Save Those in Distress and
Protect the Community
Hong Kong Fire Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

The Hong Kong Fire Services Department (FSD) shoulders the responsibilities of fighting fires and carrying out rescue operations. In addition to sincerely serving every citizen with compassion, the FSD also strives to improve communication with people from all walks of life.

Emergency preparedness with care and compassion

Regardless of the identity of the callers or the type of assistance required, the staff from the FSD professional teams serve them in an equal and dedicated fashion. The Fire Services Communications Centre operates day and night, and whenever a fire alarm or casualty report is received, the FSD will deploy manpower and equipment to the scene as soon as possible to carry out rescue work. The Centre receives numerous calls each day, and most cases are very urgent. The staff not only need to collect case related information in the shortest time, but also need to provide appropriate counselling to keep the callers calm and to avoid further deterioration of the situation.

The ambulance crews treat many injured people every day, and showing them compassion and concern is as important as treating the injuries. Therefore, the FSD focuses on not only the efficiency of rescues but also the quality of services. Through various in-house training programmes and activities, the FSD encourages the frontline staff to serve the public wholeheartedly.

As much of rescue work is very challenging and places great demands on the staff’s skills and experience, the staff must undergo rigorous training before they can be unfazed in challenging situations. A member of the High Angle Rescue Team was once injured while on duty. After assessing his own condition and considering the consequences of not continuing the operation, he decided to proceed with the rescue work untreated and completed the mission, which fully embodied the fire fighters’ spirit of saving people first.

A positive public image built on community service

The FSD also spares no effort in community service. The department, along with the non-profit organisation Breakthrough and the Chinese University of Hong Kong, jointly organised the Path-finding Adventure Project which arranges fire fighters to meet and accompany youth. The mentors are fire fighters who volunteer their time during off-duty hours without pay. They receive training from social workers on helping teenagers to learn and grow. Under this project, young people can learn from the exemplary fire fighters, through their perseverance, tenacity and spirit of self-sacrifice, in order to cultivate discipline, teamwork and the ability to face adversity. The project also allows youth to visit the fire stations, and let the fire fighters share their advice on how to approach the ideal career path through continuing education, so as to encourage young people to find a direction for learning based on their own interest and strengths and therefore to create their own future.

Over the years, the FSD has built a remarkable public image, not only by providing the public with the people-oriented professional services, but also by serving the community through diverse channels.

Hong Kong people are deeply impressed with the heroic deeds of fire fighters, who  are exemplary role models for the youth.
Hong Kong people are deeply impressed with the heroic deeds of fire fighters, who are exemplary role models for the youth.
Having genuine care for the patients, ambulancemen serve each of them from the bottom of their heart.
Having genuine care for the patients, ambulancemen serve each of them from the bottom of their heart.
The Fire Services Communications Centre, manned round the clock, is responsible for mobilising resources in emergencies to conduct firefighting and rescue missions, and provide ambulance services.
The Fire Services Communications Centre, manned round the clock, is responsible for mobilising resources in emergencies to conduct firefighting and rescue missions, and provide ambulance services.

救灾扶危 为民解困
香港消防处

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

香港消防处肩负灭火和救援使命,除了以真诚与关怀的态度服务每一位市民,处方还透过不同活动,深化与各阶层市民的沟通。

尽心关爱 时刻候命

消防处辖下设有各支专业队伍,不论求助者的身份或求助的类型,员工都以一视同仁的态度,尽心竭力地为他们服务。消防处通讯中心全日运作,每当接获火警或伤病者报告时,处方都会尽快调配人手和装备前往现场,进行救援工作。中心每天接到的求助电话多不胜数,而且大部分的情况都非常紧急。职员不但要在最短时间内收集求助事件的资料,还需给予求助者适当的心理辅导,让他们保持冷静,避免情况进一步恶化。

救护人员每天接触到不同的伤者,除了为伤者处理伤势外,救护人员的同理心和关怀对彷徨的伤者同样重要。因此,处方不但着重救援效率,还讲求优质服务,透过各项内部培训计划和活动鼓励前线人员由心出发,服务市民。

不少救援工作极具挑战性,对员工的技术和经验要求极高,因此他们必须接受严格训练,才可临危不乱。曾有高空拯救专队队员在执行任务时受伤,但在评估自己伤势和权衡利弊之后,负伤完成拯救工作,充分体现消防人员以救人为先的精神。

形象正面 关心社群

消防处在小区服务方面也不遗余力。处方与突破机构和香港中文大学合办「创路雄心」计划,安排消防人员与青少年相处,陪伴他们学习与成长。担任「友师」的消防员均属自愿性质,无偿奉献工余时间,并需接受社工训练。在这个计划下,青少年可以消防员为榜样,学习他们坚毅不屈、百折不挠、舍己为人的精神,从而培养纪律、团队精神和面对逆境的能力。计划亦安排青少年参观工作机构,并由消防员友师分享自己透过持续进修,向理想职业迈进的经历,鼓励青少年按个人兴趣和专长寻找学习方向,创造自己的未来。

多年来,消防处人员不但为市民提供以人为本的专业服务,还积极透过不同渠道服务小区,树立了卓越的公众形象。

消防员英勇坚毅的形象,深入民心,堪当青少年的学习榜样。
消防员英勇坚毅的形象,深入民心,堪当青少年的学习榜样。
救护人员秉持以人为本、从心出发的态度协助每位伤者。
为救护人员秉持以人为本、从心出发的态度协助每位伤者。
通讯中心不分昼夜运作,调派人手和其他资源到事故现场,进行灭火、拯救和救护的工作。
通讯中心不分昼夜运作,调派人手和其他资源到事故现场,进行灭火、拯救和救护的工作。