The New Companies Ordinance
Breaking New Ground and Facilitating Business
Companies Registry

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

The Companies Registry believes that a modernised legal framework is essential for further enhancing the regime of company registration and regulation in Hong Kong. The new Companies Ordinance (CO), which came into effect on 3 March 2014, seeks to facilitate business, enhance corporate governance, and ensure better regulation. The new CO provides a modernised legal framework for the incorporation and operation of companies in Hong Kong, and strengthens Hong Kong’s status as an international financial and commercial centre.

Enhance corporate governance and lower compliance costs

The new CO introduced various measures to facilitate business by simplifying statutory procedures and reducing compliance costs. For example, the new CO has abolished the Memorandum of Association, made the use of common seals optional, and extended simplified reporting to small and medium enterprises.

The new CO also provides an alternative court-free procedure for the reduction of a company’s capital. In the first financial year after the commencement of the new CO, 133 companies adopted the new court-free procedure to reduce their capital, representing a tenfold increase in the total number of companies which reduced their capital in 2013-2014.

Apart from this, the new CO strengthens the protection of minority investors by requiring directors to provide more detailed disclosure of conflicts of interest. The requirements were commended by the World Bank in its report on Doing Business 2015. Hong Kong’s global ranking in protecting minority investors has moved up from third to second.

Comprehensive planning ensures a seamless transition

To ensure a smooth transition to the new regime, the Registry undertook preparatory work on several fronts, including overhauling its information system, specifying a total of 92 new forms, and providing specimens of completed forms and samples of Articles of Association for the public. The Registry also provided a series of training programmes for its staff, re-engineered workflows and revised internal guidelines, thereby ensuring that the Registry’s staff are fully equipped to carry out their duties under the new CO and better serve its customers.

The Registry spared no efforts and proactively communicated with the public through various channels to promote the new law. Other than issuing circulars, guidelines and other publications, the Registry also set up a dedicated thematic section on the Registry’s website to provide comprehensive information on the new Ordinance and a dedicated hotline for answering public enquiries. In addition, the Registry organised and participated in many briefing sessions. It also engaged the mass media and professional bodies to promote a better understanding of the new CO among the public and relevant stakeholders. The transition to the new CO has been very smooth - in the first week of implementation, the usage rate of new forms for incorporation applications was close to 100%, and the usage rate of other forms also reached almost 100% upon the expiry of the 3-month transition period.

Through rewriting the Companies Ordinance, the Companies Registry has modernized our company law. This not only facilitates business, but also enhances corporate governance and ensures better regulation.

The new Companies Ordinance strengthens Hong Kong’s status as an international financial and commercial centre.
The new Companies Ordinance strengthens Hong Kong’s status as an international financial and commercial centre.
The Registry hosted and participated in over 70 briefing sessions, attracting over 16,000 attendees in total.
The Registry hosted and participated in over 70 briefing sessions, attracting over 16,000 attendees in total.
The Registry provided a series of training programmes for its staff and the service support teams to ensure a smooth transition to the new regime.

法律框架新突破 改善规管利营商
公司注册处

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

公司注册处深信,要进一步完善香港的公司注册和规管,需要现代化的法律框架配合。新《公司条例》于2014年3月3日开始实施,旨在加强企业管治、方便营商、确保规管得宜,并为在香港成立和营运的公司提供现代化的法律框架,从而巩固香港作为国际金融和商业中心的地位。

拆墙松绑减成本 企业管治更完善

新条例引进多项措施简化法定程序,令公司运作更灵活,减低为符合规定而引致的成本,以方便营商。例如新条例废除公司组织章程大纲,让公司自行选择是否使用法团印章,以及便利中小企拟备简明财务报表等。

新条例亦增设不经法院减少股本的程序,方便企业重订股本。在新条例推出后的首个财政年度内,已有133家公司采用了新程序,减少股本的公司总数较2013-14年度增加了九倍。

此外,新条例加强了对小股东的保障,要求董事更详尽地披露利益冲突。此规定获得世界银行赞扬,在《2015年营商环境报告》中,令香港在保障小股东投资者方面的排名上升一级,高居全球第二位。

周详规划 无缝接轨

为确保新条例顺利过渡,公司注册处在多方面都做了充足的准备,包括提升计算机系统,制定92款新表格,提供填表示例和公司组织章程细则模板。部门也为员工提供一系列培训,并重订工作流程和员工指引,让他们熟习在新条例下工作,以及为客户提供支持服务。

在推广新条例方面,公司注册处经由多种渠道向市民宣传。除了发出通告和指引及印行刊物外,部门在网站增设专题栏目,提供详尽的数据;同时设立电话专线,解答查询。此外,部门举办和参与多场简介会,并透过大众媒体和专业期刊等进行推广,加深公众和持份者对新条例的认识。新条例过渡情况非常顺利,成立公司新表格于过渡期首周的使用率已接近100%,其他表格于三个月过渡期后的使用率亦接近100%。

公司注册处透过重写《公司条例》,令公司法例现代化,不但营造更方便的营商环境,还加强了企业管治,确保规管合宜。

新《公司条例》巩固香港作为国际金融和商业中心的地位。
新《公司条例》巩固香港作为国际金融和商业中心的地位。
部门举办和参与超过70 场简介会,出席人数超过 16,000 人。
部门举办和参与超过70 场简介会,出席人数超过 16,000 人。
为确保顺利过渡,公司注册处为员工和服务支持组提供培训。
为确保顺利过渡,公司注册处为员工和服务支持组提供培训。