UNDERSTANDING AND EMPATHISING WITH THE NEEDS OF THE PEOPLE
Hong Kong Fire Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2017
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

The mission of the Hong Kong Fire Services Department (FSD) is to protect the lives and property of people. To accomplish this, FSD needs not only professional knowledge, rigorous training and advanced equipment, but also close collaboration with the public. Therefore, FSD always attaches great importance to communication with the public to achieve service excellence.

ENHANCING INFORMATION DISSEMINATION AND IMPROVING MEDIA COMMUNICATION SKILLS

FSD handles a lot of emergencies every day, many of which attract public and media attention. FSD must work against time to update the public with accurate information to prevent miscommunication and panic, especially when unverified news can go viral through the well-developed social media. In the emergency rescue of frost chasers in Tai Mo Shan in January 2017, FSD specially made more media announcements in view of public concern to provide up-to-date information about the situation on-site.

FSD also strengthened internal training on media skills to enhance cooperation with the media. There is a simulated media conference setting in the newly built Fire and Ambulance Services Academy, where all new recruits are required to attend media training. The facility can also be used for enhancement training for serving officers.

EXTENDING FIRE SAFETY EDUCATION TO THE WHOLE COMMUNITY

FSD increases public knowledge of fire safety by launching not only community and school promotion campaigns, but also mobile applications. In addition, FSD has been proactively reaching out to the ethnic minorities through school talks to communicate the message of fire safety and invite the aspiring ones to join the team, thereby enhancing social harmony and inclusion.

FSD gauges the views of the public through the frontline staff’s daily contacts with them and other various channels such as meetings and activities of the Public Liaison Group. The Fire Safety Ambassador Scheme and the Building Fire Safety Envoy Scheme also serve as effective platforms for mutual communication.

Public support is important to the successful discharge of duties by FSD colleagues. It also boosts their morale and motivates them to overcome challenges. FSD has won the trust and recognition of the public for its excellent service and comprehensive communication strategy. Public appreciation is seen in the awards FSD has won over the years, including the Gold Prize of the Departmental Service Enhancement Award and the Best Public Image Award in the Civil Service Outstanding Service Award Scheme, and the Gold Award of the Grand Award of Customer Service Excellence presented by the Hong Kong Association for Customer Service Excellence for three consecutive years. FSD also ranked first in a number of public opinion polls.

FSD introduces its services and career information to the ethnic minorities at Career Expo and school talks, thereby enhancing social integration.
FSD introduces its services and career information to the ethnic minorities at Career Expo and school talks, thereby enhancing social integration.
The Open Day of the Fire and Ambulance Services Academy enhanced awareness of fire safety and was well received by the public.
The Open Day of the Fire and Ambulance Services Academy enhanced awareness of fire safety and was well received by the public.
Press conference simulation strengthens the media skills of frontline staff.
Press conference simulation strengthens the media skills of frontline staff.

掌握社会需求 急市民所急
香港消防处

卓越服务@政府
2017
JW Player goes here

保障市民生命财产安全是香港消防处的使命。要履行此重任,除了专业知识、严格的训练及精良的装备外,还需要与市民大众有充分的合作。一直以来,消防处十分重视与公众的沟通,务求能够提供优质贴心的服务。

加强信息发布 提升应对传媒技巧

消防处每天都要处理大量突发事故,当中不少都备受市民和媒体的关注。为了让外界掌握实况,避免误传或恐慌,消防处采取尽快回应的方针。尤其是现今社交媒体日趋发达,坊间消息往往瞬间广传,消防处在发布消息方面更加要分秒必争。以2017年1月发生的大帽山霜冻事故为例,部门明白到公众急切希望了解最新状况,故特别增加了向传媒发布消息的次数,由现场同事提供最新信息。

消防处也加强了内部培训,为同事提供应对传媒的训练,以加强双方的合作。在新建成的消防及救护学院内,设有模拟会见传媒的场景,所有学员在受训期间均需要接受这方面的训练。这些设施也可供现职同事加强相关训练之用。

消防安全教育 全面覆盖

在提升公众消防安全知识方面,消防处除了走进社区和校园,推出流动程式外,近年还主动接触少数族裔,透过校园讲座向他们灌输这方面的信息,并借此机会招募有志者加入消防处的队伍,促进社会共融。

除了从前线同事与市民日常接触中可以得知市民的需要外,消防处更透过多种其他渠道收集公众意见。例如邀请他们出席「公众联络小组」会议和活动,分享意见。此外,「消防安全大使计划」及「楼宇消防特使计划」,也是部门与市民双向交流的好平台。

市民的支持,对同事顺利执行工作非常重要,而且能鼓舞员工士气,推动他们克服挑战。凭着优良的服务和完善的沟通策略,消防处赢得了市民的信任和认同。消防处所付出的努力备受市民肯定,获得多届「公务员优质服务奖励计划」的「部门精进服务奖」和「最佳公众形象奖」的金奖,并连续三届获「香港优质顾客服务协会」颁发「卓越大奖」金奖,以及在多次民意调查中获得最高的评价。

消防处在职业博览及校园讲座上向少数族裔介绍服务及入职资讯,促进社会共融。
消防处在职业博览及校园讲座上向少数族裔介绍服务及入职资讯,促进社会共融。
消防及救护学院举办开放日,推广消防安全意识,深受市民欢迎。
消防及救护学院举办开放日,推广消防安全意识,深受市民欢迎。
模拟新闻发布情景的训练,增强前线同事应对传媒的技巧。
模拟新闻发布情景的训练,增强前线同事应对传媒的技巧。