the air from December 2010 to January 2011, "Fire Speed" is based on the real-life stories of the FSD's fire and ambulance services. The programme targeted enhancing public's awareness of FSD's work. The show was well-received; each episode attracted around 1.2 million viewers, representing nearly 90% of viewers and ranked at the top of the Television Programme Appreciation Index Survey 2010. Following the huge success of the first "Fire Speed" series, the FSD has decided to work with RTHK to produce a sequel this year.

Reaching out to the community

The FSD has adopted a more interactive approach to engaging with the community and delivering its message, said Mr Ricky Lo, Deputy Chief Fire Officer. For instance, with the "Ambulance Service Campaign", a large-scale variety show that aired in early July 2011, the FSD found a lively and engaging way to educate the public to avoid the abuse of emergency ambulance services.

Starting more than ten years ago, the FSD has been proactively reaching out to and working with the community to improve the quality of the department's services. Under the Building Fire Safety Envoys (BFSE) Scheme, the department has worked closely with building management companies, owners' corporations and community groups to equip envoys with training and knowledge to prevent fires. These envoys are encouraged to help improve fire prevention awareness in their communities. So far, the BFSE Scheme has attracted over a thousand participants. The FSD also trains the staff of various organisations, such as the MTR, large housing estates and shopping mall management companies, as "Heart Savers" who can use automated external defibrillators at their workplaces to rescue heart attack victims.

An iconic image

Firefighters and paramedics have a distinctive image of always being ready to sacrifice themselves to save others from danger. While everyone else runs away from danger, fire services officers rush into hazardous situations to save lives.

Mr Lo believes that, with their image as heroes, the true firefighter spirit lies in their commitment to serving the community. With their vision of "providing better services", the team always strives to give the public their best.

The department's noble spirit has garnered recognition from across all quarters of Hong Kong. No wonder the department has won the largest number of public votes in the Best Public Image Award this year six times consecutively.

The firefighter spirit lies in the commitment to serving the community.
The firefighter spirit lies in the commitment to serving the community.
Each episode of 'Fire Speed' attracted around 1.2 million viewers.
Each episode of "Fire Speed" attracted around 1.2 million viewers.
'Public Access Defibrillator' training course
"Public Access Defibrillator" training course
The 'Ambulance Service Campaign', a large-scale variety show
The "Ambulance Service Campaign", a large-scale variety show

结合社区力量 为民解困
香港消防处

卓越服务@政府
2011

「遇上风眼未红,用我心做英雄,难关有我共你手与心,在抱拥。」电视上播放着的是刘德华为《火速救兵》填词和主唱的主题曲。

《火速救兵》是香港消防处和香港电台联合制作的剧集,於去年12月至今年1月在电视上播映,以真实个案为蓝本,展现香港消防处的消防和救护工作,加深市民对香港消防处工作的了解。节目每集约有115万名市民收看, 收视率接近90%,并於香港大学民意研究计划进行的2010「电视节目欣赏指数调查」荣获榜首,成绩斐然,鼓舞人心。部门今年将再接再厉,计划与香港电台合作拍摄《火速救兵》续集。

走入社区 携手合作

香港消防处副消防总长卢树楠指出,在社区推行防火教育,部门早已舍弃了说教式的宣传推广工作,取而代之的是面向社群,着重与市民互动沟通。刚於7月初在电视播出的另一大型综艺节目《救护精英爱心Show》,亦是一成功例子,以生动手法带出慎用救护车和正确使用救护服务的信息。

在过去十多年,香港消防处积极结合社区力量,不断提升服务质素。以楼宇消防安全特使计划为例,部门积极与大厦管理公司、业主立案法团和社区团体合作,安排培训课程,向市民传授防火知识,鼓励他们在居住或工作的大厦担任特使,推广防火信息,至今已有超过千名巿民参与。香港消防处亦为港铁、大型屋苑和商场物业管理公司等提供培训,教导其员工和管理员如何使用自动心脏去颤机,让他们成为「救心先锋」,在有需要时能第一时间在工作岗位为心脏病患者施以电击急救。

形象鲜明 深入民心

消防员和救护员舍生救人、救急扶危的形象鲜明。当发生意外时,大家拼命向外逃生,团队却站在战线最前方,往相反方向跑,争分夺秒进入灾场执行任务。

对於经常被冠以「英雄」称号,卢树楠认为真正的消防精神是「心系市民、全力以赴」。多年来,整个团队一直默默耕耘,本着的是一份「为民解困」的使命感。

高尚的情操深获市民的赞赏,连续六届取得由市民投票选出的「最佳公众形象奖」,这项殊荣自是实至名归。

消防精神是「心系市民、全力以赴
消防精神是「心系市民、全力以赴
《火速救兵》每集约有115万名市民收看
《火速救兵》每集约有115万名市民收看
「公众人士心脏去颤器」课程
「公众人士心脏去颤器」课程
大型综艺节目《救护精英爱心Show》
大型综艺节目《救护精英爱心Show》