Bringing out the Best from Man's
Best Friend
Hong Kong Police Force - Police Dog Unit

Exemplary Services@Gov
2013
JW Player goes here

There are over 100 police dogs serving the territory. They include Malinois, Labrador Retrievers, and Springer Spaniels. With their police handlers, they are deployed every day to carry out duties which include general patrol and searching for narcotics and explosives. In doing so, they play a significant role in the fight against crime.

Specialised training for multi-functional deployment

The Police Dog Unit (PDU) has a rich history of over 60 years, evolving from a setup with only four patrol dogs to the current scale. Patrol dogs' strong physique and fast reactions make them ideal in engaging multiple violent suspects, providing invaluable support to police officers in dealing with violent incidents. Recently, the PDU has implemented an innovative scheme "Dual-purpose Dog" to enhance the flexibility of dog deployment. In the past, different breeds of police dogs were trained to perform either patrol or search duties. This innovative scheme provides special training to "upgrade" patrol dogs to perform "patrol-plus-narcotics-search" tasks, providing added value to the unit.

To help in the fight against drug-related crimes, the PDU has embarked on another initiative to train Labrador Retrievers, which are relatively gentle and possess superior olfactory ability, to take up drug search duty. When they detect drugs on a suspect or at a certain spot, they will sit next to the suspect or the target spot waiting for their police handlers' further investigation.

Recruiting abandoned dogs to serve

The PDU adopts abandoned dogs which have potential to be trained for police duties. This arrangement not only saves their life, but also provides additional "dogpower" to the unit. Trainers in the unit train these dogs with extra effort and care to rebuild their trust in humans.

The PDU also puts in place a comprehensive care system for retired police dogs. In conjunction with the Independent Commission Against Corruption, the unit has developed a set of clear guidelines and procedures for the adoption of retired police dogs. This is to ensure all adoption applications are handled fairly and the retired dogs are properly cared for.

Police dogs and their handlers are great partners in maintaining law and order. The excellent work of the PDU has been widely recognised by the community.

Police dogs undertake regular training to hone their skills.
Drug detection dogs provide an important service, assisting police patrol duties at MTR Stations.
A patrol dog under drug detection training.

巧用犬只天赋 提升警务工作效率
香港警务处 - 警犬队

卓越服务@政府
2013
JW Player goes here

狗只嗅觉灵敏丶禀性机警,有些还有威武的外表,难怪它们会获警队垂青。目前,全港有逾百头警犬,包括玛莲莱犬丶拉布拉多猎犬及史宾格犬等不同品种。它们夥拍警员,一起执行巡逻丶缉毒丶搜寻爆炸品等工作,肩负起打击暴力和毒品等罪行的重任。

一犬两用 资源增值

警犬队成立已逾60载,其间一直不断革新,由最初只有四头巡逻犬,发展至今时今日的规模。巡逻犬外型勇猛丶行动迅速,随时可以「以一敌十」,对协助打击暴力事件发挥明显功用。警犬队近年推出「一犬两用」计划,把巡逻犬栽培成既可巡逻又能缉毒的多功能犬,大大增加了调动警犬执勤的弹性,令现有资源得以增值。

另外,警犬队亦为嗅觉敏锐的拉布拉多猎犬,量身订做新课程,训练他们成为「静态缉毒犬」。当它们察觉可疑人士身上或车辆上可能有毒品时,便会马上蹲在疑犯或相应位置旁边,让领犬员作进一步检查。

被遗弃犬只 增添生力军

警犬队亦会领养遭遗弃而又适合训练成警犬的狗只。在拯救生命之馀,亦为警队增添生力军。当然,在训练这些曾被遗弃的犬只时,同事要付出额外的爱心,重建它们对人类的信心。

关於警犬的退役安排,警犬队也有妥善机制。他们与廉政公署共同检视退役警犬领养程序,确保有详细明确的指引,务求公平地批核申请,并使退役警犬得到妥善的照料。

警犬与领犬员并肩作战,为维护法纪丶维持治安努力不懈。警犬队的卓越工作不时获得奖项,成果备受称许。

警犬定期接受训练,保持最佳状态。
警犬定期接受训练,保持最佳状态。
缉毒犬协助警员在港铁站进行巡查工作。
缉毒犬协助警员在港铁站进行巡查工作。
巡逻犬接受模拟实况的缉毒训练。
巡逻犬接受模拟实况的缉毒训练。