SHAMSHUIPO HAWKERS’ CHARTER TEAM
Hong Kong Police Force

Exemplary Services@Gov
2017
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

NEW CRIME PREVENTION NETWORK MOBILISING THE COMMUNITY

Shamshuipo is a densely-populated older district with many open-air hawker bazaars selling a variety of goods. It has long been a shopping hot spot for locals and tourists. Hawker stalls are usually operated by individuals with relatively simple security facilities and located along crowded streets. That makes them vulnerable to criminals. As a result, Shamshuipo Police District issued the “Shamshuipo Hawkers’ Charter” in July 2014 which promotes “collaboration and mutual support”. It encourages stall owners to work together in order to combat crime and protect their and the public’s lives and property. The programme is in line with the Commissioner’s Operational Priorities to prevent quick cash crime including pickpocketing and robberies.

MAKE SURE OF HAWKER’S NETWORK TO COMBAT CRIME

Upon joining the Charter, the hawkers are encouraged to collaborate with the police to develop a broad intelligence network in the local community. Through a 24-hour designated police hotline and daily contacts with the hawkers through regular patrols, the police collect and analyse relevant information and conduct anti-crime operations. They also provide suggestions to the hawkers for better security in order to prevent crimes.

When the programme was first implemented, the hawkers were not actively involved due to relatively limited connections with the police. As such, the police works closely with the Hawkers’ Association to promote the programme in a number of ways, including Hawkers’ Association meetings and promotional activities, as well as through the Shamshuipo Police newsletter, “Police Magazine”, and a dedicated YouTube channel. The police also shares relevant cases with the members of the Association and shows appreciation to hawkers who report crimes. With this mutual trust, more hawkers are willing to join the programme.

BENEFITS TO STREET MANAGEMENT

The Charter resulted in closer relationship between the police and the hawkers. It has also become a useful platform to solve community issues, facilitate better street management of local areas and improve the community environment. Through frequent contacts and regular meetings with the Hawkers’ Association, the police can strike a balance between the interests of the hawkers, residents and tourists and also help resolve their conflicts. When receiving any complaints about environmental hygiene, noise or illegal shop front extensions, the police will work with the relevant departments including the Immigration Department, the Labour Department and the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department.

The launch of this programme brought multiple benefits to the local community. It clearly enhanced the effectiveness of preventing and fighting crime, and strengthened awareness among citizens and hawkers. It also improved the overall community environment. As of July 2017, the number of participants has tripled to 619 from the initial 172. As a result of the Charter, hawkers provided intelligence on 114 occasions, and helped break 70 cases. Because of this success, the programme has now been extended to other Kowloon West Districts, including Yaumatei, Tsimshatsui and Mongkok Police District.

Task Force members of the Shamshuipo Division communicate with the hawkers while on patrol.
Task Force members of the Shamshuipo Division communicate with the hawkers while on patrol.
The police keeps close contact with the hawkers by holding meetings with the Hawkers’ Association.
The police keeps close contact with the hawkers by holding meetings with the Hawkers’ Association.
Shamshuipo Police District conducts joint operations with other departments to combat crime in response to intelligence provided by hawkers.
Shamshuipo Police District conducts joint operations with other departments to combat crime in response to intelligence provided by hawkers.

深水埗贩商守望约章队
香港警务处

卓越服务@政府
2017
JW Player goes here

动员社群力量 灭罪协作新策略

深水埗是人口稠密的旧社区,区内露天排档市场及商铺林立,售卖的货品各色各样,吸引众多市民和游客前来购物。由于排档大多由贩商个人经营,保安设施较为简单,加上人流量多,容易让不法之徒有机可乘。有见及此,深水埗警区由2014年7月起推行《贩商守望约章》,本着「齐参与、互守望」的宗旨,发挥社区守望相助的精神,推动社群力量,防止罪案,保障贩商以及其他市民的生命财产。此计划亦配合警务处处长首要行动项目,重点打击扒窃、抢劫等「搵快钱」罪案。

善用贩商网络 情报主导打击罪案

贩商参加约章后,成为街道的「守护者」,加强警民合作,组成庞大的情报网络。警方透过24小时的贩商专线,加上每天巡逻时与贩商接触,收集及分析情报,以情报主导方式执行反罪恶行动。另外,警方也会向贩商提供保安措施等方面的建议,防止罪案发生。

在计划推行初期,由于贩商过往与警方的接触有限,故对于计划反应未算积极。因此,警方透过贩商协会会议及宣传活动,以及警区通讯《深情》、《警讯》、YouTube等多种途径推广,又与贩商分享案件资讯,表扬成功举报的贩商。双方逐步建立互信,贩商也变得乐意加入此计划。

优化街道管理 意想不到的收获

此计划不但建立警方与贩商之间的联系网络,还进一步成为社区的解难平台,促进街道管理,改善社区环境。警方透过与贩商协会举行定期会议和日常接触,平衡贩商、居民及游客等的利益,协助化解冲突。如收到关于卫生、阻街和噪音方面的投诉,会联同有关机构,如入境事务处,劳工处或食物及环境卫生署合作处理。

此计划的推行,不但提升了防罪灭罪的效率及成效,并且加强了市民和商户的防罪意识及警觉性,同时亦有助改善社区生活环境。截至2017年7月为止,约章参与者数目由最初的172位,大增两倍多至619位,而其间贩商提供罪案消息合共114次,透过约章侦破的罪案超过70宗。由于成效显著,此计划已推广至西九龙各个警区,包括油尖及旺角警区等。

深水埗分区特遣队警员巡逻时与贩商沟通交流。
深水埗分区特遣队警员巡逻时与贩商沟通交流。
警方不时与各街道贩商代表举行会议,保持紧密联系。
警方不时与各街道贩商代表举行会议,保持紧密联系。
深水埗警区根据贩商提供的消息,与其他部门进行联合行动,打击区内罪案。
深水埗警区根据贩商提供的消息,与其他部门进行联合行动,打击区内罪案。