Dinosaurs – Talk of the Town
Leisure and Cultural Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

Legends of the Giant Dinosaurs, an exhibition hosted by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department's Hong Kong Science Museum during 2013-2014, has been the largest and most diverse dinosaur exhibition ever held in Hong Kong. Realistic dinosaur models, precious fossils and well-designed interactive games attracted more than 770,000 visitors, who enjoyed having a close look at the magnificent dinosaurs as if they had travelled back through time to the prehistoric world.

Finest exhibits around the world and innovative activities

In order to enrich the exhibition content, the Hong Kong Science Museum worked with 13 Mainland and overseas institutes and borrowed their signature exhibits. The exhibition hall area was expanded to 2,500 square metres. 190 exhibits were on display, among which were precious fossils including fully intact skeletons, skulls, vertebrae, feathered dinosaurs and dinosaur eggs. The way of presentation is the first of its kind, employing state-of-art technology, large multimedia animations, robotic dinosaurs, interactive exhibits, mobile applications, and more. Furthermore, the spectacular 30 metre-long robotic dinosaur became the talk of the town and an eye-opener for the public.

The museum has also published the first dinosaur comic book in Hong Kong and designed a diverse collection of activities to enhance the educational aspect of the exhibition. For example, the family programme "A Night with Dinosaurs" gave family groups the unique opportunity to stay in the museum overnight with the dinosaurs. To ensure that participants would gain the optimal experience, the museum went through careful planning and preparation. In addition to holding a briefing for parents to learn more about the programme, the team also took the initiative to conduct a trial run, playing the role of participants to test the facilities and the workflow before the programme so that any potential problems could be solved in advance.

Flexible arrangements and considerate planning

Throughout the design stage and the exhibition period, the museum team was very careful in their planning and flexible in their arrangements, and responsive to the visitors’ flow and opinions to bring about a memorable experience for the visitors. For instance, the admission waiting time was generally less than ten minutes and the display platforms were designed in such a way that visitors were free to sit down and rest.

The exhibition was very popular with the public from the start, with as many as 10,000 visitors on the first day. To accommodate such volume, the team immediately adopted a number of measures, including changing the locations of the exhibits on the first night, and putting up more notices to facilitate crowd management. In special consideration of the many child visitors, the team converted the Resource Centre into a temporary storage room for strollers.

It is the museum’s mission to promote scientific knowledge and public interest in science. The exhibition not only deepened the public’s understanding of palaeontology, but also increased collaboration with other institutions, thereby setting a prime example for the development of museums in Hong Kong.

A group of large robotic dinosaurs put on display outside the museum became the talk of the town.
A group of large robotic dinosaurs put on display outside the museum became the talk of the town.
“A Night with Dinosaurs” offered family groups an opportunity to spend a splendid night with the company of dinosaurs.
“A Night with Dinosaurs” offered family groups an opportunity to spend a splendid night with the company of dinosaurs.
The museum employed new technology to create interactive exhibits and mobile applications allowing dinosaurs coming alive.
The museum employed new technology to create interactive exhibits and mobile applications allowing dinosaurs coming alive.

穿梭时空身历侏罗纪 全城哄动掀起寻龙热
康乐及文化事务署

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

康乐及文化事务署辖下的香港科学馆,在2013至2014年成功举办了香港历来最大型和最多元化的恐龙展 ——「巨龙传奇」。逼真的恐龙模型和珍贵化石,以及精心设计的互动游戏,吸引了逾77万观众参观。观众犹如搭上时光机回到史前世界,亲睹巨龙真貌。

汇聚各地精品 活动突破创新

为丰富展览内容,香港科学馆向内地和外国共13个单位搜罗了镇馆之宝,并扩大展览厅面积至2,500平方米,展出190多件展品,当中有珍贵的恐龙化石,包括全副原大的骨架、头骨、椎骨、羽毛恐龙和恐龙蛋等标本,配合以崭新科技制作的大型多媒体动画、机械恐龙、互动展品和流动应用程序等,策展手法为同类展览中首创,而户外广场装置的30米长机械恐龙,更成为全城热话,令市民大开眼界。

馆方特别编写了香港首本关于恐龙的儿童漫画故事书,并设计了多元化的活动,以加强展览的教育意义。当中包括别开生面的「恐龙夜派对」亲子留宿活动,让家长和子女一尝睡在恐龙脚边的滋味。为使参加者得到最佳体验,馆方细心筹划,除了特别在活动前举行「茶会」,让家长了解活动内容,团队还主动于活动举行前在馆内试验留宿,测试设施及运作流程,解决潜在问题。

灵活变通 体贴观众

从策划阶段到展览期间,科学馆团队都缜密考虑、灵活变通,因应展览人流及访客意见作出适切安排,务求为观众带来愉快参观体验。例如一般轮候入场时间少于十分钟;而场内展台的设计也可让观众随意坐下休息。

展览自开幕起即广受市民欢迎,首天已有多达一万人参观,团队迅速采取多项措施,包括于开展当晚立即更改部分展品位置和增加告示,令人流更畅顺。馆方又因应大量年幼参观者的需要,把资源中心改建为临时衣物间,以供寄存更多婴儿车。

馆方肩负着推广科学知识和激发公众兴趣的使命,任重道远,这次展览不但加深了市民对古生物的认识,更促进了与外地机构的交流,为香港博物馆的发展开创高峰。

栩栩如生的户外机械恐龙成为城中焦点。
栩栩如生的户外机械恐龙成为城中焦点。
「恐龙夜派对」活动让家长和子女在恐龙陪伴下欢度一晚。
「恐龙夜派对」活动让家长和子女在恐龙陪伴下欢度一晚。
科学馆团队利用新科技制作互动展品和应用程序,让恐龙活现。
科学馆团队利用新科技制作互动展品和应用程序,让恐龙活现。