Build a Bonded Community by
Including More Diversity into the Police Force
Hong Kong Police Force

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

Chinese language proficiency has been a major challenge for integrating Hong Kong’s non-ethnic Chinese residents into the community. To address this issue, Yau Tsim Police District initiated "Project Gemstone", a programme that offered a series of Chinese lessons and community activities to help young non-ethnic Chinese between the age of 16 and 25 who wish to join the civil service. The project is expected to help them overcome language barriers, improve community integration and raise support for the government and the Police Force.

Tailor-made curriculum and friendly mentors

There are many non-ethnic Chinese groups living in Yau Tsim District. To more actively engage them, the Yau Tsim Police District has launched "Project Gemstone" after consulting various stakeholders. Weekly Chinese courses were designed to help students improve reading and writing skills. They were taught by an experienced Chinese language teacher who specialised in tutoring non-ethnic Chinese. The programme was supported by Police Community Relations, Yau Tsim District as well as 50 volunteer Police Officers.

The police volunteers received professional training in Chinese language instruction, and understood the focus of the courses and programme arrangements. Due to the students’ differing levels of Chinese ability, instructors prepared individualised teaching materials. An e-learning platform and mobile apps were also used to form groups for teachers and students which facilitated greater interactions and discussions. This was particularly convenient for part-time students, and more engaging for young students. Instructors were patient, and guided learners to understand the importance of Chinese language, while establishing supportive mentorship relationships. The project has shown significant results in the past two years, and students have improved their language abilities and developed a stronger sense of belonging to the Hong Kong community.

A holistic approach to developing community participation

The project focused on providing comprehensive development. In addition to Chinese language, students received direction in personal growth and teamwork. Students had the opportunity to participate in a variety of experiential activities, including marching exercises, visits to government departments, the Hong Kong Police College and other units of the Police Force. Moreover, they received hands-on experience with police operations - for example, crowd control - to gain an in-depth understanding of the work of the police and the government.

Several students of the programme have already joined the Force, including two police officers, an auxiliary police officer, and a police community liaison assistant. In these roles, they will foster a better understanding of the needs of ethnic minorities, promoting mutual understanding, and thereby building a more inclusive and participatory community which benefits Hong Kong, as a whole.

Students performed crowd-control duties during major events.
Students performed crowd-control duties during major events.
The programme offers two-hour weekly Chinese courses to improve students’ language capabilities.
The programme offers two-hour weekly Chinese courses to improve students’ language capabilities.
Adnan Kan, a student from 'Project Gemstone', completed foundation training for recruits and successfully joined the Force.
Adnan Kan, a student from "Project Gemstone", completed foundation training for recruits and successfully joined the Force.

促进种族共融 发掘警队生力军
香港警务处

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

鉴于中文语言能力是非华裔族群融入社会的一大挑战,油尖警区特意创办「宝石计划」,透过举办中文课程及各项认识小区的活动,协助年龄介乎16至25岁、有志投身公务员行列的非华裔青少年克服语文障碍,并提升他们对香港的归属感和对政府及警队的支持。

因材施教 亦师亦友

油尖警区针对区内有不少非华裔族群居住的特点,经过与不同持份者的沟通后,推出「宝石计划」。计划包括每周一节的恒常中文课程,协助学员加强中文阅读和写作能力。课程由具多年教授非华裔人士中文经验的老师任教,并由油尖警民关系组和 50 名警察义工提供协助。

参加计划的义工事前都接受过专业中文教师的培训,了解教学窍门、重点、学习编排。由于学员中文水平参差,导师特别设计不同程度的教材,务求因材施教。团队同时特设「网上学习室」,并透过手机程序成立师生群组,增加青少年学员的兴趣,提高学习的互动性和灵活性,对在职学生尤为方便。义工亦采取循循善诱的策略,帮助和鼓励学员认识中文的重要性,与学员建立亦师亦友的关系。计划实行两年来效果显著,学员除了中文水平得到显著提升之外,对香港的归属感亦大为增强。

全人发展 社群参与

计划着重全方位培育,除了帮助非华裔青年改善中文外,亦协助学员确立个人发展方向和建立团队精神。学员有机会参加各种体验活动,如步操训练,参观政府部门、警察学院和警队其他单位,以及参与人流管制工作等,深入了解警队以及政府的运作。

部分学员已经成为警队一分子,包括两位警员、一位辅警及一位警察联络助理。他们的加入令警队更了解非华裔社群需要,并且促进双方了解,从而加强小区种族共融,推动社群参与,为社会带来正面效益。

学员在大型活动举行期间参与人流管制工作。
学员在大型活动举行期间参与人流管制工作。
计划包括每周两小时的恒常中文课程,改善学员的语文能力。
计划包括每周两小时的恒常中文课程,改善学员的语文能力。
宝石计划学员简能完成入职基础训练,成功投身警队。
宝石计划学员简能完成入职基础训练,成功投身警队。