Uphold Values and Focus on Innovations to
Improve Services in Various Aspects
Hong Kong Fire Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

The Hong Kong Fire Services Department (FSD) has always valued opinions of the public and various stakeholders, which are collected and analysed through different channels. It sets service targets, designs and implements new services, and improves service quality through repeated reviews so as to further protect the safety of the public and frontline personnel.

Continuous improvement with diligent precautions

Smoke inhalation and the resulting suffocation is a common cause of death in firerelated accidents. To reduce the risks of citizens and frontline firemen inhaling smoke and other toxic gases, the FSD developed the world’s first “rescuee breathing apparatus”. This light and easy-to-use apparatus serves two purposes: it can provide fresh air to the people trapped in the fire or directly supplement the firemen’s own breathing apparatus. Since its launch in 2014, the apparatus has undergone many trials in real fire accidents and has successfully aided the rescue of many citizens.

In addition to upgrading hardware such as fire equipment, the FSD also pays close attention to upgrading software as it formulates response plans and improves its staff capability in accordance with the latest social developments. For example, following the initial Ebola outbreak in West Africa, the FSD quickly took precautions and developed contingency plans to ensure the safety of the public and frontline ambulancemen. The FSD not only followed recommendations from the Department of Health and instantly enhanced its anti-pandemic equipment, but also organised large scale joint exercises with other departments to equip staff with relevant knowledge and skills so that they could be prepared in the event the outbreak spread to Hong Kong.

Increasing efficiency and dedication to public service

The FSD also actively implements reforms to ensure the best use of resources and enhance the effectiveness of its work. For example, in recent years the Department has reformed the organisational structure and set up the “Fire Protection Task Force” and “Fire Safety Inspection Teams” to improve the efficiency of enforcement without increasing manpower and associated resources.

Staff contribution and involvement is a major driver for continuous improvement of services in the FSD. In 2009 the Department launched the “Vision, Mission and Values Promotion Scheme” which provides relevant trainings to meet the needs of employees at different stages so as to incorporate the values of the Department into its services and further improve its emergency services. The scheme has produced significant results as staff at all levels have actively participated. Thematic promotional plans have enhanced frontline personnel’s understanding of the departmental values and boosted positive energy. Authentic stories that demonstrate the values are most talked about among the colleagues and motivate them to serve the public from the bottom of their hearts.

The FSD has improved the service quality in various aspects through optimisation of its hardware and software, innovations and reforms, and cultivation of an excellent culture in the Department.

“Rescuee breathing apparatus” can provide emergency fresh air to both people trapped in fires and fire fighters.
“Rescuee breathing apparatus” can provide emergency fresh air to both people trapped in fires and fire fighters.
The FSD closely monitors the outbreaks of contagious diseases around the world, formulates response plans and guidelines, and provides relevant training to its staff accordingly.
The FSD closely monitors the outbreaks of contagious diseases around the world, formulates response plans and guidelines, and provides relevant training to its staff accordingly.
Law Enforcement Specialisation has increased the effectiveness of law enforcement.
Law Enforcement Specialisation has increased the effectiveness of law enforcement.

坚守信念重革新 全方位改善服务
香港消防处

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

香港消防处多年来一直非常重视市民和各持份者的意见,积极透过不同渠道加以收集和研究分析,然后厘订服务指标,构思和落实服务,并通过反复检讨以持续提升服务质素,进一步保障市民大众和前线人员的安全。

注重创新 未雨绸缪

浓烟往往是火场的致命元凶,为减低市民和消防员在灾场受到浓烟或有害气体威胁的风险,消防处自行研发全球首创的「被救者呼吸辅助器」。一物二用的辅助器设计轻巧易用,既可提供新鲜空气予被困火场的市民,亦可实时替消防员的呼吸器紧急充气。辅助器自2014年推出以来,屡经实战考验,多次用于火场,成功帮助多名市民逃出生天。

除了消防工具等硬件外,消防处也很注重软件提升,经常针对社会最新发展,制订应对计划和提高员工的能力。例如在预防伊波拉病毒散播方面,消防处未雨绸缪,在西非爆发疫情初期,已迅速制订应变计划。处方不但配合卫生署建议,实时加强抗疫装备,亦联同各部门举办大型联合演习,让员工掌握相关知识和技能,做好抗疫准备,防患于未然,以保障公众和前线救护人员的安全。

积极革新增效率 从心出发助市民

消防处亦积极推行改革,务求善用资源,加强工作成效。例如近年处方革新编制,成立「防火执法专队」和「消防安全巡查专队」,在无须增加资源的情况下提高执法效率。

消防处之所以能不断改进服务,全赖员工的投入。处方自2009年起推行「实践部门信念计划」,配合属员不同阶段的需要,提供适切的训练,以期将消防处宗旨融入服务中,进一步完善紧急服务。计划成效显著,各级属员均踊跃参与。崭新的主题信念宣传计划,巩固了前线人员对部门信念的认知,为他们注入正能量,其中彰显部门信念的真实故事更为同事所津津乐道,鼓舞属员由心出发服务市民。

消防处通过优化部门的硬件和软件、积极革新,以及培养部门优良文化,全方位提升了部门的服务质素。

「被救者呼吸辅助器」可实时为身处灾场的市民或消防员提供新鲜空气。
「被救者呼吸辅助器」可实时为身处灾场的市民或消防员提供新鲜空气。
消防处密切留意世界各地疫情,制定行动程序和防护指引,并为员工提供抗疫训练。
消防处密切留意世界各地疫情,制定行动程序和防护指引,并为员工提供抗疫训练。
专队化提升防火执法效益。
专队化提升防火执法效益。