Professional Support to Rescue
Operations
Hong Kong Police Force - Disaster Victim Identification Unit

Exemplary Services@Gov
2013
JW Player goes here

Established in 1975, the Disaster Victim Identification Unit (DVIU) is a dedicated team in the Hong Kong Police Force to provide fast, accurate and professional victim identification service during disasters. The team serves in rescue operations within the territory as well as in international disaster rescue operations outside Hong Kong.

Professionally trained to act fast when needed

The DVIU comprises some 300 members. All of them are serving criminal investigation detectives standing ready to be deployed to carry out victim identification service. All team members are trained to conduct victim identification according to Interpol standard, and prepared psychologically to carry out the job. Simulation exercises and inter-departmental drills are conducted periodically to make sure members will react quickly and carry out the investigation and identification work professionally at the scene of the disaster.

Members of the team attend overseas training and international conferences on the subject from time to time to keep themselves updated on the latest technologies and operation models. The operation model, skills employed and equipment used in the DVIU are of high international standard. Instead of getting to the disaster scene after the completion of rescue operation as practised in other countries, the DVIU has adopted the approach of deploying staff alongside frontline rescuers to disaster scenes, thus speeding up the identification process as well as relieving the work of rescuers.

Compassionate and wholehearted community service

Conducting victim identification during disasters is a highly stressful work. Team members need to handle their emotions and focus on the work calmly. Besides, they also make every effort to console the grieving relatives of victims in the process.

Members of the DVIU know their mission by heart, and always remember and act to live up to the motto "Respect the deceased, care for their families, act with professionalism, serve the community".

专业辨认 全力支援拯救任务
香港警务处 - 灾难遇害者辨认组

卓越服务@政府
2013
JW Player goes here

自从1975年香港警务处成立灾难遇害者辨认组以来,每当灾难发生时,辨认组都会以专业的态度和方式,全力以赴执行职务,提供快速准确的遇难者辨认服务。辨认组的工作跨越国界,队员随时随地奉命赶赴海外,参与国际性的灾难救援行动。

专业队伍 快速动员

辨认组现时有300位队员,全部由前线的刑事侦缉人员兼任,随时待命接受调派,前往灾难现场支援。所有队员均接受过严格的国际刑警标准训练和心理能力培训,并需参与模拟灾难事件演习及跨部门联合演练,以确保在灾难现场能配合其他救援工作,迅速应变、进行搜证和完成辨认工作。

辨认组不时派员到海外受训及参与国际会议,就先进创新的辨认科技和模式进行交流。目前辨认组的辨认程序和装备均达国际级或以上水平。其他国家的辨认组一般于救援工作完成后才到场,而香港的辨认组则与前线救援队伍同步出发,有助纾缓救援团队的压力及加快辨认速度。

尊重关怀 尽心服务

尽管身经百战,队员在大型灾难事故中,面对危险严峻的环境,以及遇难者遗体,难免会感到巨大的心理压力;然而,为了尽快确认遇难者身份,减轻家属的焦虑,队员必须适当处理自身的情绪,专心致志地执行工作。队员在冷静严谨地进行辨认工作的同时,亦会尽力纾解遇难者家属丧亲之痛,协助他们尽快完成辨认程序。

队员深深体会工作的意义,时刻秉持「尊重死者、关怀家属、严谨专业、服务社群」的信念,执行艰巨的任务。