BIG DATA ANALYSIS AND DECISION SUPPORT
Hong Kong Observatory

Exemplary Services@Gov
2017
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

USE OF ELECTRONIC INTELLIGENCE TO ANALYSE MASSIVE INFORMATION FOR DECISION MAKING

In the era of big data, the amount of available weather data has been increasing drastically. The daily amount of data processed by the Hong Kong Observatory (HKO) is equivalent to more than 150 million text pages. It is impossible for weather forecasters to deal with every single piece of data during their hectic daily schedules.

To tackle data and information overload, HKO developed the “Intelligent Meteorological Monitoring Assistant”, a system which effectively handles large amounts of information for weather forecasting.

TURNING EXPERTS’ WISDOM INTO ALGORITHMS

The “Intelligent Assistant” is an innovative system developed by HKO to emulate meteorological experts dealing with large numbers of weather data. The system utilises the experts’ knowledge and encodes it into rules and algorithms specific to local situations, which can be used to monitor the weather and automatically generate actionable suggestions. It prioritises and retains weather-related information with higher operational values among all the data collected.

The system is capable of monitoring weather reports and warnings from meteorological centres in neighbouring regions, record-breaking weather events, extreme weather, as well as inconsistent or suspicious data. When certain prescribed criteria are met, audible and visual alarms will be triggered to alert the forecasters. The system can also generate automatic reports based on rainfall data for public consumption. Moreover, staff are able to offer suggestions to improve the system algorithms and advice messages through the system-user interface. The launch of the “Intelligent Assistant” significantly reduced the forecasters’ workload, thereby taking the Observatory to the next level. At the same time, it can more effectively retain the expertise and experience of weather forecasting.

INFORMATION AVAILABLE AT A GLANCE ON THE “INTEGRATED DISPLAY”

In the past, around 200 individual weather charts were printed every day and put up on a wall in the forecasting office for review by the forecasters. To facilitate updates and save resources, HKO has built an “Integrated Information Display System” to replace the printed weather charts. This user-friendly display system consists of 15 individual 46-inch full high-definition screens. The system can display websites and television channels, connect to computers and support video conferencing. HKO also developed in-house software applications to enable the forecasters to change the displays quickly, using tablet computers, to reflect different weather scenarios such as rainstorms and tropical cyclones. It can also display different combinations of the weather information.

Compared with the wall charts used in the past, the “Integrated Display” is more flexible when showing real-time weather information. This helps the forecasters to better understand the latest weather situation. Furthermore, the system saves a large amount of paper and printing materials, and streamlines work processes. It not only reduces expenditure, but also protects the environment.

The implementation of both systems from the initial design to commissioning was managed by colleagues also engaged in forecasting , in close communication with their supervisors, users and IT technicians in order to meet everyone’s needs. Both systems have eventually become indispensable tools for HKO staff.

The “Integrated Display” brings together all available weather information which enables colleagues to fully understand the latest weather situation.
The “Integrated Display” brings together all available weather information which enables colleagues to fully understand the latest weather situation.
The “Intelligent Assistant” serves as a useful tool to forecasters through its automatic processing and analysis of weather data.
The “Intelligent Assistant” serves as a useful tool to forecasters through its automatic processing and analysis of weather data.
The “Intelligent Assistant” can automatically convert disordered rainfall data into readable text
The “Intelligent Assistant” can automatically convert disordered rainfall data into readable text

大数据分析与决策支援
香港天文台

卓越服务@政府
2017

电子智能 梳理海量信息助决策

在大数据年代,天气数据急剧增加。天文台每天的数据处理量相当于超过1.5亿页文字,天气预报员在争分夺秒的工作日程中不可能逐一消化和处理。

面对信息超载的挑战,天文台研发了「智能气象监察助理」系统,以便更有效地处理大量的天气资讯,支援天气预报工作。

传承专家智慧 化成自动演算法则

「智能助理」是天文台自主研发的系统 ,模拟气象专家处理天气大数据。系统综合专家的知识,针对香港情况,编写成具体的法则应用在天气监测上,自动产生可供执行的建议。系统会对所收集的信息进行筛选,保留其中业务价值较高者。

系统可用于监察邻近气象中心的天气报告或警告、破纪录天气事件、极端天气,以及不一致或可疑的数据。在特定情况下,会以音效和警号灯提示预报员。系统亦可按雨量数据自动编写报告,以便向公众发放。另外,同事可透过用户介面,提供关于改进系统法则及提示信息的建议。 「智能助理」的诞生,大大减轻预报员工作,仿佛为天文台带来生力军,同时亦能更有效地保存天气预报的知识和经验。

「综合屏幕」 最新资讯一览无遗

过往天气预报中心每日列印约200张天气图,并由人手挂于墙上供预报员检视。为了方便更新和节省资源,天文台制作了「综合资讯显示屏幕」,取代已往的天气图。这个显示平台由15块 46 吋全高清大屏幕组成,灵活易用,可显示网页和电视频道,也可连接电脑及进行视像会议。天文台更自主开发应用程式,让预报员可以透过平板电脑快速切换「综合屏幕」上的天气情景,例如暴雨、热带气旋,并自由组合展示不同的天气资讯。

与过往列印挂图相比,「综合屏幕」在显示天气资讯方面更具弹性,并能实时更新讯息,让预报员全面掌握最新情况。同时,亦节省大量纸张和打印耗材,以及精简工序,既减少开支,又符合环保原则。

两项设备由构思到落实,均由身兼预报员的同事领导,并与主管、用户、资讯科技人员等保持紧密沟通,确保满足大家的需要,最终成为天文台同事不可或缺的工具。

「综合屏幕」整合各种天气资讯,方便同事全面掌握最新天气情况
「综合屏幕」整合各种天气资讯,方便同事全面掌握最新天气情况。
「智能助理」透过自动化方式处理和分析天气数据,成为天气预报员的好帮手
「智能助理」透过自动化方式处理和分析天气数据,成为天气预报员的好帮手。
「智能助理」将紊乱的雨量数据,自动转换成清晰的文字说明
「智能助理」将紊乱的雨量数据,自动转换成清晰的文字说明。