Eliminate Fire Risks via Joint Efforts,
Bring about a Brand New Image for
Hawker Stalls
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, Hong Kong Fire Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here

Hawker stalls have a long history in Hong Kong, embodying a special feature of the local community, and some of them have become tourist attractions. However, the overcrowded stalls and the narrow aisles pose a fire threat to the community. After the fire broke out at the Fa Yuen Street hawker area in 2011, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) and the Fire Services Department (FSD) quickly responded and took joint actions, inspecting all the hawker areas in Hong Kong. In addition to strengthening management measures, they also gathered the latest and most accurate data so as to formulate a comprehensive strategy to improve fire safety in hawker areas. Regarding medium-term and long-term measures, the Government launched a “Hawker Assistance Scheme” in 2013, providing subsidies to about 4,300 hawkers in 43 fixed-pitch hawker areas for stall relocation and reconstruction, and offering ex-gratia payment to hawkers who opt for voluntary surrender of their hawker licences to the Government to release vacant pitches to relocate other stalls.

Join hands for win-win results

The large number of stalls involved, the different environmental constraints in different districts, and the different interests or considerations for the hawkers and nearby residents, are reasons why the improvement work is so difficult. The FEHD and the FSD identified some 500 stalls which need to be accorded priority because these stalls are located directly in front of staircase discharge points of buildings or obstructing the access and operation of fire appliances, thus posing higher fire risks. The two departments hosted almost 100 joint meetings and field inspections, actively engaged Legislative Council Members, District Council Members, representatives from hawker associations and hawkers, and acted flexibly in a people-oriented spirit with a view to meeting hawkers’ needs without compromising fire safety. Except for hawker areas with higher risk, the departments adopted the approach of “resolving the simple cases before the difficult ones” by prioritising the handling of hawker areas with relatively more vacant pitches, in order to accumulate experience, generate quick results and gain more support.

Careful plan brings in a fresh new look

During the relocation process, with support from all hawkers in the hawker areas, the departments re-planned the stall layouts, thus improving the business environment. In addition to complying with basic specifications, reconstructed stalls have to use fire-resistant materials. Encouraged by the departments, the hawkers added innovative elements to their new stalls to increase their appeal and improve their functionality.

Within the first 1.5 years of the 5-year Hawker Assistance Scheme, the departments and all owners whose hawker stalls pose a relatively high risk have reached an agreement on relocation arrangements. Over 85% of the pitches have already been vacated. Over 45% of the hawkers have applied for financial assistance for relocation and reconstruction of stalls or for surrender of their hawker licences. The departments will continue to communicate with stakeholders and assist the remaining hawkers to reconstruct their stalls, enabling street trading and fire safety to go hand in hand.

The FEHD and the FSD hosted joint meetings to communicate with different stakeholders.
The FEHD and the FSD hosted joint meetings to communicate with different stakeholders.
Overcrowded stalls and narrow aisles in old hawker areas posed a fire threat to the local community.
Overcrowded stalls and narrow aisles in old hawker areas posed a fire threat to the local community.
During reconstruction of stalls, hawkers added innovative elements to enhance the aesthetic appeal of the new stalls.
During reconstruction of stalls, hawkers added innovative elements to enhance the aesthetic appeal of the new stalls.

解除消防安全威胁 小贩排档区展新貌
食物环境卫生署,香港消防处

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

小贩排档有很长的历史,蕴含本地小区特色,部分还成为游客景点,但由于摊檔密集、排文件区通道狭窄,为小区带来消防安全威胁。食物环境卫生署和消防处在2011年花园街排档区火警后迅速采取联合行动,巡查全港所有排档区,除了加强管理措施外,亦掌握最新、最准确的数据和实际情况,制订全面提升排档区消防安全策略。在中长期措施上,政府于2013年推出「小贩资助计划」,资助全港43个固定小贩排档区内约4,300名小贩搬迁和重建摊档,并为自愿交回牌照的小贩提供特惠金,以腾出他们的摊位,安置其他摊档。

同心同德 互利双赢

由于涉及的摊档数目众多,各区有不同的环境限制,而贩商和附近居民等又各有切身利益的考虑,增加了工作的难度。食环署和消防处锁定约500个摊档优先处理,这些摊档位于楼宇逃生楼梯出口前或妨碍消防车的救援工作,火警风险较高。两个部门联合主持会议和实地勘察近百次,与立法会议员、区议员、小贩商会代表和贩商积极沟通,本着以人为本的精神灵活变通,在不增加火警风险的前提下,尽量满足贩商的诉求。除了风险较高的排档区外,部门采取「先易后难」策略,先处理有较多空置摊位的排档区,从中累积经验,并及早展示成果,争取支持。

规划设计 焕然一新

迁置过程中,部门在得到排档区内所有贩商支持下,重新规划排檔布局,改善营商环境。重建后的摊文件除了须符合基本规格外,也须采用符合消防安全的物料。在部门鼓励下,贩商在摊文件中加入创新设计元素,优化外貌和功能,使其更为美观实用。

资助计划为期五年,在首一年半内部门与所有火警风险较高摊档的檔主已就搬迁安排达成共识,其中超过八成半已经腾空摊位,而全部排檔贩商中,有四成半已申请资助,搬迁和重建摊档或交回牌照。部门将会继续与持份者沟通,协助余下贩商重建摊档,让街头贩卖和消防安全可以并行不悖。

食环署和消防处联合主持会议,与不同持份者积极沟通。
食环署和消防处联合主持会议,与不同持份者积极沟通。
旧式排文件区摊文件密集、通道狭窄,影响消防安全。
旧式排文件区摊文件密集、通道狭窄,影响消防安全。
重建摊档时,贩商加入创新设计元素,令人耳目一新。
重建摊档时,贩商加入创新设计元素,令人耳目一新。