Safeguarding our Life and Property
Hong Kong Fire Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2013

With the mission to protect Hong Kong people from fire and other calamities, the Hong Kong Fire Services Department (FSD) is tasked with providing efficient emergency services, including fire fighting and rescue, to save those in distress. Through adopting an innovative mindset and actively engaging the public, the FSD is devoted to enhancing its emergency services and raising the public awareness of fire safety.

Enhancing emergency ambulance services through post-dispatch support

No matter how short the time is, waiting for the ambulance service to arrive is an extremely anxious moment for most people, particularly for those who do not know what to do to help the persons in distress. The FSD has launched the "Post-dispatch First-aid Tips" service to address this situation. Under this new program, if the emergency ambulance call falls into the six types of common injuries covered by the scheme, staff in the Fire Services Communication Centre, after dispatching ambulance to the scene, would telephone the callers to give simple first aid and time-saving advice to facilitate provision of prompt medical assistance. This new practice has helped shorten time of ambulance men staying at the scene, and ensured efficient conveyance of patients or the injuired to hospitals.

Since its launch in May 2011, the service has received high praise from the public. In the customer satisfaction survey, 99% of respondents were satisfied with the service.

Actively engaging the community to promote fire safety

To enhance public knowledge of fire safety, the FSD has launched a number of fire safety programmes including the "Building Fire Safety Envoy Scheme", the "Fire Safety Ambassador Scheme" and "Fire Safety Education in Kindergartens" projects.

The fire safety education double decker bus is another innovative project to promote fire safety. The upper deck of the bus is decorated as a typical residential unit. By emitting non-poisonous smoke and using laser beams, a fire scene is simulated for participants to practise fire escape. The lower deck of the bus is installed with multimedia simulation and interactive learning systems for participants to learn fire prevention and the proper use of fire extinguishers. The bus has visited all districts in Hong Kong and gained much popularity among citizens. This project has successfully helped strengthen public awareness of fire safety and prevention.

The FSD also provides customised measures to target groups with unique needs for fire protection advice. For example, the FSD worked in collaboration with other government departments and the MTR Corporation to compile Guidelines on Formulation of Fire Safety Requirements for New Railway Infrastructures. The guide has helped all stakeholders to better understand the required measures, thus enhanced fire safety standard on railways.

With strong commitment to excellence and innovation, the FSD endeavours to protect life and property from fire and other calamities, making Hong Kong a safe place to live and work.

The 'Post-dispatch First-aid Tips' service saves the time the ambulance crew spends on scene and facilitates the early conveyance of the sick and the injured to the hospital.
The "Post-dispatch First-aid Tips" service saves the time the ambulance crew spends on scene and facilitates the early conveyance of the sick and the injured to the hospital.
The Fire Safety Education Bus visits districts across Hong Kong, disseminating fire safety knowledge and fire escape techniques to the public.
The Fire Safety Education Bus visits districts across Hong Kong, disseminating fire safety knowledge and fire escape techniques to the public.
The FSD has launched the 'Fire Safety Education in Kindergartens'. Fire safety should be learnt from young age.
The FSD has launched the "Fire Safety Education in Kindergartens". Fire safety should be learnt from young age.
The Guidelines on Formulation of Fire Safety Requirements for New Railway Infrastructures provides general guidance on how to formulate appropriate fire safety requirements for new railway projects and associated infrastructures with unique and complex design.
The Guidelines on Formulation of Fire Safety Requirements for New Railway Infrastructures provides general guidance on how to formulate appropriate fire safety requirements for new railway projects and associated infrastructures with unique and complex design.

创新思维 救急扶危
香港消防处

卓越服务@政府
2013

香港消防处肩负「救灾扶危,为民解困」的使命,为本港市民提供多项紧急服务,包括灭火和救援工作,以及为伤病者提供紧急救护服务。处方运用创新思维,从市民角度出发,致力提供最适切的救援服务;并主动走进社区,提高公众的消防安全意识。

人未到 支援先到 纾解燃眉之急

致电紧急热线召唤救护车的市民往往徬徨焦急。为了照顾他们的需要,消防处本着「救护车未到,支援先抵步」的革新理念,推出「调派後急救锦囊」服务。消防处通讯中心就六种较易识别的伤病类别,为求助个案完成救护车调派後,会随即致电求助人,马上提供急救指引和节省救援时间的建议,以便纾解燃眉之急,并有助缩短救护员逗留现场处理个案的时间,让求助者和伤病者尽快获得合适的协助。

此项服务自2011年5月起推出以来,一直受到市民赞许。使用过有关服务并曾接受电话调查访问的求助人中,99%满意服务,并对通讯中心人员表示谢意,可见服务对市民大有帮助。

积极主动走入社区 推广消防安全

为了让公众掌握更多防火及逃生知识,处方近年推出「楼宇消防安全特使」丶「消防安全大使」及「幼儿消防安全教育」等多个计划。

此外,处方精心制作消防安全教育双层巴士,主动深入社区,透过体验式学习方法推广消防安全。巴士上层设计成一般住宅单位的间隔,利用烟雾及激光模拟火警现场,让参观人士学习如何因应现场情况冷静逃生。巴士下层则设有多媒体灭火模拟视象系统及触控式屏幕电脑,让市民以互动形式,学习使用适当灭火筒的方法及各类防火资讯。消防安全教育巴士足迹遍布全港各区,深受欢迎,成功加强消防安全教育。

处方亦针对特定对象的需要,提供相关的消防安全措施,例如联同多个政府部门及港铁等机构进行研究,制订《新铁路基建设施消防安全规定制订指引》,让各持份者更准确快捷地掌握所需资料,提升安全水平。

消防处不断创新,精益求精,为保障市民的生命财产不遗馀力,务使香港成为安居乐业的地方。

「调派後急救锦囊」服务缩短救护员在现场处理伤病者的时间,加快送院治疗。
「调派後急救锦囊」服务缩短救护员在现场处理伤病者的时间,加快送院治疗。
消防安全教育巴士驶到各家各户门口,向市民宣扬防火及火警逃生知识。
消防安全教育巴士驶到各家各户门口,向市民宣扬防火及火警逃生知识。
消防安全教育走进幼稚园,从小做起。
消防安全教育走进幼稚园,从小做起。
《新铁路基建设施消防安全规定制订指引》为铁路项目以及设计独特而又复杂的相关基建设施,提供制订适当消防安全规定的一般指引。
《新铁路基建设施消防安全规定制订指引》为铁路项目以及设计独特而又复杂的相关基建设施,提供制订适当消防安全规定的一般指引。