Unique Fusion of Tradition and Modernity:
Successful Revitalisation of Historic Heritage
Development Bureau, Architectural Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015

The revitalisation of the former Police Married Quarters on Hollywood Road, a Grade 3 historic building in Hong Kong, was listed as one of the eight projects under the “Conserving Central” initiative announced by the Chief Executive in his 2009-10 Policy Address. Through the coordinated effort of the Development Bureau (DEVB) and the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD), this historic site was transformed into an iconic creative centre named “PMQ. The project’s purpose is to preserve an important heritage site, which witnessed the development history of Hong Kong, while nurturing local creative design and promoting local creative industries.

Unique design and tactful fusion

The project is committed to the tactful integration of conservation and innovation. In order to preserve the historic appearance, the additional parts have adopted a transparent or hidden design, including the transparent canopy, the central exhibition hall with glass curtain walls, and the underground interpretation area. The transparent design enhances the spacious feeling and creates an unconstrained realm of imagination. For the purpose of a nostalgic feeling, the working team adopted old-style iron windows although aluminium windows are cheaper and easier for installation. The team also improved the manufacturing and the installation process for the iron windows so as to address the contemporary requirements for functionality and safety. In addition, the open corridors were retained to facilitate more interaction between designers and visitors as well as to link up various kinds of design studios. Multiple access points linking the outside and inside of the site ensure a close connection with the community, and make it a wonderful place for people from the neighborhood to spend their leisure time.

Breakthrough partnership mode for enhanced cooperation

Aiming for powerful synergies, the DEVB and the ArchSD held a value management workshop before commencement of works. This effectively brought together the operator, the consultant team, the construction team, the Antiquities and Monuments Office, and other stakeholders in building a consensus, establishing team spirit, and ensuring smooth cooperation in future.

Facing problems like tight construction schedule, complex decision-making and approval processes involving many authorities, the DEVB and the ArchSD created a brand new partnership mode as well as a synchronised workflow. They are both significant breakthroughs to the conventional relationships between bureaux and departments and the traditional linear workflow. The new partnership mode allows the DEVB, the ArchSD, the operator and other government departments to directly communicate with one another and collectively identify solutions. An example for this new partnership is that the DEVB, the ArchSD and the operator together attend meetings of the Legislative Council, District Council and Antiquities Advisory Board etc, so that they can work hand in hand to answer questions about policy, as well as design and operation based on their own professional knowledge.

The seamless collaboration between the DEVB and the ArchSD helped the entire project to be smoothly accomplished within only 3.5 years. From its opening in 2014 through the middle of 2015, PMQ has brought in over 4 million visitors, and the project earned broad attention and recognition from the media.

The transparent design creates a spacious feeling and an unconstrained realm of imagination for designers and visitors.
The transparent design creates a spacious feeling and an unconstrained realm of imagination for designers and visitors.
The design of the original iron windows is retained and their manufacturing and installation methods have been improved. These old-style iron windows create a sense of nostalgia for the old Hong Kong.
The design of the original iron windows is retained and their manufacturing and installation methods have been improved. These old-style iron windows create a sense of nostalgia for the old Hong Kong.
The design of the original iron windows is retained and their manufacturing and installation methods have been improved. These old-style iron windows create a sense of nostalgia for the old Hong Kong.
The project preserved the Central School’s stone wall as well as the stone wall trees in order to improve the environment at the community.
The project preserved the Central School’s stone wall as well as the stone wall trees in order to improve the environment at the community.

匠心独运糅合新与旧 赋予历史建筑新生命
发展局,建筑署

卓越服务@政府
2015

荷李活道前已婚警察宿舍为三级历史建筑,在2009-10年的《施政报告》中,被列入「保育中环」政策下的八大项目。发展局和建筑署合作把这组历史建筑改造成为标志性的创意中心,命名为「元创方」(PMQ),以保存见证香港发展的重要遗迹,并同时培育本土创意设计,推动创意产业。

特色设计 兼容并蓄

这个项目致力融合保育与创意元素。为了保存历史风貌,增建的部分采用通透或隐藏式的设计,如透明天幕和采用玻璃幕墙的内庭展览厅,以及地下展览室等。通透的设计还可以加强空间感,创造广阔的想象空间。工作团队为了营造怀旧风格,弃用较便宜和易于安装的铝窗而选择采用旧式铸铁窗,并改良传统铸铁窗的制造和安装方法,以符合现代功能和安全上的要求。另一方面,为了鼓励设计师和访客的交流,建筑设计上保留了开放式走廊,以连系不同领域的设计工作室。项目范围对外也四通八达,与小区保持紧密联系,成为坊众休憩的好去处。

模式突破 高效合作

为有效发挥协同效应,发展局和建筑署在项目开展前举办「价值管理工作坊」,邀请营运机构、设计团队、施工队、古物古迹办事处和其他相关持份者进行交流,让各单位凝聚共识,建立团队精神,使日后的合作更顺畅。

面对工期短、决策和审批涉及众多单位等的难题,发展局和建筑署突破传统的局署层级关系和线性工作流程,改为采用团队合作模式和同步工作流程,让发展局、建筑署、营运者及其他政府部门直接沟通,一起找出解决方案。例如发展局、建筑署和营运机构一同出席立法会、区议会、古物咨询委员会等的会议,运用各自的专业知识携手解答会议上有关政策、设计和运作上的提问。

局署在这个项目中合作无间,令整个工程计划在短短三年半内顺利完成。元创方自2014年起营运至2015年中已吸引超过400万人次参观,项目备受媒体关注和肯定。

通透的设计为设计师和访客创造广阔的视觉和想象空间。
通透的设计为设计师和访客创造广阔的视觉和想象空间。
工程保留了建筑物原有的铁窗,并改良制造和安装方法。这些旧式铁窗让人重拾昔日的情怀。
工程保留了建筑物原有的铁窗,并改良制造和安装方法。这些旧式铁窗让人重拾昔日的情怀。
工程保留了建筑物原有的铁窗,并改良制造和安装方法。这些旧式铁窗让人重拾昔日的情怀。
项目保育了中央书院的毛石墙和石墙树,有助改善小区的环境。
项目保育了中央书院的毛石墙和石墙树,有助改善小区的环境。