Wave Power Cleaning System Saves Time
and Effort
Water Supplies Department - Energy Management Unit

Exemplary Services@Gov
2013
JW Player goes here

In Hong Kong, the majority of the population is supplied with seawater for flushing. Seawater is first screened by strainers to remove sizeable particles before treatment for disinfection. One of the problems during the screening process is the frequent attachment of marine organisms to the strainers blocking the water flow. In the past, these strainers had to be cleaned over a thousand times a year to address the problem. With the invention of the Wave Power Cleaning System, the problem was properly addressed bringing about substantial improvement to the efficiency of pumping stations.

Clever adaptation of solutions

During cross-unit experience sharing and exchange, the Energy Management Unit (EMU) learned about the problem of marine organisms attaching on strainers at pumping stations, and started to explore solutions to address this problem. Being inspired by the observation that grass stops growing when frequently trampled, an idea came to the mind of an engineer to make use of the natural force of waves to scrub the strainers continuously to stop the growth of marine organisms there.

Repeated testing yielding improvements

The EMU shared this initial design idea with the colleagues in the Operations Unit and the Mechanical Workshop Unit. They set up a cross-unit project team to realise the design.

The cross-unit team worked meticulously in designing, producing, assembling and testing the device and work process. The first version of Wave Power Cleaning System came to use in 2011, but the team was not satisfied with its performance and the procedures of installing and removing the brushing device. They continued to work on improvements. The team even devoted their spare time to try out different approaches to improve the design and finally succeeded in inventing a more efficient version in early 2012.

The launch of the Wave Power Cleaning System has substantially improved the performance of strainers, saving departmental resources spent on cleaning work. The journey the project team took was both valuable learning for them as well as a model of cross-unit and multi-disciplinary collaboration in the department.

In the past, WSD team members had to manually wash strainers with pressurised water.
The new generation pulleys design now effectively prevents marine organisms from adhering to and breeding on the strainer.
The model of Wave Power Cleaning System invented by the EMU.

海浪刷网 省时省力
水务署 - 能源管理组

卓越服务@政府
2013
JW Player goes here

本港的冲厠水,主要经由水务署的海水抽水站从大海中抽取,然後用水泵加压,再通过海水管道输送网络供用户使用。设置於抽水口的隔滤网常因滋生海洋生物而出现堵塞,增加海水通过时的阻力,这个环节一直是工作上的一项挑战。为了清除滋生物,部门每年需清理隔滤网一千多次。由部门员工研发的「海浪推动刷网装置系统」,对症下药,大大减省了繁重的隔滤网清理工作,亦提升了抽水站的效率。

触类旁通 巧妙应用

在水务署各组别交流工作情况时,能源管理组得知抽水站的同事面对海洋生物在隔滤网滋生这个难题。在一次偶然的机会下,能源管理组的机械工程师观察到经常遭践踏的草地,青草会难以生长,於是得到启发,研究在隔滤网面加设活动装置,以干扰海洋生物的滋生。他又联想到可以利用海浪的自然力量带动钢丝刷,不断地洗刷隔滤网,阻止海洋生物在网上生长。

反覆测试 不断改良

能源管理组在构思出设计意念後,跟机械工场和运作组分享。他们组成了一个跨组别团队,携手研究如何落实这项崭新设计。 团队一丝不苟地进行研究,并一手包办设计丶制作丶装嵌丶测试整个过程的工作。在大家努力下,第一代的海浪刷网装置在2011年面世,不过测试的结果却未如理想,装卸刷网装置的工序亦有待完善。为了精益求精,团队甚至利用工馀时间不断改良设计,反覆测试和验证,最终成功 在2012年初研发出操作更简易的新一代海浪刷网。

新型刷网的诞生,大幅提高了隔滤网的效能,并减少了清理隔滤网所需的人力物力,成果令人鼓舞。当中经历失败的磨练和成功的喜悦,不但给整个团队带来珍贵难忘的学习经历,更成为部门跨组别丶跨专业的协作典范。

以往员工需用人手以高压水枪冲洗隔滤网。
以往员工需用人手以高压水枪冲洗隔滤网。
新一代滑轮式设计有效阻止海洋生物在隔滤网上依附和滋生。
新一代滑轮式设计有效阻止海洋生物在隔滤网上依附和滋生。
能源管理组研发的「海浪推动刷网装置系统」模型。
能源管理组研发的「海浪推动刷网装置系统」模型。