Enthusiastic Team Striving to Excel in Service
Hong Kong Observatory

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015

The Hong Kong Observatory (HKO) moves with the times by continuing to explore new frontiers and to improve its existing services. Apart from enhancing engagement with external stakeholders, the HKO actively encourages its staff to improve the department’s service quality and fully utilises their talents.

Forward-thinking weather forecasting to facilitate decision making

With the enhancement in forecast accuracy, the HKO extended its weather forecast from seven to nine days in 2014. The weather trends are depicted through graphics on the revamped website. The service upgrade allowed earlier planning of activities based on the latest weather information.

Meanwhile, the HKO continues to promote the application of “Medium-Range Weather Forecasts” and develops specialised meteorological services through the integration of weather information with the needs of specific users. For example, in support of CLP Power's “Meter Online” service, the HKO provides up-to-date weather forecast information for subscribed users to adjust their electricity consumption plans accordingly. The service has successfully changed the electricity consumption patterns of users, resulting in higher cost effectiveness as well as energy savings. Furthermore, the HKO regularly provides weather information to elderly service providers, allowing them to allocate adequate manpower and other resources in providing timely assistance and care to the elderly in response to changes in the weather.

Encouraging in-depth exchanges and actively involving staff

The ability to improve service quality through innovation is closely related to the HKO's core values. The HKO values each and every employee, and provides channels for staff to express their opinions and make contributions. To keep up with rapid technological developments, the department sets up monthly internal brainstorming sessions to explore ideas for new services using the latest technology. Staff with insightful suggestions will receive commendations and awards, and their effort will be reflected in their appraisal reports. The HKO also sets up a forum on the intranet to encourage staff to speak their minds.

The HKO actively encourages exchanges with other government departments and organisations. Professionals and experts from different sectors are invited to the monthly management forums to share their experiences and insights, thereby inspiring the HKO staff to further improve existing services and to develop new ones. Meanwhile, the HKO also facilitates exchanges among government departments through using seminars to share its experiences in innovative services.

Through the enthusiastic pursuit of excellence by its staff, the HKO has successfully consolidated its existing services and extended its service scope. As a result, we are all better prepared for the future despite the threats of wind and rain!

HKO launched the 9-day weather forecast to provide earlier indications of weather trends.
HKO launched the 9-day weather forecast to provide earlier indications of weather trends.
HKO launched the 9-day weather forecast to provide earlier indications of weather trends.
HKO's intranet forum enables staff to speak their minds and share their thoughts.
HKO's intranet forum enables staff to speak their minds and share their thoughts.

同事热心贡献 服务精益求精
香港天文台

卓越服务@政府
2015

天文台与时并进,致力完善现有服务,并不断开拓崭新领域。除了加强对外合作之外,同时积极推动员工提升部门服务质素,充分发挥同事的才干。

天气预报更前瞻 善用信息助决策

随着预报准确度的提升,2014年天文台将天气预报的日数由七天增加至九天,并在新的预报网页中加入图像,展示天气变化趋势,让市民可以尽早掌握未来天气信息,方便安排活动。

另一方面,天文台继续提升中期天气预报的应用,将天气信息与特定用户的需求结合,开拓专门气象服务,例如利用最新的天气预报数据支持中华电力的「电表在线」计划,为参加计划的用户推算未来一星期的用电量,提醒他们调节用电策略。计划成功改变用户的用电模式,提升成本效益,收到节能效果。另外,天文台亦定期为长者服务机构提供天气信息,让他们因应天气变化,及早调配人手及其他资源,为有需要的长者提供援助并传送关怀。

齐心协力参与 广泛深入交流

天文台能够不断创新,持续提升服务质素,与部门核心价值息息相关。天文台重视每一位员工,大力为员工创造空间,提供发表意见和作出贡献的机会。为了紧贴日新月异的科技发展,天文台每月举行员工集思会,探讨如何利用最新科技开发新服务。提出卓越建议的员工会获得嘉许和奖励,而员工评核报告内也会加以记录。此外,天文台在内部网络中也开设了讨论区,让员工畅所欲言。

天文台亦积极推动员工与其他政府部门和团体交流。每月举办的管理座谈会,邀请不同界别的杰出人士和专家,分享经验和见解,从而启发天文台员工进一步思考如何提升现有服务和开发新服务。同时,天文台透过讲座与其他政府部门分享创新服务的经验,促进部门之间的交流。

天文台的同事热诚不懈、追求卓越,成功深化现有服务,并不断拓宽服务层面,让市民可以早着先机,毋惧风雨。

天文台推出九天天气预报,让市民及早洞悉天气变化趋势。
天文台推出九天天气预报,让市民及早洞悉天气变化趋势。
天文台推出九天天气预报,让市民及早洞悉天气变化趋势。
天文台内部网络讨论区让员工真情分享。
天文台内部网络讨论区让员工真情分享。