Promoting Interdepartmental
Cooperative Water Saving Project
Water Supplies Department, Housing Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2011

Protecting water resources for the future

Growing populations increase the demand for water supply. In tackling this problem, the Housing Department (HD) and the Water Supplies Department (WSD) have designed and begun implementing a special inter-departmental water-saving program to promote water conservation. Thanks to the efforts of both departments, the twin tank system, rainwater harvesting system, along with other water-saving devices are helping preserve the city's water resources for the future.

The innovative twin tank design

The twin tank water supply system was inspired by the interruptions in water supply experienced by public housing residents during tank cleanings, said Mr Stephen Wong, Senior Building Services Engineer of the Housing Department. By adopting an "alternating operation" mode, the twin tank system allows one tank to run normally while the other is being cleaned, which avoids service interruptions and reduces water wastage due to over-storage by tenants during service interruptions.

Through the joint effort by the two departments, 15 newly-built public housing estates already have twin tank systems installed as of January 2011. The twin tank systems installed in these estates will conserve approximately 1,600 cubic meters of fresh water and 400 cubic meters of flushing water each year. The two departments will continue to proactively work towards wider use of the twin tank system in government premises and private buildings across Hong Kong.

Under the "Total Water Management" strategy, the two departments are also promoting the use of other water-saving devices. Mr Wong said that the trial use of water-saving devices in the Hong Kong Housing Authority Headquarter has already demonstrated a saving of about 5% of total annual water consumption of the building. More than 460 government buildings and schools in Hong Kong already installed with these devices would be able to conserve an estimated 20% of water every year, added Mr William Tam, Engineer of the Water Supplies Department.

Recycling rainwater

The two departments have also been proactively promoting the use of rainwater harvesting systems in both public and private construction projects. Choi Tak Shopping Centre and Yau Lai Shopping Centre have already installed the rainwater harvesting systems which is expected to reduce the amount of irrigation water by 30 to 50% annually.

Implementing these various water-saving initiatives has posed a series of challenges for both departments. Mr Tam said that flexibility in making appropriate arrangement to accord with the situation and time was the key to success, especially for promoting the use of twin tank system. For promoting the use of twin tank system, the two departments have worked closely together, conducted thorough consultations with Relevant trade groups and the public and worked out the technical solution, in which gate valves are used at the inlet pipe together with the installation of automatic pump tripping device to ensure safety.

In addition to using water-saving devices, better water usage habits are essential to improving conservation. Through education and publicity programmes, the two departments hope to foster sustainable water-saving habits across the Hong Kong community.

Driven by a dedication to service, the HD and the WSD have managed to overcome obstacles and deliver a high-quality service to the public that will help preserve water resources for generations to come.

The two departments work closely together to help preserve the city's water resources for a sustainable future.
The two departments work closely together to help preserve the city's water resources for a sustainable future.
The two departments work proactively to promote a wider use of the twin tank system.
The two departments work proactively to promote a wider use of the twin tank system.
The concept of the twin tank water supply system originates from the two departments' determination to provide better services to the community and taking the lead in water conservation.
The concept of the twin tank water supply system originates from the two departments' determination to provide better services to the community and taking the lead in water conservation.
As of January 2011, 15 newly-built public estates already have twin tank systems installed.
As of January 2011, 15 newly-built public estates already have twin tank systems installed.

推广「跨部门合作节约用水」
水务署、房屋署

卓越服务@政府
2011

节约用水 推动环保

为应付香港因人口增加而上升的未来供水需求,房屋署和水务署为此挖空心思,引入孖水缸、雨水收集及循环再用系统和节水装置等,透过「跨部门合作节约用水」计划,帮助市民「悭水」。

孖缸设计 新颖首创

房屋署高级屋宇装备工程师黄永雄指出,孖水缸的意念,源於有公屋居民指每逢清洗水缸,整幢大厦便需停水,十分不便。为方便居民,并避免居民因停水而储存过多食水,造成浪费,遂设计出孖水缸,利用「交替使用」原理,让在清洗其中一个水缸时,另一个水缸可继续运作,确保供水不会间断。

经两署通力合作,至2011年1月为止,已有15座新建造公营房屋安装了孖水缸,估计每年可节约1,600立方米食水及400立方米冲厕水;两署将继续全力推广孖水缸带来的好处,促使其他政府部门楼宇及私人楼宇项目亦相继采用。

在推行「全面水资源管理」计划下,两署亦携手合作,全力推行节水装置,减少用水。黄永雄指出,房委会总部已进行节水装置及器具试行计划,证实能节省全年约5%用水。水务署工程师谭文耀指出现时全港460多幢政府楼宇及学校亦已安装节水器具,估计每年可节约20%用水。

雨水再用 善用资源

两署亦积极推广雨水收集及循环再用系统,鼓励各公私营建筑项目采纳此设计。彩德邨商场及油丽商场已安装此系统,预计每年可共节省淋花用水约30%至50%。

在实行上述设计意念时,两署曾遇到不少挑战。水务署工程师谭文耀指出,以孖水缸设计为例,推广时要因时制宜,才得到成功。为推广孖水缸设计,两署合作磋商,广泛谘询业界及公众,共同得出技术可行的方案,即在孖水缸的喉管中装上水掣,并同时加装自动停泵装置,确保安全,以落实孖水缸的推行。

除了设计上的配合,两署亦合作教育年青一代,培养市民节约用水的习惯及推广节约用水器具,建立香港为一个节水型社会。

「全情投入,用心去做」正是两署排除万难、提升服务的格言。

:两署通力合作,全力帮助市民「悭水」。
两署通力合作,全力帮助市民「悭水」。
两署积极推广使用孖水缸。
两署积极推广使用孖水缸。
孖水缸设计是源於两署决心为市民提供更好服务,及避免浪费用水。
孖水缸设计是源於两署决心为市民提供更好服务,及避免浪费用水。
至2011年1月止,已有15座新建造公营房屋安装了孖水缸。
至2011年1月止,已有15座新建造公营房屋安装了孖水缸。