A community approach to crime
prevention
Hong Kong Police Force

Exemplary Services@Gov
2011

Making Hong Kong one of the safest cities in the world requires a police force that is not only dedicated to maintaining law and order but also works closely with the community to combat crime. The Hong Kong Police Force recognises that public support is necessary to improving its anti-crime efforts.

As a part of their public outreach strategy, the Police have implemented a comprehensive public relations strategy and launched different media and publicity programmes such as OffBeat, the TV programme Police Magazine, and "the Good Citizen Award Scheme". To encourage public engagement and further enhance its public image, the Police have also made several enhancements to their Junior Police Call (JPC) and online communications platform, said Ms Wayne Sum, Chief Inspector of Police of the JPC/Youth Liaison Section of Police Public Relations Branch.

Passing on JPC knowledge

The JPC, which uses positive messages and training to help teens avoid a life of crime, is one of the Police Force's best-known community initiatives. Recently the Police have added new features to the training modules including life skills, interpersonal skills, civic education and anti-drug messages to enhance the JPC Scheme. The JPC has also created new ranks, including Staff Officer and Committee Members of District Support Group, to open membership to participants older than 25 years old to ensure the programme's sustainability. With a new "badge system" that is recognised by the Joint University Programme Admissions System under the New Senior Secondary Curriculum, the JPC encourages students to use the programme to boost their academic records. Students who participate in the JPC also now have the opportunity to travel abroad for training and expanding their knowledge of the outside world.

Following these new additions to the programme, the JPC has seen a notable increase in membership. As of December 2010, the programme's overall membership grew by 22%, including a 70% increase of secondary school students over the previous year. The number of Non-ethnic Chinese secondary student members also went up from 472 to 816, representing a 73% annual increase. The success of the programme demonstrates that there are no limits when it comes to nurturing future leaders.

A user-friendly webpage

Access to the web is an integral part of life in Hong Kong. To keep pace with the public's demand for online information, the Police have added new features to its website, which include an e-Report Room, Photo & Video Galleries and games. These enhanced website features support police transparency and strengthen the public's understanding of police work. The Police Force added a human touch to their website by adding a section called "Police Stories" that brings insight into the real-life situations that the Police face every day.

The effort put into developing these new web features has really paid off. From March to December 2010, the Police surveyed users on their satisfaction with the new website. Among the 3,010 respondents, 91% found the webpage user-friendly and 86% felt that the site is clear and informative.

The Hong Kong Police Force continues striving to keep Hong Kong safe by enhancing the quality of its services and improving its image and cooperation with the community.

The JPC members met with the Chief Executive of HKSAR.
The JPC members met with the Chief Executive of HKSAR.
The JPC Scheme nurtures future leaders for the community.
The JPC Scheme nurtures future leaders for the community.
The JPC members have opportunities to participate in different training programmes.
The JPC members have opportunities to participate in different training programmes.
An enhanced version of the Police's webpage
An enhanced version of the Police's webpage

警民合作 扑灭罪行
香港警务处

卓越服务@政府
2011

维护法纪是香港警队的首要任务,要令香港挤身世界上最安全及稳定的城巿之列,警队除了不断提升专业水平,打击罪恶,亦着重与社区保持紧密关系,促进警民合作,协助扑灭罪行。巿民的支持,令警方打击罪行的工作事半功倍。

警务处警察公共关系科少年警讯及青少年联络组总督察沈静芬指出,警队采取积极全面的公共关系策略,除了通过不同媒体或推广活动,如《警声》、电视节目《警讯》或「好巿民奖励计划」等,亦同时充分利用「少年警讯」和警察公众网页这两个平台,推动公众参与,以及提升警队形象。

优化少讯 薪火相传

广为人知的「少年警讯」计划,是警方与社区联系的主要活动之一。「少年警讯」旨在向年轻一代灌输正确观念,避免他们误入歧途。为优化计划及提高其可持续性,除了在现行训练加入生命技能、人际关系技巧、公民意识及禁毒常识等课程,还新增25岁以上的导师职级及「区少年警讯参事」一职,让计划得以薪火相传。另外,「少年警讯」亦加设奖章制度,制度获新高中学制大学联招认可,会员更有机会接受海外培训,扩阔视野。

优化後的「少年警讯」壮大了会员人数,截至2010年12月,整体人数上升了 22%,当中中学生人数更大幅颷升接近七成;非华裔中学生的会员人数,亦由推行优化计划前的472人升至816人,大幅攀升73%。由此可见警队不分种族,为培育社会未来领袖不断努力。

提升网页 便利公众

上网已成为港人生活的一部分。为紧贴资讯发展的步伐,警队亦加强公众网页的功能,加入电子报案室、影视资讯及趣味游戏等,提高警队的透明度,加强巿民对警队工作的了解与支持。当中由警方制作的「警察故事」短片,则有助巿民感受警务工作中的人情味。

由2010年3月至12月,警队共收到3,010份网站满意程度调查问卷回应,分析显示91%用户认为警察公众网页方便使用,86%用户认为资料充足及非常清晰。

香港警方全心全意提升服务水平,推广形象,为确保香港社会稳定繁荣而不断努力。

「少年警讯」会员与香港特区行政长官见面。
「少年警讯」会员与香港特区行政长官见面。
「少年警讯」会员有机会接受不同培训。
「少年警讯」计划为社会培育未来领袖。
「少年警讯」计划为社会培育未来领袖。
「少年警讯」会员有机会接受不同培训。
优化後的警察公众网页
优化後的警察公众网页