A hassle-free computerised land
records system
The Land Registry

Exemplary Services@Gov
2011

"Before computerising the land records, we used to search through the Land Registry indices for making photocopies for our customers. It was inconvenient and time-consuming and the old documents could easily be damaged as a result, leaving with smudged words or other signs of repeated use," said Mr K. F. Pang, Deputy Registry Manager/Management & Customer Services of the Land Registry.

Land records are important documents evidencing the evolution of Hong Kong's land registration system. If these documents are damaged, it will not only mean a loss of historical records but also make it difficult to verify property ownership.

History lives online

Following the computerisation of the land records, all land documents are now kept in digital image format, saving them from wear and tear. In addition, the public can conduct searches over the internet anywhere at anytime.

Properties are one of the most important assets of the general public. The Land Registry's registration and search services play an important role in protecting property ownership. Its enhanced land search services also facilitate property transactions. To meet customers' needs in a thriving property market, the Land Registry's Online Search Services have been extended from 16 to 20 hours daily since last August.

Winning customers' hearts

The Land Registry also strives to improve the quality and efficiency of other services. A number of performance pledge standards have been raised over the past two years. The time for registration of land documents has been shortened from 16 to 15 working days and the time for delivery of the Monthly Memorial Information on Mortgage Transactions has been reduced from five to four working days.

The enhanced service standards are well-received by the public. According to the Land Registry Customer Service Survey last year, over 90% of the respondents were content with the department's land search services and almost 90% were content with the deeds lodgement service. The department received 1,036 commendations from customers in 2009-2010, representing a 150% increase over the previous year.

With a wide customer base, including lawyers, estate agents, banks as well as the general public, the Land Registry's services support the everyday lives of Hong Kong citizens. Guided by "a heart to serve", the department will continue to shoulder an indispensable responsibility in Hong Kong's economic development.

Mr K. F. Pang (first left) explained that the Land Registry's registration and search services play an important role in protecting property ownership.
Mr K. F. Pang (first left) explained that the Land Registry's registration and search services play an important role in protecting property ownership.
Archive of old paper-based land records
Archive of old paper-based land records
Full computerisation of registration of land documents
Full computerisation of registration of land documents
The Customer Centre of the Land Registry
The Customer Centre of the Land Registry

土地纪录电子化 善存纪录方便查阅
土地注册处

卓越服务@政府
2011

土地注册处副土地注册处经理 (管理及客户服务) 彭嘉辉说:「在土地纪录未电子化之前,查册人士如需索取土地文件副本,我们便要按索引翻查该份文件在土地注册处的存档副本,然後影印。这种做法不但费时失事,而且每次影印都会对年代久远的文件造成耗损,以致部分土地文件副本出现残缺或字体模糊不清的情况。」土地文件是见证香港土地注册制度演变的重要文献,而文件的耗损不单损害具历史价值的纪录,亦会增添核实物业业权的难度。

网上查册方便巿民 保存历史

自土地注册处推行土地纪录电子化後,所有土地文件皆以数码影像储存,以往文件因岁月不断耗损的情况已不复现。此外,巿民还可随时随地通过互联网进行查册。

楼宇是不少市民的重要资产,土地注册处提供妥善的注册及查册服务,对保障巿民财产十分重要。便捷的查册服务,更有助物业转易能更有效率地进行。土地注册处所提供的网上查册服务,正好配合畅旺的楼巿发展需要,服务时间更由去年8月开始,由每天16小时延长至20小时,以回应客户的需求。

客户表扬个案数目 倍数增长

除了网上查册服务,土地注册处亦不断致力提升其他服务的质素和效率。彭嘉辉指出,该处在过去两年分别提升了多项服务承诺,例如办理土地文件注册的服务标准,由原来的16个工作天缩短至15个工作天,而送递按揭注册摘要月志资料档案的服务标准,亦由原来的5个工作天减至4个工作天。

服务效率提升,自然深受巿民欢迎。按土地注册处於去年进行的客户服务意见调查结果显示,超过九成受访者满意该处的查册服务。递交契约服务方面,满意服务的受访者亦接近九成。在2009至2010年度,该处获客户表扬的个案更增加至1,036个,较2008至2009年度的个案数目增加超过一倍半。

土地注册处的服务对象除了业界包括律师丶地产代理以及银行之外,普罗大众亦是其主要客户,其服务与香港社会及巿民息息相关。该处秉持「以人为本,以客为尊」的精神服务社会,对促进香港整体经济发展,肩负不可或缺的责任。

彭嘉辉(左一)指出,土地注册处的注册及查册服务对保障巿民财产十分重要。
彭嘉辉(左一)指出,土地注册处的注册及查册服务对保障巿民财产十分重要。
存放在档案室的旧有纸本土地纪录
存放在档案室的旧有纸本土地纪录
:土地文件注册已全面电脑化。
土地文件注册已全面电脑化。
:土地注册处的客户服务中心
土地注册处的客户服务中心