A COMPREHENSIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT STRATEGY FOR A GREENER METROPOLIS
Environmental Protection Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2017
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

Waste treatment poses a significant challenge to Hong Kong. In the past, waste was mainly disposed of in landfills, which is no longer a sustainable solution. In 2012, the Environment Bureau published Hong Kong: Blueprint for Sustainable Use of Resources 2013-2022 (The Blueprint), which sets the target of a 40 percent waste reduction. To achieve this, it is essential for Hong Kong to implement advanced waste management strategies and gradually establish “waste-to-energy” facilities, with the ultimate goal to reduce the waste disposal at landfills by 50 percent.

ADVANCED SLUDGE INCINERATION TECHNOLOGY TO REDUCE LANDFILLING

Along with the increasing population, more sludge is produced from sewage treatment. The appropriate disposal of the sludge has become a pressing challenge. The Environmental Protection Department (EPD) had been formulating strategies to solve the sludge problem since 1997. In April 2015, the first sludge incineration facility - T▪PARK, was put into operation after going through various project stages, including feasibility studies, site selection, environmental assessment, public consultations and funding application, as well as a four-year construction period.

T▪PARK is one of the largest and most technologically advanced sludge treatment facilities in the world. It is capable of dealing with the expected increase of the sludge quantity in Hong Kong over the next 15 years. The facility reduces the total sludge volume by 90 percent using its cutting-edge incineration technology through efficient combustion. Since the commencement of operation up to 1 August 2017, T▪PARK treated over 900,000 tonnes of sludge that would otherwise end up in the landfills, which is equivalent to 10% of the overall waste delivered to landfills. T▪PARK meets the most stringent international standards of flue gas emission, and effectively prevents odour escaping to the vicinity. Heat energy generated from the incineration process is recovered and converted into electricity, which not only powers the facility itself, but can also be fed into the power grid to supply up to 4,000 households. This clearly demonstrates the benefit of the “waste-to-energy” process.

MULTIPLE STRATEGIES FOR GREEN PROMOTION, MORE WASTE-TO-ENERGY INFRASTRUCTURE ON THE HORIZON

T▪PARK also features an environmental education centre which embraces educational, recreational and ecological elements. More details can be found in T▪PARK Environmental Education Centre Team. The management team of T▪PARK proactively works with various organisations to promote the culture of green living. For example, assistance was given to the M+ Rover from the M+ museum of visual culture to host in T▪PARK some roving exhibitions and creativity workshops. The centre also features upcycling workshops co-hosted with a wide range of design teams.

Following the success of T▪PARK, more “waste-to-energy” infrastructure will be made available in Hong Kong, including the Organic Resources Recovery Centre, the Integrated Waste Management Facilities in Shek Kwu Chau and a landfill gas power generation project jointly operated with China Light and Power Co. Ltd. at the West New Territories Landfill. EPD will continue to work towards the objectives outlined in the Blueprint.

The Blueprint maps out a comprehensive strategy, targets and action plans for waste management in Hong Kong.
The Blueprint maps out a comprehensive strategy, targets and action plans for waste management in Hong Kong.
As an advanced sludge incineration facility, T▪PARK greatly reduces sludge volume by 90% while the heat energy generated from the incineration process is recovered and converted into electricity, demonstrating the “waste-to-energy” concept  in action.
As an advanced sludge incineration facility, T▪PARK greatly reduces sludge volume by 90% while the heat energy generated from the incineration process is recovered and converted into electricity, demonstrating the “waste-to-energy” concept in action.
The first phase of the Organic Resources Recovery Centre will be completed by the end of 2017. It will be able to treat 200 tonnes of food waste per day.
The first phase of the Organic Resources Recovery Centre will be completed by the end of 2017. It will be able to treat 200 tonnes of food waste per day.

废物处理全攻略 绿色都会新进程
环境保护署

卓越服务@政府
2017
JW Player goes here

如何妥善处理废物,是香港面对的一个重大挑战。过往香港主要依靠堆填方式处理废物,但这并非可持续发展的方案。因此环境局在2012年制定了《香港资源循环蓝图2013 - 2022》(简称《资源蓝图》),以减废四成为目标,并采取先进废物处理策略,逐步加入「转废为能」设施,将废物堆填比例减低一半。

先进污泥焚化技术 减轻堆填区负荷

随着香港人口不断上升,污水处理过程所产生的污泥亦不断增加,妥善处置污泥成为一项严峻挑战。环境保护署(环保署)早于1997年已开始污泥处理策略研究,其后经历可行性研究、选址、环境评估、公众咨询、申请拨款等多个阶段,以及四年多的施工期,全港首个污泥焚化设施「T▪PARK[源▪区]」终于在2015年4月启用。

T▪PARK是全球最大最先进的污泥处理设施之一,污泥处理量足以应付未来15年的增长。它以高效能的焚化技术将污泥彻底燃烧及缩减九成体积。由启用至2017年8月1日为止,共减少弃置约90万公吨污泥于堆填区,约相当于运往堆填区废物的10%。 T▪PARK在烟气排放方面符合严格的国际标准,将臭味及对附近环境的影响减至最低。在焚化过程中,还能回收所产生的热能,转化为电力,不仅足以供应整个设施使用,剩余的电力还会输出至公众电网,满足4,000户家庭的用量,正是「转废为能」的最佳体现。

多元方式推广策略 环保基建相继登场

T▪PARK内亦设有一个兼具教育、休闲和自然生态保育功能的环境教育中心,详情请参阅 T▪PARK[源▪区]环境教育中心。 T▪PARK管理团队积极与不同团体合作,推广环保生活文化,例如协助西九文化区M+视觉文化博物馆的「敢探号」于T▪PARK内举办流动展览及创作教室活动,亦与多个设计团队合作举办升级再造工作坊等。

在T▪PARK这个成功先例的基础上,本港将会有更多「转废为能」的基础设施陆续落成,包括有机资源回收中心、石鼓洲综合废物管理设施,以及与中华电力合作经营的新界西堆填沼气发电项目,环保署将继续积极朝着《资源蓝图》的目标迈进。

《资源蓝图》为香港制定了整全的废物处理策略、目标和行动。
《资源蓝图》为香港制定了整全的废物处理策略、目标和行动。
T▪PARK通过先进的焚化方式处置污泥,不仅将污泥体积大减九成,还可将焚化时产生的热力转化为电能,实现「转废为能」。
T▪PARK通过先进的焚化方式处置污泥,不仅将污泥体积大减九成,还可将焚化时产生的热力转化为电能,实现「转废为能」。
「有机资源回收中心」第一期将于2017年年底落成,每天可处理200吨厨余。
「有机资源回收中心」第一期将于2017年年底落成,每天可处理200吨厨余。