Better service through sharing
geospatial data
Lands Department - Geospatial Information Service Unit

Exemplary Services@Gov
2011

The Lands Department's Land Information Centre has implemented an innovative large scale platform called "HKSAR Geospatial Information Hub" (GIH) that allows departments across the public sector to easily access and share geospatial information. Bucking the stereotype of civil services resisting change, the GIH team initiated and developed this new platform which increases the efficiency and speed of decision-making and supports the Government in better serving the public.

Information sharing and improving services

"Our vision is to enable all departments in the civil service to use geospatial information effectively in support of their operations. Using geographic information technology, we are consolidating and integrating our geospatial information with data from various departments and making this wealth of information useful and readily accessible. With all this integrated information easily accessible through one portal, departments can improve their operation efficiency and decision-making processes," said Mr Tsoi Cheong Wai, Senior Land Surveyor at the Land Information Centre who led the initiative.

The GIH makes the flow of information across departments more effective by removing obstacles, said Mr Tsoi. Initially, the GIH team has to demonstrate the GIH's benefits in streamlining daily operations and enhancing public service. As time goes by, more and more departments appreciate the advantages and proactively approach the GIH team for cooperation and creating GIH user accounts.

Support for every civil service sector

The applications of GIH extend to every corner of the civil service. In the public health field, for example, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department has used the GIH to upload data about the location and amount of Aedes albopictus, a type of mosquito that carries infectious diseases such as dengue fever. With access to digital maps showing the distribution and number of these mosquitoes in each region, Relevant departments can monitor the hygienic conditions throughout Hong Kong and effectively assess and monitor the level of public health risk around specific locations such as hospitals, nursing homes and schools.

The GIH can also help the Police in their daily operations. Emergency callers who need help in the countryside but cannot provide exact details on their location, pose a significant challenge for police search and rescue teams. To facilitate rescue operations, the GIH team has created a tailor-made function on the GIH to analyse callers' provided data so that the Police can plan the search operation with reference to the analysis results.

Departments across the civil service have already found ways to use the GIH to support their activities. In addition to public health monitoring and enforcement operations, the GIH team also supports other areas of public service including heritage conservation, infrastructure construction, town planning and electoral affairs, etc.

More than 6,000 users from over 50 government departments have used the GIH, accounting for over 150,000 clicks a day. To support daily work, many departments have expressed interest in accessing or offering data to the hub.

The dedication of the GIH team and the joint effort by different departments have made the GIH service a success. "The public looks to us for professional input, therefore we should give our best to them," said Mr Tsoi.

The GIH team makes the flow of geographic information across departments more effective.
The GIH team makes the flow of geographic information across departments more effective.
The interface of GIH
The interface of GIH
A one-stop geospatial information hub
A one-stop geospatial information hub
The applications of GIH extend to every corner of the civil service.
The applications of GIH extend to every corner of the civil service.

推动资讯共享 提升工作效率
地政总署

卓越服务@政府
2011

「公众常误解公务员大多墨守成规,总抱着少做少错的工作心态,事实却非如此。地政总署辖下土地信息中心的 Geospatial Information Hub (地理空间信息枢纽) 团队,便正推进着一项宏大的项目,自发地创立「地理空间信息枢纽」资讯服务平台,让各政府部门搜寻和分享丰富的地理资讯,协助提升工作效率及改善决策过程,令巿民受惠。

资讯互通 提升效率

土地信息中心高级土地测量师蔡昌炜指出:「我们的目标,不只是支援地政总署的内部运作,更希望地理信息可以更广泛地应用。我们将手上的地理信息与其他部门的资讯整合,通过科技让地理资讯变得触手可及,这有助提升各部门的工作效率及改善决策过程。」

蔡昌炜指出,建立「地理空间信息枢纽」,犹如打通各政府部门的经脉。初期要积极与各部门沟通,让大家明白与其他部门分享内部资料,有助理顺日常工作及提升服务质素。

资讯平台 应用广泛

以支援公共衞生为例,团队将食物环境卫生署通过诱蚊产卵器搜集的白纹伊蚊数据,滙入「地理空间信息枢纽」,将各区白纹伊蚊数量准确地显示在数码地图上,令相关政府部门能快速掌握及监控各区的最新衞生情况,作出风险评估,在有需要时针对性地对医院、老人院和学校等地点,采取跟进措施。

除此以外,「地理空间信息枢纽」亦可支援警方日常的工作。巿民在郊外需要报警求助时,有可能未能提供明确位置,影响警方紧急救援工作。为此,团队特别研发应用组件,令警员可将报案人士的零碎资料,输入「地理空间信息枢纽」作综合分析,在数码地图上逐步收窄及锁定搜救范围,协助部署搜救行动。

团队的工作成果,应用广泛。平台除了支援各部门的调查或执法工作,亦运用在文物保育、工程建设、城市规划及选举事务等事项上。 至今,「地理空间信息枢纽」已有超过50个政府部门合共超过6,000名使用者,每天平均点击亦超过150,000次。不少政府部门亦纷纷主动要求合作。

蔡昌炜指出,「地理空间信息枢纽」得以落实,全因各部门通力合作。他说:「巿民期望公务员利用专业知识,服务巿民,我们就应做到最好。」

建立「地理空间信息枢纽」,犹如打通各政府部门的经脉,让地理资讯变得触手可及。
建立「地理空间信息枢纽」,犹如打通各政府部门的经脉,让地理资讯变得触手可及。
GIH介面
GIH介面
:一站式「地理空间信息枢纽」
一站式「地理空间信息枢纽」
:「地理空间信息枢纽」支援各种公共服务,应用十分广泛。
「地理空间信息枢纽」支援各种公共服务,应用十分广泛。