Tuen Mun Hydropower Plant and
The Odour Squad
Water Supplies Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here

The Water Supplies Department (WSD)'s mission is to provide an adequate and reliable supply of wholesome fresh and sea water to the customers in the most cost-effective way, as well as to remain conscious of the responsibilities towards the environment. With an extraordinary innovative effort, team spirit and special considerations of local geographic landscapes, the WSD built Hong Kong’s first hydropower plant at the Tuen Mun Water Treatment Works (WTW), adopting and utilising renewable energy as well as protecting the environment.

Turning a problem into an opportunity for cost-saving and environmental protection

Due to the rapid population growth in the New Territories West and Lantau Island in recent years, a higher water level has to be maintained in Tai Lam Chung Reservoir to ensure a stable supply of water to its associated WTW. This leads to a sustained high pressure on the inlet valves of the Inlet Reception Tank at the Tuen Mun WTW, which accelerated their normal wear and tear and necessitated more frequent maintenance. The WSD turned this problem into an opportunity and installed two hydropower turbine generators at the WTW. Water from the Reservoir is first diverted to the generators before entering the Tank, thereby transforming the residual water pressure energy into electricity and greatly alleviating the wear and tear problems of the valves. In addition to reducing maintenance costs for the valves, the use of the generators saves the WTW an electricity consumption of about 3 million kWh and reduces 2,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide emissions annually.

Overcoming difficulties one by one with teamwork

The hydropower plant at the Tuen Mun WTW is the first of its kind in Hong Kong. Due to the lack of precedents, the design and construction processes met many obstacles. With regard to the mechanical and electrical equipment, most turbine generators available in the market are only suitable for dams or rivers, but, after many rounds of research and evaluation with a partner pump manufacturer, the WSD found a special kind of turbine generator. In addition, due to the limited available space of the WTW, only an area of about 10 metres by 12 metres could be made available for constructing the hydropower plant. Therefore, the team had to resort to multi-level design for the plant, and install the equipment in two storeys in order to make the most of the limited space. The team also had to ensure that the WTW operation would in no way be affected by the running hydropower plant and they conducted comprehensive risk assessments and tests to the system to make sure the water supply would not be compromised.

The team spirit of various branches of the WSD has also been fully demonstrated in each phase of the project. The Development Division made plans for maintaining a high enough water level at the Reservoir to suit the operational need of both the WTW as well as the hydropower plant. The multi-storey building design for the plant as proposed by the Mechanical and Electrical Projects Division was adopted by the Construction Division. The Regional Operations Section and Mechanical and Electrical Maintenance Division have ensured that the operation of the WTW will not be impaired during the project as well as the operation phases of the hydropower plant.

The construction of a hydropower plant at a WTW is an innovative project not commonly found elsewhere in the world. The team has successfully overcome the hurdles and optimised the operation and the energy generation process. The experience gained will be valuable in building similar hydropower plants in future.

Due to space constraints, the hydropower plant is built with a multi-level design.
Due to space constraints, the hydropower plant is built with a multi-level design.
The first hydropower turbine generator began its operation in 2013 to provide electricity to the WTW facilities.
The first hydropower turbine generator began its operation in 2013 to provide electricity to the WTW facilities.
The operation at the hydropower plant is fully automatic, thus saving manpower.
The operation at the hydropower plant is fully automatic, thus saving manpower.

屯门水力发电站及味觉特工队
水务署

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

水务署的使命是以符合成本效益的方式为客户提供优质食水和海水,以及重视对环境保护的责任。凭着非凡创意和团队合作精神,水务署根据地理特点,于屯门滤水厂兴建香港首个水力发电站,善用再生能源,同时亦为保护环境作出贡献。

问题化机会 环保又省钱

近年,由于新界西和大屿山人口不断增加,大榄涌水塘需要经常维持较高水位,以确保相关的滤水厂得到稳定的供水,但这导致屯门滤水厂入水缸阀门长期受压,令损耗加剧,增加维修次数。水务署将问题转化为机会,在滤水厂安装两台涡轮发电机,先将水塘的水引进发电机,然后才注入水缸,把剩余水压的能量转化成电能,同时大大减轻阀门的损耗。除了减少维修开支外,每年可产生300万度电,减少发电厂因烧煤而排放的二氧化碳接近2,000公吨,符合环保原则。

众志成城 化解困难

屯门水力发电站属全港首创,由于无先例可援,项目的研发和建造过程困难重重。在机电设施方面,市场上的涡轮发电机大多只适用于水坝或河流。项目团队经反复研究和与水泵供货商探讨后,始找到合适的特殊涡轮发电机。另一方面,碍于滤水厂剩余空间有限,只可腾出约10米乘12米的空间兴建发电站,因此发电站转而向上发展,分两层安装组件,务求地尽其用。此外,团队也必须确保整项工程在不影响滤水厂正常运作的情况下进行,并安排系统接受全面的风险评估和测试,保证任何时候都不会影响食水供应。

工程各阶段都充分体现水务署各分部的合作精神。「发展部」策划调配原水,将水塘水位全年维持在较高水平,以配合滤水厂和涡轮发电机的运作需要。「建设部」采纳了「机电工程计划部」的建议,采用分层方式兴建发电站。「运作部」和「保养部」则确保工程不影响滤水厂正常运作。

在滤水厂内兴建水力发电站是全球极少有的创新工程,团队努力把问题一一克服,成功优化运作和节能减排,从中获得的宝贵经验为将来兴建更多同类水力发电站奠下良好基石。

受空间所限,水力发电站以分层方式兴建。
受空间所限,水力发电站以分层方式兴建。
首台水力发电机已于2013年投产,所产生的电力用于滤水厂内设施。
首台水力发电机已于2013年投产,所产生的电力用于滤水厂内设施。
水力发电站采用全自动化操作,节省人手。
水力发电站采用全自动化操作,节省人手。