EVER-EXPANDING VISION RESULTS IN POPULAR SERVICE OFFERINGS
Hong Kong Observatory

Exemplary Services@Gov
2017
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

Always mindful of the specific needs of the public and serving them with passion, the Hong Kong Observatory (HKO) has developed brand new and personalised services through innovative use of technology. Page views on HKO’s website, including views on the “MyObservatory” mobile application, exceeded 100 billion in 2016. Such an outstanding achievement is a recognition of the highly popular services provided by HKO.

TAILORED SERVICES CATERING FOR DIFFERENT USERS

With a wide range of weather-related needs from across the community, HKO launched a variety of special services. For example, the “Weather Information for Outdoor Photography” webpage was designed as a one-stop portal to provide information on the latest weather conditions to dedicated photographers and let them plan their activities. The “Hong Kong Weather Information for Tourists” website has the latest weather information and detailed weather forecasts for various tourist attractions in Hong Kong. It is a useful travel planning tool which is very much appreciated by the tourism sector.

Considering the large variations in rainfall at different locations in Hong Kong, HKO launched the “Announcement on Localised Heavy Rain”, which allows people in affected areas to take precautions. The “MyObservatory” mobile application has also been extended to wearable devices such as smart watches.

STAY TUNED AND RESPOND TO HOT TOPICS IN TOWN

Information can be rapidly distributed online. Weather-related news, articles or rumours can easily go viral and spread across the whole community almost instantly. It is therefore no longer possible to rely on conventional ways of communication to keep pace with fast-changing events. Through the online “Weather Note”, HKO explains weather-related hot topics and conveys correct weather information in an easily understandable and light-hearted way. To ensure a timely response, the internal clearance process within the department for issuing these messages has also been streamlined.

HKO aims to establish a culture of learning, innovation and service among its staff through various initiatives. A “Staff Suggestion Scheme” and a “Letter of Commendation by the Director” were introduced to encourage staff to proactively propose ideas for service improvements. To enhance communication among colleagues, sharing platforms such as “Virtual Forum” on the intranet, a Yammer network as well as a WhatsApp group called “Public Communication Strategy” were created. Externally, HKO makes use of different channels to receive feedback. For instance, it organises consultation meetings with different groups of stakeholders to understand their needs and to gauge the usefulness of its services. It also invited experts and professionals from different sectors to form an “HKO Strategic Advisory Committee” to comprehensively review HKO's services from different perspectives. Opinions are also effectively gathered from “Friends of the Observatory”, which has more than 10,000 members.

By analysing feedback from all relevant stakeholders, keeping abreast of the latest technologies and setting out long-term development strategies and targets, HKO is committed to continuous innovation and improvement of its services.

The “Weather Note” clarifies dubious information in a timely way to avoid public confusion.
The “Weather Note” clarifies dubious information in a timely way to avoid public confusion.
The total page views of the HKO homepage and “MyObservatory” mobile application exceeded 100 billion in 2016.
The total page views of the HKO homepage and “MyObservatory” mobile application exceeded 100 billion in 2016.
 “MyObservatory” is now available on smart watches, offering the latest weather information.
“MyObservatory” is now available on smart watches, offering the latest weather information.

扩展视野 服务备受青睐
香港天文台

卓越服务@政府
2017
JW Player goes here

天文台本着用心服务的精神,以创新科技,开发崭新和贴身服务,照顾市民大众的不同需要。天文台的服务使用率极高,2016年天文台网站的浏览量突破一千亿页次,当中包括提供个人化定点天气服务的「我的天文台」流动程式浏览页次。卓越成果印证天文台的服务备受社会各界认同和欢迎。

细化服务 满足不同需要

天文台针对不同社群需要,推出多项专用服务,例如为摄影爱好者提供一站式「户外摄影天气资讯网页」,让他们更有效地掌握最新的天气状况及计划他们的活动。另外,「香港旅游天气资讯网站」提供本港多个旅游景点的详细天气状况及预测,旅游业界一致认为是计划行程的好帮手。因应香港各区雨量可能出现不均匀的情况,天文台推出「局部地区大雨报告」,让受大雨影响地区的市民做好应变措施。此外,「我的天文台」流动程式亦已推展至智能手表等可穿戴的装置上。

紧贴舆情 参与城中热话

网络信息流通迅速,与天气有关的新闻、议题或谣言可在短时间内传遍整个社会。依赖传统方式发放的信息未必能够紧贴事态的急剧发展,因此天文台在网上推出「天气随笔」,以轻松的笔触和深入浅出的方式,谈论与天气有关的热门话题,传递正确的天气信息和气象知识。为增强时效性,部门更精简了内部批阅过程,令信息尽速发放。

天文台从多方面着手,建立学习、创新和服务的部门文化,例如透过「员工建议书计划」和台长嘉奖信,鼓励员工主动提出建议和改进服务;又设立「我有嘢讲」内部网页、 Yammer和「公众沟通策略」WhatsApp 群组等共享平台,以增进同事之间的互动与协作。对外方面,天文台善用不同渠道收集意见,例如为不同类别的用户举行咨询会议,了解服务的需求和应用成效;又邀请不同界别的学者和专家组成「天文台策略咨询委员会」,多角度审视天文台服务。至于拥有逾万名会员的「天文台之友」组织,也是收集广大市民意见的有效途径。

天文台综合分析各方意见,掌握最新的用户需求和科技趋势,制定天文台长远发展策略和目标,务求不断创新、与时并进

根据世界银行公布的《2017年全球营商环境报告》,香港在「便利营商」方面的全球排名居于第四位,在「开办企业」方面则升至第三位。公司注册处的努力获得各方肯定,成绩有目共睹。

「天气随笔」适时澄清传言,避免市民受到误导。
「天气随笔」适时澄清传言,避免市民受到误导。
天文台网站及「我的天文台」应用程式在2016年总浏览量突破千亿网页数
天文台网站及「我的天文台」应用程式在2016年总浏览量突破千亿网页数
「我的天文台」已进驻智能手表,时刻为你提供最新天气资讯。
「我的天文台」已进驻智能手表,时刻为你提供最新天气资讯。