Enhance Psychological Resilience and
Excel at Both Law Enforcement and Services
Hong Kong Police Force

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

The police are not only law enforcement officers but also service providers. It is a challenge for modern police to carry out effective law enforcement and at the same time provide quality service. Therefore, in 2005, the Police College began implementation of “Psychological Competency Training” (PCT). The project aims to help officers develop better psychological competencies and master professional psychological knowledge, so that they can conduct effective law enforcement while providing better services.

An innovative and evidence-based approach

The PCT focuses on training needs analysis, effectiveness assessment and continuous improvement. In cooperation with university partners and drawing on the findings of research on positive psychology, the Police College developed training contents based on empirical evidence to cultivate officers’ positive emotions and psychological resilience through their lifestyles, behaviours, and habits of mind.

The training curriculum incorporates innovative methods, with video material based on officers’ real-life experiences and re-enacted by officers from different units. This resonates more clearly among the officers and makes the training closer to their hearts. The team in charge of the curriculum also creates cartoon characters to produce course contents with a more emotional touch, including animations, brochures and thank-you cards.

An evolving work culture bringing benefits on multiple levels

Influenced by the traditional beliefs, some officers still primarily value authority and operational skills, and sometimes overlook the importance of soft skills such as empathy and positive emotions. In order to change this work culture, the Police College first sought support from its instructors and supervisors, who would then affect other officers, so that everyone can understand the importance of balancing both hard and soft skills.

To sustain training results, the course is conducted in multiple phases, so that the trainees can practise their newly-acquired skills during the intervals and gradually build them into habit. According to the results of a post-training survey conducted by the Police College and the Chinese University of Hong Kong, respondents showed improvement in 18 of the 23 indicators for positive emotions and resilience immediately after the training, and ten weeks after the training significant improvement was maintained in 14 of the indicators.

The participants are from all ranks within the Force, ranging from police constables to the commissioner, and including regular, auxiliary and civilian officers. More than 700 officers participated in the pilot scheme and 15,000 officers participated in the course during 2014. They thought that the course not only helped them improve their work performance but also benefitted their relationships with family and colleagues, and most importantly, it enabled them to better serve the public.

Self-drawn cartoon thank-you cards are provided for the trainees to express gratitude to their colleagues, families and friends.
Self-drawn cartoon thank-you cards are provided for the trainees to express gratitude to their colleagues, families and friends.
The light and dynamic design of the notebooks creates a lively and positive feeling for trainees.
The light and dynamic design of the notebooks creates a lively and positive feeling for trainees.
The re-enactments in video teaching materials were done by officers from different units, which made the stories more easily resonate with trainees and foster a greater devotion to learning.
The re-enactments in video teaching materials were done by officers from different units, which made the stories more easily resonate with trainees and foster a greater devotion to learning.

加强心理柔韧度 执法与服务兼善
香港警务处

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

警务人员不但是执法者,亦是服务提供商。如何既有效执法又能提供优质服务,是现今警务工作其中一项挑战。因此,警察学院自2005年起推行「心理才能」训练计划,以期协助警务人员培养良好的心理质素和掌握专业的心理学知识,让他们可以在有效执法的同时提供更优质的服务。

实证为本 教材创新

警察学院在推行计划的过程中很重视培训需要分析、成效评估和持续改善。警察学院与大学合作,参照正向心理学研究成果,制定实证为本的培训内容,从生活、行为和思维习惯三方面入手培养警务人员的正向情绪和心理韧性。

课程教材创新,例如以同事真实经历为蓝本,拍摄处境剧,并邀请来自不同单位的人员演出,这不但增加亲切感,而且更易引起共鸣。负责课程的团队又以自创的卡通人物设计较感性的教材,包括动画、小册子和感恩卡等。

调整传统观念 多个层面受益

受传统观念影响,部分警务人员较重视权威和行动上的技能,有时会忽略了同理心和正向情绪等「软技能」的重要性。为了改变这种观念,警察学院首先寻求教官和督导管理人员的认同,再由他们影响其他人员,让大家明白刚柔并济的必要性。

为了使培训效果持续,课程分阶段进行,让学员在各课节之间实践所学,并养成习惯。根据警察学院与香港中文大学所进行的问卷调查结果,学员在23项正向情绪和心理韧性的研究指标中,有18项在培训后得到改善,而在十星期后仍有14项得到显著提升。

受训学员涵盖全警队由警员到处长的各个级别,包括正规人员、辅警和文职人员。共有700多名人员参加先导课程,而2014年则有15,000名人员参加课程。学员认为这个培训计划不但帮助警务人员改善工作表现,也对他们与家人和同事的相处很有益处,而最重要的是市民亦因而得到更好的服务。

自创的卡通感恩卡,让学员向身边的人表达谢意。
自创的卡通感恩卡,让学员向身边的人表达谢意。
课程记事簿轻松活泼的设计,增加学员的亲切感。
课程记事簿轻松活泼的设计,增加学员的亲切感。
作为教材的处境剧由不同单位的同事亲身演绎,增强学员代入感,令他们更投入学习。
作为教材的处境剧由不同单位的同事亲身演绎,增强学员代入感,令他们更投入学习。