DROPS • LIVABILITY
Drainage Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2017
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

GOING THE EXTRA MILE WITH FLOOD PROTECTION

Happy Valley and its neighbourhood are low-lying areas flanked by hills. In the past, heavy rains triggered frequent flooding, which had a significant impact on the public. To protect people from the risk of floods, the Drainage Services Department (DSD) developed an innovative scheme to enhance flood protection in the district.

INNOVATIVE AND SUSTAINABLE DESIGN

The project team installed a stormwater storage tank underneath the Happy Valley Recreation Ground. During heavy rains, the tank temporarily stores excessive stormwater. Conventional drainage improvement schemes in urban areas are normally upgraded in-situ and in a large scale. In comparison, building a storage tank and storing flood water below ground greatly reduces disruptions to traffic flows and the general public.

The stormwater storage tank features a movable weir, which is a mechanism deployed by DSD for the first time. The weir’s opening, closing and overall positioning are automatically adjusted according to the real-time information on tidal levels as well as the water levels in the drainage culvert upstream and downstream. This mechanism allows stormwater overflow into the storage tank at the optimal time. The tank’s design also incorporates a sizeable water harvesting system that collects groundwater and rainwater. After undergoing some simple treatment, the water can be used for irrigating the Happy Valley Recreation Ground and for toilet flushing, thereby conserving water resources. These features ensure that the project is sustainable and in line with the concept of “Sponge City”.

SERVICE-DRIVEN CUSTOMISED DESIGN FOR THE COMMUNITY

Constructing the underground stormwater storage tank required the temporary closure of certain parts of the heavily-used Happy Valley Recreation Ground facilities. Residential buildings, schools, places of worship, etc. are all located near the area. During race days, there are also heavy people and traffic flows. The project team maintained very close communication with various stakeholders through visits, presentations, workshops, on-site interviews, etc. to gather their views and understand their needs for better construction arrangement.

A stormwater storage scheme requires the construction of support facilities above ground such as a fan room and a pump house. The project team customised the design to make optimal use of the site in the interest of the public. With an environment-friendly design, the ground floor of the fan room is opened up as a public amenity. The pump house is covered by a lawn, providing a comfortable outside area for fun and game watching.

During the construction of the stormwater storage tank, relevant departments considered that the recreational facilities at the Happy Valley Recreation Ground needed to be refurbished. DSD was requested to take on this task, which would be a sizeable and unfamiliar project for the department. It also would significantly increase DSD’s overall workload. However, by accepting this request DSD was able to minimise public inconvenience from repetitive construction works on the recreation ground, and also provide people with the refurbished facilities earlier. Going the extra mile for the benefit of the public, the project team took on the work and completed it to everyone’s satisfaction.

Going the extra mile, drop by drop, the project team consolidates stakeholders’ support and the fruit of joint efforts, bringing the project smoothly towards the goal of “Smart Drainage•Green Living”: flood protection and a more livable environment in tandem.

The movable weir only opens during heavy rains to better utilise the storage tank’s capacity. The tank is designed to be relatively shallow.After it stops raining, the weir is opened again, allowing one-third of the stored stormwater to be discharged using the water’s gravity.  This reduces the need for pumps and saves energy.
The movable weir only opens during heavy rains to better utilise the storage tank’s capacity. After the rainstorm has subsided, the weir can be further lowered. This coupled with the shallow tank design, allows one-third of the stored stormwater to be discharged by gravity. This reduces the need for pumping and saves energy.
The underground stormwater storage tank has a capacity of 60,000 m3, which is equivalent to the volume of 24 standard-sized swimming pools.
The underground stormwater storage tank has a capacity of 60,000 m3, which is equivalent to the volume of 24 standard-sized swimming pools.
The brown building is the fan room.  The pump house is situated under the slanting lawn.
The brown building is the fan room. The pump house is situated under the slanting lawn.

点滴 • 宜居
渠务署

卓越服务@政府
2017

防洪任务 多行一步造福社区

跑马地一带背靠山岭、地势低洼,过往在暴雨期间经常发生水浸,严重影响市民。为保障大众安全,渠务署构思了创新的方案,以提升整区防洪能力。

崭新构思 善用资源

工程团队选定跑马地游乐场地底,建造蓄洪池暂存暴雨期间过多的雨水。相对于在闹市中大规模扩建渠管的传统防洪方案,蓄洪方式大大减少工程对市民及交通的影响。

在工程设计上,蓄洪池配备渠务署首次采用的智能水闸,实时测量上下游雨水渠道内水位与海潮高度,即时自动调节水闸的开合幅度,确保蓄洪池发挥最大的防洪功能。蓄洪池还附有大型水资源采集及回用系统,所收集的地下水和雨水,只需简单处理便能用作灌溉跑马地游乐场内各项设施和冲厕,可以节约水资源。这些设计特点,令工程更符合可持续发展及「海绵城市」的理念。

因地制宜 与社区共融

地下蓄洪池建造期间需要暂时封闭跑马地游乐场部分设施,这些设施使用者众多,而附近又有不少民居,以及学校和教堂等等,尤其在赛马日,人流及活动均非常频繁。工程团队与各方持份者保持紧密沟通,透过探访、讲座、工作坊和街头访问等多个渠道,直接了解他们的想法和需要,让施工安排更加贴心。

蓄洪池有一些延伸至地面的配套设施,包括风扇房和泵房。团队因地制宜,采用环保建筑设计,将风扇房的地面空间开放予公众作休憩地方,并以小草坡覆盖泵房,不但令环境翠意盎然,更提供了玩乐和观球的好地方。

在工程进行期间,跑马地游乐场内的康乐设施亦同时需要大规模翻新,有关部门希望工程团队能同时肩负起这项工作。虽然工程量会大增,但考虑到可避免在游乐场内重复施工,大大减少对市民造成的不便,亦让公众能早日享用新设施,团队破格一并承接这些渠务署以前未处理过的康乐设施工程,并确保工程顺利完成。

团队成员抱着「多行一步」的信念,凝聚持份者支持和点点滴滴成果,令工程顺利完成,达到「蓄洪拓源•绿建宜居」的目标——为市民提供防洪保障,同时建设更宜居的环境。

当雨量增多,蓄洪池水闸才会打开储水,以善用池内空间。蓄洪池采用浅缸设计,在暴雨后水闸可进一步降下,配合蓄洪池的浅缸设计,让池内三分之一的雨水自然流走,减少使用水泵排水,节省能源。
当雨量增多,蓄洪池水闸才会打开储水,以善用池内空间。蓄洪池采用浅缸设计,在暴雨后水闸可进一步降下,让池内三分之一的雨水自然流走,减少使用水泵排水,节省能源。
地下蓄洪池容量达6万立方米,相当于24个标准游泳池。
地下蓄洪池容量达6万立方米,相当于24个标准游泳池。
棕色建筑物为风扇房,泵房则位于草坡下面。
棕色建筑物为风扇房,泵房则位于草坡下面。