A Multi-purpose Emergency Landing Platform
to Facilitate Law Enforcement
and Rescue Operations
Hong Kong Police Force

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

Conducting rescue operations in Hong Kong and neighbouring waters is one of the duties of the Marine Police. Police officers often encounter difficulty landing ashore on remote coasts or islands when conducting rescue operations. The Multi-purpose Emergency Landing Platform (MELP), invented by one of the Region’s teams, now enables quick landings and saves precious time during rescue operations.

A unique landing platform from recycled materials

Open waters account for nearly 60% of the area of Hong Kong, and the city is home to long coastlines and more than 260 islands of different sizes. Many shorelines and islands are rather remote without any regular transportation access. When emergencies occur, police vessels often cannot get close enough to pull in to the shore. The rescue team therefore must resort to finding another way ashore and making a detour to the destination, delaying the rescue operation.

To address this, the team designed a landing platform on their own to increase the efficiency of rescue operations. The MELP is a mobile floating platform that can be towed by the police vessel to a sandbank and act as a bridge to the shore, so that rescue personnel can make easy landings and carry the injured to the vessel. Additionally, the MELP also provides added safety to the rescue personnel and the injured, and prevents unnecessary damage to the police vessel by keeping it off the rocky shores.

With a strong sense of commitment, the Marine Police team handled the whole production process of MELP by themselves by using discarded and reusable plastic floating materials cleverly. The team faced a lot of challenges in the design process. For example, the size of the platform in the initial stage did not fit every police vessel and there were not enough floating bridge materials available. However, with perseverance, the team came up with different designs, collected opinions from various parties, experimented with many models, and finally produced the current MELP within two years.

Multiple purposes, significant results

The MELP can also be put to good use in maritime disasters. For instance, people in distress can grip the ropes along the edge of the MELP to stay afloat while waiting for rescue.

From September 2014 to May 2015, the MELP has assisted lost hikers, capsized or stranded vessels in distress, and helped citizens to escape from danger. The time taken in each of these operations was greatly reduced. In addition to general rescue operations, the MELP can also be deployed during law enforcement. Since its launch, it has been used in operations such as anti-smuggling and arresting illegal immigrants. The landing platform is expected to be promoted to other relevant rescue departments to provide support for crises and emergencies on the sea.

The MELP is easy to carry and can be quickly conveyed by the police vessels to the destination.
The MELP is easy to carry and can be quickly conveyed by the police vessels to the destination.
The MELP bridges police vessels and the shore, saving precious time during landings or boarding.
The MELP bridges police vessels and the shore, saving precious time during landings or boarding.
The MELP not only enables quick landings, but also helps the injured safely board police vessels.
The MELP not only enables quick landings, but also helps the injured safely board police vessels.

多用途紧急登岸平台 为救援追捕铺砌快捷方式
香港警务处

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

在香港及邻近海域救援是水警的职责之一。警务人员在偏远海岸或孤岛进行拯救工作时,往往很难找到合适的地点就近靠岸。拯救工作分秒必争,为节省时间,水警团队自发研制多用途紧急登岸平台,破解迅速登岸登船的难题。

巧用废弃浮桥组件 搭建独特登岸平台

香港的水域占全港面积达60%,海岸线绵延,有超过260个大小岛屿。沿岸不少地点位置偏远,无任何固有交通途径可以到达。当出现突发求救案件时,往往因为案发位置不适合警轮靠岸,救援人员须另觅登陆点,绕道步行前往现场,耽误拯救工作。因此,水警团队自行设计登岸平台,提升拯救效率。平台是一组活动浮台,可由警轮运送至岸边浅滩,构成警轮与海岸之间的桥梁,让救援人员登岸,并协助伤者登上警轮。此外,登岸平台也有助保障救援人员和伤者的安全,以及避免警轮因直接泊岸而损毁。

水警团队充满使命感,巧妙利用废弃的塑料浮桥物料,一手包办整个制作过程。虽然设计过程中困难重重,例如初期的平台设计大小未能适合每艘警轮,可供使用的浮桥物料也不多,但团队锲而不舍,构思不同设计方案,积极收集各方意见,制作多种款式进行试验,最终在两年内成功做出现有的多用途登岸平台。

多种用途 成效显著

登岸平台在海难发生时也可派上用场。如有多人堕海,遇险者亦可紧握平台边沿上的多条绳索,借力浮起,等待救援。

在2014年9月至2015年5月期间,多用途登岸平台在远足人士迷路、船只求救、翻沉和搁浅事件中,协助多名市民脱离险境。当中每次救援行动所用的时间都较以往大为缩短。登岸平台用途广泛,除了用于一般救援行动外,也可方便部署拘捕行动,提高效率。自投入服务后,曾经多次用于反走私、追截非法入境者等的行动中。登岸平台未来更有望推广至其他相关的拯救部门,为海上危机和突发事件提供支持。

登岸平台便于运送,可由警轮快速运至救援现场。
登岸平台便于运送,可由警轮快速运至救援现场。
登岸平台连接警轮与海岸,节省登岸登船的时间。
登岸平台连接警轮与海岸,节省登岸登船的时间。
登岸平台不但可以让救援人员迅速登岸,还可以方便伤者登上警轮。
登岸平台不但可以让救援人员迅速登岸,还可以方便伤者登上警轮。