Planning Ahead and Achieving Excellence
Water Supplies Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2013

The Water Supplies Department (WSD) is committed to ensuring the provision of a reliable and clean water supply for people in Hong Kong. Continuous effort in enhancing its water resource management systems, controlling water quality, securing reliable water supply and providing customer service are made over the years.


Developing new technologies to drive optimisation

To further improve the water quality monitoring, staff in the WSD has developed an innovative Biosensing Alert System with the help of zebra fish that have genetic composition very similar to that of humans and with high sensitivity to the environmental changes. This new system is a product of integrating biological, IT and telecommunication technologies, employing powerful camera and tailor-made computer programming. It conducts 24-hour monitoring on activities of zebra fish in a specially designed aquarium.

When the system detects any abnormal activities or distribution of the zebra fish, a warning is issued alerting the team immediately that the water may be contaminated. At the same time, the auto-sampler begins taking water samples at preset intervals for further toxicity test. The toxicity test is highly accurate with a rapid diagnostic capability that can test for over 1,000 harmful substances in water within 60 minutes.

The new system has not only brought about higher efficiency in water quality monitoring but also significantly reduced the consumption of chemicals, doing big service to environmental protection.

Promoting water conservation

Fresh water is a precious natural resource. To increase public awareness of water conservation, the WSD has organised a wide range of programmes from producing a liberal studies curriculum for school on water conservation, hosting competitions, conducting household water consumption surveys and campus water audits to implementing the Water Efficiency Labelling Scheme.

Since its opening in 2012, the WSD's Water Resources Education Centre has provided guided tours to schools and other non-profit organisations to introduce to them the importance of water conservation. During these tours, visitors will learn about what they can do to conserve water through seeing exhibition materials, demonstration by centre staff and interactive games. Students who have visited the centre are also encouraged to conserve water in their daily life and promote water conservation among their peers.

The WSD has worked with dedication in ensuring clean water supply and promoting water conservation, quietly supporting the economy and prosperous development of Hong Kong.

Zebra fish, which are genetically similar to that of humans, are used to monitor water quality.
Zebra fish, which are genetically similar to that of humans, are used to monitor water quality.
Students can appreciate the importance of water conservation through the exhibitions and interactive games in the Water Resources Education Centre.
Students can appreciate the importance of water conservation through the exhibitions and interactive games in the Water Resources Education Centre.
The WSD appoints Water Conservation Ambassadors to encourage and nurture water saving habits among students.
The WSD appoints Water Conservation Ambassadors to encourage and nurture water saving habits among students.

未雨绸缪 追求卓越
水务署

卓越服务@政府
2013

水务署致力为香港市民提供可靠丶充足的优质食水。凭藉团队创新及精益求精的精神,水务署努力在水资源管理丶水质监测丶有效供水及客户服务四个主要工作范畴内提升技术和系统,为市民提供更高效丶更优质的服务。

持续优化 不断研发新技术

在水质监测方面,水务署的团队持续努力优化有关机制,主动研发创新高效的「生物感应预警系统」,利用与人类基因相近丶灵敏度高的斑马鱼,监测食水质素。此系统结合了生物丶电脑及通讯科技,透过高效摄影机及特别开发的电脑程式,每天24小时监察丶分析及记录斑马鱼於特制鱼缸内的状况。

如果斑马鱼的活动和分布情况异常,即表示食水可能受到污染。系统会即时自动通知团队,并抽取不同时段的水样本以作进一步的毒性测试。此毒性测试的准确性及效率很高,能在60分钟内识别超过1,000种有害物质。

此系统不但提高了部门监测食水安全的效率,更大幅降低化学品的耗用量,既合乎绿色科学和环保原则,又具成本效益。

推广节约用水 渗透各阶层

食水是非常珍贵的天然资源。水务署通过制作通识科教材丶举行比赛丶进行家居用水调查和校园用水情况考察,以及推行「用水效益标签计划」等多元化的方式和活动,向不同层面的市民推广节约用水的信息。

水务署的「水资源教育中心」於2012年启用,开放给学校和非牟利团体预约参观,以导览形式,透过展品丶现场示范及互动游戏,深入浅出地讲解节约用水的重要性,加强市民保护水资源的意识。参观者中有不少学生,中心不但有效教导他们珍惜用水,还鼓励他们在个人层面向朋辈宣扬节约用水的信息。

水务署竭尽所能,为市民提供优质用水,并引导大众善用水资源,有助社会及环境的可持续发展。

斑马鱼的基因与人类相近,在系统中负责监测食水质素。
斑马鱼的基因与人类相近,在系统中负责监测食水质素。
学生透过「水资源教育中心」的展览及互动游戏,认识节约用水的重要性。
学生透过「水资源教育中心」的展览及互动游戏,认识节约用水的重要性。
水务署选出「保护水资源大使」,让学生从小养成节约用水的习惯。
水务署选出「保护水资源大使」,让学生从小养成节约用水的习惯。