Dynamic and Specialised Professionalism
Hong Kong Fire Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

Prevention is better than cure. Aside from fire-fighting, the Hong Kong Fire Services Department (FSD) attaches great importance to fire protection. To enhance the efficiency from a law enforcement perspective, the FSD has actively promoted “Law Enforcement Specialisation” in recent years.

Flexible use of resources to enhance efficacy

The FSD has been actively promoting fire safety education to increase the public’s awareness of fire protection and heighten the alertness to hidden fire hazards. Due to heightened awareness, the number of fire hazard complaints received from the public is on the rise. By adopting a forward-thinking strategy and re-deploying internal resources, the FSD established the “Fire Protection Task Force” (FPTF) and “Fire Safety Inspection Team” (FSIT) without increasing associated manpower and other resources.

Prior to the establishment of the FPTF, complaints about illicit fuelling activities or over-storage of dangerous goods were handled by two separate Fire Protection Commands as part of their duties. To enhance the efficiency of law enforcement, the 24-hour standby FPTF was formed in 2014. The FPTF comprises 16 Station Officers and Senior Firemen from the Fire Protection Commands.

The FSIT has four teams, each staffed by one Station Officer and one Senior Fireman deployed from different fire stations on a rotating basis. They are responsible for handling fire hazard complaints about fire escape obstructions from the Wan Chai District, the Yau Tsim Mong District, and the Tsuen Wan District. The FSIT frees frontline fire fighters from inspection duties allowing them to focus on operational responsibilities to suppress fires and save lives.

Sophisticated intelligence gathering initiative

Apart from handling public complaints, the FPTF also takes the initiative to gather intelligence for planned operations. Differing from past practice, officers may now wear plain-clothes to strengthen the effectiveness of their operations. Such innovative change is conducive to the FSD’s enforcement capability. Since the formation of the FPTF, the amount of illicit fuel confiscated and removed by the FSD has increased substantially, which reflects their untiring effort in combating illicit fuelling activities. In late 2014, the FPTF, acting on gathered intelligence, raided a warehouse in Sheung Shui in which enormous quantities of extremely flammable and toxic dangerous goods were stored. This was the largest case of its kind the FSD has detected. Without immediate removal of the dangerous goods, there could have been disastrous consequences in the event of any accidents.

The policy of introducing law enforcement specialisation is worth further promotion and strengthening, as it allows FSD staff to put more focus on law enforcement and fighting illegal activities as well as fire safety violations. Simultaneously it enhances their professionalism through their extensive knowledge and experience accumulated from enforcement operations.

The FSIT is responsible for handling fire hazard complaints about fire escape obstructions in districts with a large number of old buildings. The creation of the FSIT allows frontline fire fighters to focus on operations to suppress fires and save lives.
The FSIT is responsible for handling fire hazard complaints about fire escape obstructions in districts with a large number of old buildings. The creation of the FSIT allows frontline fire fighters to focus on operations to suppress fires and save lives.
In late 2014, the FPTF raided a warehouse at Hung Lung Hang, Sheung Shui, in which enormous quantities of extremely hazardous dangerous goods were stored. This case was the largest one of its kind the FSD has detected.
In late 2014, the FPTF raided a warehouse at Hung Lung Hang, Sheung Shui, in which enormous quantities of extremely hazardous dangerous goods were stored. This case was the largest one of its kind the FSD has detected.
Wearing plain-clothes is one of the new initiatives to enhance the enforcement capability and efficiency of the FPTF. The enforcement vest is specially designed so that the identity of officers can be covered by a flap.
Wearing plain-clothes is one of the new initiatives to enhance the enforcement capability and efficiency of the FPTF. The enforcement vest is specially designed so that the identity of officers can be covered by a flap.

通时达变 专精进取
香港消防处

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

灭火治标,防火治本。香港消防处除了致力灭火,还非常重视防火工作。近年更积极推行「专队化」,进一步提升防火执法的效率。

灵活运用资源 提高专业效能

随着消防处积极推行防火教育,市民的防火意识和对消防安全隐患的警觉性不断提高,有关火警危险的举报亦与日俱增。为了应对这种发展趋势,消防处作出前瞻性的部署,灵活调度现有资源,在无须增加人手及其他资源的情况下,成立「防火执法专队」和「消防安全巡查专队」。

在「防火执法专队」成立前,有关非法售卖燃油活动和贮存过量危险品等投诉,由两个防火总区的人员兼顾处理。为提升执法效率,消防处于2014年成立一支全天候24小时轮值的「防火执法专队」,该专队由防火总区内部调配16位消防队长和队目组成。

至于「消防安全巡查专队」,每队由各消防分局轮流调派一位消防队长和一位队目组成,至今已成立四队,专责处理湾仔、油尖旺和荃湾等繁忙地区大厦内走火通道阻塞的投诉,让各分局前线消防人员能专注救火救人的工作。

搜集情报 主动出击

「防火执法专队」成立后,消防处除了接受公众举报外,还会主动搜集情报、计划部署和采取行动,并同时引入便衣执法,加强行动成效。该专队着力打击非法售卖燃油活动,充公和移走的燃油数量远超专队成立以前。在2014年底,专队经搜集情报后,更成功于上水侦破本港历来最大宗的贮存过量危险品案件。涉案公司贮存了大量极度易燃、毒性强烈的危险品。若非专队及时行动,一旦发生事故,后果将不堪设想。

消防处「专队化」的方针,能让队员专注执法工作,利用累积到的知识和经验,更有效地打击违反消防安全的非法行为,值得继续推广和深化。

「消防安全巡查专队」专责处理旧式大厦林立地区的走火通道阻塞投诉,让前线消防人员能专注救火救人的工作。
「消防安全巡查专队」专责处理旧式大厦林立地区的走火通道阻塞投诉,让前线消防人员能专注救火救人的工作。
在2014年底,「防火执法专队」在上水恐龙坑侦破消防处有纪录以来最大宗贮存过量危险品案件。
在2014年底,「防火执法专队」在上水恐龙坑侦破消防处有纪录以来最大宗贮存过量危险品案件。
为加强「防火执法专队」的执法行动效率,消防处引入便衣执法。「执法背心」经特别设计,可按需要遮盖「消防」字样。
为加强「防火执法专队」的执法行动效率,消防处引入便衣执法。「执法背心」经特别设计,可按需要遮盖「消防」字样。