A Health-risk-based Index and
a Comprehensive Application for the Community
Environmental Protection Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015

The Environmental Protection Department (EPD) is committed to delivering important environmental information to the public in a professional, accurate and efficient way. As air quality is essential to public health, the EPD launched the Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) at the end of 2013 to enable the public to stay up to date with the latest air quality information for protecting their health.

An index built on multi-party collaborations that caters to different needs

The new index is based on local medical statistics. It reflects changes in air quality more instantly and reports the impact of air quality on public health more accurately. The index is reported hourly in a simple and easily understood manner on a scale of 1-10 and 10+ which is grouped into five health risk categories. It also provides health advice according to the five health risk categories for people with heart or respiratory illnesses, children and the elderly, outdoor workers, and the general public. The forecast under the new index is more detailed; it comes with separate morning and afternoon forecasts instead of a single daily forecast.

The new index was developed by renowned local university scholars commissioned by the EPD; it has been endorsed by the World Health Organisation and relevant experts. Before its official launch, the EPD held discussions with relevant policy bureaux and departments to develop a comprehensive implementation plan. In addition, the EPD has held presentations and consultations with various stakeholders, including labour unions, schools, social welfare organisations, academics, green groups and the general public in order to enhance public understanding of the operation and the application of the index.

Diverse platforms equipped with advanced information technology

The EPD has established a new online platform for publishing the index, and launched a mobile application "HK AQHI" for the public to get the latest air quality information anywhere and anytime. Users can instantly see the air quality of their current locations through the geographic information system in their mobile devices. The application also has pre-set alerts which will automatically send health risk warnings to users. The new online platform had, on average, more than 7.6 million page views per month in 2014, while the mobile application had more than 20,000 users. This shows the public’s huge demand for air quality information. The EPD has been asked to provide real time air quality information for large-scale sports events so that participants could take appropriate measures correspondingly.

The EPD provides excellent air quality monitoring services and information as well as health tips for the public. This not only helps to increase public awareness and understanding of the importance of improving air quality, but also generates greater public support for relevant policies and measures.

The EPD held over 30 briefing and consultation sessions for various stakeholders to enhance public understanding of the new index.
The EPD held over 30 briefing and consultation sessions for various stakeholders to enhance public understanding of the new index.
The public can use the mobile application 'HK AQHI' to get the latest air quality information anywhere any anytime.
The public can use the mobile application "HK AQHI" to get the latest air quality information anywhere any anytime.
The EPD collaborated with universities to set up a temporary Air Quality Monitoring Station near the Marathon’s race route to provide real-time air quality information on their website and notice boards.
The EPD collaborated with universities to set up a temporary Air Quality Monitoring Station near the Marathon’s race route to provide real-time air quality information on their website and notice boards.
The EPD collaborated with universities to set up a temporary Air Quality Monitoring Station near the Marathon’s race route to provide real-time air quality information on their website and notice boards.

健康风险为本新指数 便利社群应用更周全
环境保护署

卓越服务@政府
2015

环境保护署致力以专业、准确和快捷的方式向公众传递各项重要的环保信息。由于空气质素与市民的健康息息相关,环保署于2013年底推出新的「空气质素健康指数(AQHI)」,让市民可以更简易地掌握最新空气质素信息,以保障健康。

针对不同需要 各方参与研订

新指数建基于本港的医疗数据,能更紧贴空气质素的变化和更准确地反映空气质素对公众健康的影响。新指数每小时更新,而发布的形式简单易明,分为1至10级和10+级,对应五个健康风险级别,并且按各风险级别,为心脏病或呼吸系统疾病患者、儿童和长者、户外工作人员,以及一般市民提供相应的健康忠告。新指数的预测时段也更为精细,由全日改为上下午两个时段。

新指数由环保署委托本港大学知名学者制定,并获得世界卫生组织和相关专家的认同。在正式推出 指数前,环保署多次与相关政策局和部门商讨,制定更完善的执行方案。此外,为了让市民更了解 指数的运作和应用,环保署曾广泛地向不同持份者,包括劳工团体、学校、社福机构、学者、环保团体和市民大众等作介绍与咨询。

配合信息科技 多元发放渠道

环保署为新指数设立全新的网上发布平台,并推出手机应用程序「HK AQHI」,让市民随时随地获取 最新的空气质素信息。用户可透过手机内的地理信息系统,实时知道身处地区的空气质素。程序同时具有默认提示功能,可自动向用户发出健康风险提示。2014年,新指数网页每月平均有多达760多万浏览页次,而手机应用程序的用户则超过20,000,可见市民对有关信息需求殷切。署方也曾应邀为本地体育盛事提供实时空气质素情况,协助参加者采取适当的应对措施。

环保署提供优质的空气质素监测服务和信息,不但为市民作出健康提示,还可以让大家更明白改善 空气质素的重要性,从而支持相关政策和措施。

环保署安排了30多场简介及咨询会,广泛地向不同持份者推广新指数。
环保署安排了30多场简介及咨询会,广泛地向不同持份者推广新指数。
用户可利用手机应用程序「HK AQHI」随时随地获取最新的空气质素信息。
用户可利用手机应用程序「HK AQHI」随时随地获取最新的空气质素信息。
环保署与大学合作,于马拉松比赛赛道旁设置临时空气质素监测点,并透过网页和告示板,实时发布空气质素信息。
环保署与大学合作,于马拉松比赛赛道旁设置临时空气质素监测点,并透过网页和告示板,实时发布空气质素信息。
环保署与大学合作,于马拉松比赛赛道旁设置临时空气质素监测点,并透过网页和告示板,实时发布空气质素信息。