HOLISTIC COMMUNICATION STRATEGY TO BUILD A COLLABORATIVE NETWORK
Hong Kong Police Force

Exemplary Services@Gov
2017
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

The Hong Kong Police Force (HKPF) has always attached great importance to communication and collaboration with the public whose support and cooperation allows its officers to do more with less. To cope with the needs of different community groups, HKPF has implemented various communication strategies for better community engagement.

CONNECT DIFFERENT COMMUNITY GROUPS, EXPAND ONLINE SERVICES

HKPF communicates with different community groups through various channels. For example, the Police Community Relations Office in each district maintains close communication with key district stakeholders. As a growing partner among many youths of Hong Kong over the decades, the Junior Police Call scheme has been continuously developed and currently has over 180,000 members. The Senior Police Call scheme, which targets the elderly, has attracted 8,000 members within only a few years of operation. These two schemes have greatly contributed to conveying crime prevention messages to the community and built mutual trust and partnership between the police and the public.

With the rapid development of the internet and to cater to the needs of netizens, HKPF has launched various social media platforms to enhance external communications. The online platforms provide the community with updated police information in a timely manner and share interesting or exclusive information with online users. For example, a photo capturing the bomb disposal operation of a 500 lb bomb found in Pok Fu Lam earlier this year has been shared on HKPF’s social media platforms to provide citizens with glimpses of the police’s activities inside the cordoned-off area.

ENHANCE MUTUAL TRUST AND CREATE A WIN-WIN SOLUTION

HKPF actively engages the public and communicates about its work in a transparent way by using social media platforms. For example, its Facebook page features the Briefing Support Unit (BSU), which assists in criminal investigations and court hearing. It does this by producing stereoscopic scale models of landmarks to re-enact crime scenes, thereby facilitating the understanding of the cases.

HKPF also values its partnership with the media. The Force Media Liaison Cadre (FMLC) was established in December 2015. It has about 190 members from different units who are responsible for on-the-ground media activities. They facilitate press activities without interrupting frontline officers’ operational roles, and also identify the most appropriate time and location for media interviews or other related activities. This ensures that both sides can complete their work in an efficient and effective way.

HKPF also actively organises media sharing sessions for police officers, especially frontline officers, from the Regions and 24 Police Districts to meet and interact with members of the media, and also share experiences and mutual challenges. For example, they gave tips on avoiding pepper spray which is sometimes used during police operations at public demonstrations. The participants found these sessions useful because they foster better understanding and enhance collaboration.

With its holistic strategies, HKPF facilitates co-operation between the police and the public. This public recognition motivates police officers to strive for excellence and to serve the community with dedication.

Officers of Explosive Ordnance Disposal Bureau found a 500 lb bomb in Pok Fu Lam.  The police posted an exclusive photo on its social media platforms straight away.
Officers of the Explosive Ordnance Disposal Bureau found a 500 lb bomb in Pok Fu Lam. The police posted an exclusive photo on its social media platforms straight away.
BSU produces a detailed scale model of a landmark to assist with the criminal investigation and the court hearing of a major case.
The BSU produces a detailed scale model of a landmark to assist with the criminal investigation and the court hearing of a major case.
More than 190 members from different units form FMLC. They play a mediating role between HKPF and the media.
More than 190 members from different units form the FMLC. They play a mediating role between HKPF and the media.

全方位沟通 共建合作网络
香港警务处

卓越服务@政府
2017
JW Player goes here

市民的支持和配合可以使警方的工作事半功倍,因此香港警务处一向十分重视警民之间的沟通合作。处方因应各个社群的需要,采用不同沟通策略,务求取得更佳成果。

连结不同社群 扩展网上平台

警方利用多种渠道与不同社群沟通。例如于各警区设立「警民关系组」,与地区代表保持紧密联系。此外,陪伴许多人成长的「少年警讯」也不断发展,会员人数已达18万。至于以长者为对象的「耆乐警讯」,虽然成立只有数年,但已有超过8,000位会员。两个组织除了对宣扬灭罪讯息有很大帮助外,也让警方与市民建立了深厚的互信和伙伴关系。

为配合网络世界的发展和照顾网民的需要,警方近年亦进一步借助社交媒体平台与外界沟通。网上平台能够迅速发布消息,亦可分享一些有趣或难得一见的资讯。早前薄扶林发现重达500磅的战时炸弹,就有赖现场同事协助拍摄照片再经社交平台发放,市民才可一睹封锁线内的实况。

此外,新条例加强了对小股东的保障,要求董事更详尽地披露利益冲突。此规定获得世界银行赞扬,在《2015年营商环境报告》中,令香港在保障小股东投资者方面的排名上升一级,高居全球第二位。

增进了解 共建互信缔双赢

警方亦积极透过社交媒体等平台向市民介绍警务工作,以增加透明度,例如曾于香港警察面书专页介绍「训令支援组」。该组别协助制作实景比例模型,重现案发现场情况,以协助案件调查和审讯工作,让案情更容易掌握。

警方也十分重视与传媒的合作,于2015年年底特别成立了「警察传媒联络队」,由190多位来自不同单位的同事兼任,以支援传媒采访工作。一方面避免采访影响警方行动,另一方面也顾及传媒的需要,找出最合适的采访时间和地点,让双方都能顺利完成任务。

此外,处方更主动举办传媒交流活动,安排总区及24 个警区的警务人员,特别是前线同事,与传媒工作者会面交流,让双方各自讲解工作需要及面对的困难,例如在处理群众冲突的行动中,警员和记者如何避免「误中胡椒喷雾」。参加交流的警务人员和记者都认为可以加深相互的了解,从而促进合作。

警务处采用全方位的策略,致力促进警民合作。市民的认同也激励了同事,让他们更投入工作,竭诚为市民服务。

爆炸品处理课于薄扶林发现战时大型炸弹。警方把独家照透过社交媒体平台即时发放。
爆炸品处理课于薄扶林发现战时大型炸弹。警方把独家照片透过社交媒体平台即时发放。
训令支援组制作精细实景模型,协助重大案件的调查和聆讯
训令支援组制作精细实景模型,协助重大案件的调查和聆讯
由不同单位同事兼任的「警察传媒联络队」成员达190多人,担当警方与传媒之间的桥梁。
由不同单位同事兼任的「警察传媒联络队」成员达190多人,担当警方与传媒之间的桥梁。