Road Cargo System
Customs and Excise Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2011
JW Player goes here

(Cantonese with English subtitles)

Enhancing customs clearance to boost the economy

Nowhere is Hong Kong better known for its efficiency more than in the logistics sector, which is why logistics is one of the city's four pillar industries. The Customs and Excise Department (C&ED), the gatekeeper for imported and exported goods, has launched electronic customs clearance platforms to increase its efficiency, facilitate business and strengthen risk management.

After implementing the customs clearance platforms for sea and air logistics, the Road Cargo System (ROCARS) was also officially launched in May 2010. This new system significantly reduces the time needed for customs clearance and supports Hong Kong's economic development.

Aligned with international best practices

The C&ED's development of an electronic customs clearance platform has helped Hong Kong keep up with the global trend toward computerised clearance procedures. It also connects Hong Kong's customs clearance services internationally by expediting information exchange and cargo circulation.

Mr Li Wai-chiu, Senior Systems Manager of the Customs and Excise Department, said that the department has been developing electronic customs clearance platforms for several years. Unlike the relatively smooth development of the sea and air customs clearance, implementing the ROCARS has presented a number of challenges. To make the ROCARS user-friendly and efficient, the department needed to cater for the needs of its target users, specifically those small and medium enterprises and cross-border drivers that may not fully understand how to use new technology.

In order to encourage the use of the electronic customs clearance platform before the 18-month transitional period expires, the department has launched a comprehensive campaign that sends mobile promotion trucks and staff to assist drivers to use the new registration procedures at the borders. More than half of the drivers have already registered for the ROCARS.

Easy declarations by phone

The department has introduced an Interactive Voice Response System and security tokens for truck drivers who may not have easy access to the Internet while at work. These systems help drivers bundle cargo by phone 30 minutes before arriving at the borders by inputting the customs cargo reference number from shippers or agents.

Mr Leung Shung-chi, Senior Staff Officer of the Customs and Excise Department, said that drivers previously needed to complete immigration procedures at the Immigration Department's kiosks before proceeding to the C&ED's kiosks for customs clearance. On average, the whole process took more than 60 seconds. With the new system, immigration and customs clearance takes only 20 seconds. Using a computer-aided pre-risk assessment, the C&ED has been able to collect intelligence effectively and reduce manpower requirements at kiosks.

The department continues working to improve the effectiveness of its customs clearance process. With the ROCARS to be fully launched on 17 November 2011, the logistics industry will become even more efficient, bringing long-term economic benefits to Hong Kong.

The C&ED has launched electronic customs clearance platforms to enhance efficiency.
The ROCARS was also officially launched in May 2010.
With the ROCARS, immigration and customs clearance takes only 20 seconds.
The C&ED has launched mobile trucks to assist drivers with the ROCARS registration procedures.

道路货物资料系统
香港海关

卓越服务@政府
2011
JW Player goes here

提升清关效率 促进经济发展

物流业是本港四大支柱行业之一,以争分夺秒丶讲求高效见称;为了照顾行业的发展所需,香港海关作为监察货物进出的把关者,致力推动电子清关平台,务求提升物流效率,同时加强风险管理。

继先後建立了海丶空运的电子清关平台後,海关亦於2010年5月正式推出了「道路货物资料系统」这个陆路电子清关平台。系统推出後,大大缩减了清关时间,对促进香港经济亦发挥了正面作用。

电子清关 国际趋势

海关发展电子清关平台,令香港迈向国际物流电子化,同时亦令香港与世界各地的海关服务接轨,以便交流信息,促进货物的流通。

海关高级系统经理李伟钊指出,海关计划推动电子清关平台多年,在空运及海运方面,发展相对顺利;但在陆运方面,由於行内有很多属中小规模公司,亦包括不少跨境货车司机,他们未必完全掌握资讯科技,因此在推行上更需加把劲。

为鼓励业界在18个月过渡期届满前尽早使用电子清关平台,海关全力展开宣传活动,安排流动宣传车及派出专人,在各陆路口岸为进出境的司机办理现场登记手续。目前,超过一半的司机已经登记。

电话申报 贴心服务

因应陆路运输业的独特作业模式,海关在建立「道路货物资料系统」时,特别引入了话音互动系统和保安编码器。这项贴心服务旨在方便一众未能随时随地上网的货车司机,让他们从付运人或货运代理取得海关货物编号後,可在抵达边境口岸前30分钟,以电话方式向海关申报。

海关高级参事梁祟智指出,以往货车抵达边境口岸,司机须停留在入境处的检查亭办理出入境手续,然後再前往海关的检查亭,由关员办理清关手续, 整个过程平均需时超过60秒。系统推出後,货物清关及司机的出入境手续, 一般可在短短20秒内便完成,清关时间缩短一半。而电脑辅助的「预先风险评估方式」更大大方便了海关收集情报;同时减省派驻清关亭的人手。

香港海关竭尽所能提升清关效率。「道路货物资料系统」将於2011年11月17日全面实施,届时物流业的效能将进一步提升,长远亦有助本地经济发展。

海关致力推动电子清关平台,以提升效率。
海关致力推动电子清关平台,以提升效率。
海关於2010年5月正式推出了「道路货物资料系统」。
海关於2010年5月正式推出了「道路货物资料系统」。
采用「道路货物资料系统」,一般20秒即可完成清关及出入境手续。
采用「道路货物资料系统」,一般20秒即可完成清关及出入境手续。
海关利用流动宣传车为司机办理现场登记手续。
海关利用流动宣传车为司机办理现场登记手续。