Ingenious Use of Market Forces
to Innovate a New Elderly Service Model
Social Welfare Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2015
JW Player goes here

Hong Kong is facing an aging population, resulting in an urgent need for the government to take measures to improve elderly services, and to ensure the sustainability of these measures.

Introduce competition and let money follow the users

The Social Welfare Department (SWD) launched the "Pilot Scheme on Community Care Service Voucher for the Elderly" (“Pilot Scheme”) in 2013 to explore how to improve community care services for the elderly through a new funding model. Under the conventional model, the elderly persons are assigned to specific agencies for certain services, which in turn receive subsidies directly from the government. Under the Pilot Scheme, the government will issue a monthly voucher to each participant with a value of $6,250 for purchasing services. The elderly persons can choose their agencies from the list of recognised service providers, the type of services and the service packages. The elderly persons can also change their service providers. Thus, only service providers with good service quality can attract users and obtain funding under the Pilot Scheme.

Under the conventional model, the elderly person pays a maximum of up to around 10% of the service cost. The Pilot Scheme follows the “affordable users pay” approach that the value of the voucher includes a co-payment amount borne by the elderly persons, which is determined by their household income. Their payments range from 8% to 40% of the service cost.

Further develop the market to meet the needs of the elderly

The first phase of the Pilot Scheme has a total of 62 service providers and has created more than 950 day care service places, an increase far beyond expectation. The Pilot Scheme has successfully attracted more service providers and encouraged them to increase supply through the introduction of market mechanisms. The “money-follows-the-user” approach promotes competition among service providers, thus prompting them to continuously improve their service quality and provide services catered to the different needs of the elderly.

As of August 2015, there are 2,500 elderly persons enrolled in the Pilot Scheme. According to a study conducted by the University of Hong Kong, the majority of respondents were “very satisfied” or “satisfied” with the Pilot Scheme and think that it provides them with more choices and elevates their self-perceived health level and quality of life while reducing their caregivers’ burden. The Pilot Scheme allows users to choose services which suit their needs, bringing a positive experience that makes them more willing to receive services. The fact that about 10% of the elderly participating in the Pilot Scheme are willing to pay a $2,500 service fee (about 40% of the cost) shows that the "affordable users pay" approach can be further promoted so that public resources can be better used to assist the elderly who are most in need.

The Pilot Scheme is a bold attempt and has achieved great success. It is not only an important step towards promoting the community care service industry but also a new direction for funding elderly services.

The elderly can choose different types of services such as rehabilitation exercise, nursing care and personal care services from the Pilot Scheme.
The elderly can choose different types of services such as rehabilitation exercise, nursing care and personal care services from the Pilot Scheme.
Through the scheme, the elderly vote with their vouchers for the best service providers, actualising the “money-follows-the-user” concept.
Through the scheme, the elderly vote with their vouchers for the best service providers, actualising the “money-follows-the-user” concept.
The SWD held briefing sessions to introduce the Pilot Scheme.
The SWD held briefing sessions to introduce the Pilot Scheme.

巧妙运用市场力量 创新安老服务模式
社会福利署

卓越服务@政府
2015
JW Player goes here

香港人口持续老化,面对这个挑战,政府有迫切需要采取措施加强长者护理服务,并确保这些措施的可持续性。

钱跟人走 引入竞争

社会福利署在2013年推出「长者小区照顾服务券试验计划」,探索如何透过新的资助模式改善为长者提供的小区照顾服务。按照传统的模式,长者会获派到指定机构接受服务,政府会直接资助有关机构。在试验计划下,政府会向合资格长者发出每月价值6,250元的小区券,用以支付服务费,长者可以自由选择认可服务机构、服务类别和组合。长者在服务期内也可转换服务提供商。在这种「钱跟人走」的新模式下,只有当机构表现理想,才能吸引用家,并获得资助。

在传统模式下,用家缴付的服务费,占服务成本最多约10%。在试验计划下,小区券金额包括长者共同付款的部分。社署采用「能者多付」的模式,根据长者的住户入息厘定长者共同付款金额,占服务成本8%至40%不等。

推动市场发展 满足长者需要

计划第一阶段共有62个服务提供商参与,先后新增了超过950个日间护理名额,增幅远超预期。试验计划透过引入市场机制,成功吸引更多服务提供商,并促使他们增加供应,而「钱跟人走」的模式促进了服务提供商之间的竞争,推动他们持续改善服务质素,以及提供更切合不同长者需要的服务。

截至2015年8月,先后约有2,500位长者参加计划。根据香港大学进行的调查,大部份使用者非常满意或满意计划,认为在计划下有更多选择,并可减轻照顾者的压力,而参加的长者自我评估的健康水平和生活质素亦有所提升。计划让使用者自行选择切合自己的服务,带来正面的体验,让他们更乐意接受服务。参加的长者中有约10%愿意缴付2,500元服务费(占成本约40%),证明「能者多付」的模式可以进一步推广,让政府把资源集中用于最有需要的长者身上。

试验计划作出大胆尝试,并取得成功,为促进小区照顾服务业迈出重要的一步,亦为资助安老服务的发展开创新路向。

长者可以透过计划选择复康运动、护理和个人照顾等服务。
长者可以透过计划选择复康运动、护理和个人照顾等服务。
长者可以用小区券向提供优良服务的机构投下信心一票,实践「钱跟人走」的理念。
长者可以用小区券向提供优良服务的机构投下信心一票,实践「钱跟人走」的理念。
部门举办发布会,详细介绍试验计划。
部门举办发布会,详细介绍试验计划。