TEAM UP FOR THE CRADLE OF ELITES
Hong Kong Fire Services Department, Architectural Services Department, Electrical and Mechanical Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2017
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

NURTURING TALENTS IN LIFE-LIKE SETTINGS

With the rapid social development, the Fire Services Training School in Pat Heung could no longer meet the training needs of the department after almost 50 years of service. To accommodate more trainees and meet the diverse training requirements nowadays, the Hong Kong Fire Services Department (FSD), the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD) and the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) worked together to build a new Fire and Ambulance Services Academy (FASA) in Tseung Kwan O.

Covering an area of 15 hectares, FASA is well equipped with a wide range of sophisticated training facilities. There is a real fire training area in the north with training facilities that simulate different disastrous scenarios in a safe and controlled environment. The firefighters and paramedics are trained to deal with a variety of emergencies and coordinate the operations effectively. In the south, there is an education and living area with classrooms of different simulated work settings, a public education centre and dormitories for the trainees.

AN UNCONVENTIONAL BUILDING MAKING THE MOST OF AVAILABLE SPACE

The complex community environment in Hong Kong requires the trainees to be familiar with the features of different types of buildings and the ways that rescue work is carried out. However, the space in FASA cannot accommodate all types of buildings for training. FSD creatively came up with a solution to build an innovative Rescue Training Tower combining the features of industrial, commercial and residential buildings. Each of these buildings has its own structure, fire safety system and ventilation system. It was challenging to integrate these features into one building and meet the requirements of the Buildings Ordinance and the Fire Safety Ordinances. This training tower, nicknamed the “Weird House”, would not have been successfully developed without the seamless cooperation between the three departments .

In addition, there is an Urban Search and Rescue (USAR) Training Ground in FASA to simulate the rubble after a building collapse. The structure of the USAR Training Ground has to meet construction standards to ensure the safety of the users. Facilities such as safety rope brackets, emergency exits and CCTVs are also installed in suitable locations in the simulated building and the rubble. To ensure a longer life cycle, the rubble is consolidated with cement grout to resist storms and heavy rains, and to prevent the rubble from loosening and the ditches from silting. The three government departments took both the training needs and the construction limitation into consideration to provide trainees with a life-like and safe training environment.

EXTENSIVE CONSULTATION TO FORGE THE CRADLE OF ELITES

Over the last seven years, the three government departments maintained close communication with the Steering Committee of FASA and other stakeholders, including staff associations of FSD and representatives of the public. Over 500 meetings and site visits were arranged, and views and ideas were incorporated into the final design of FASA.

FASA was opened as scheduled in 2016. In the first year of its operation, the number of trainees exceeded 20,000, five times more than the capacity of the old training school. Two rounds of Open Day were held in 2016, attracting some 26,000 visitors. FASA demonstrated the successful cooperation of government departments to build an ideal training academy for nurturing more talents in firefighting and paramedics.

The “Weird House” integrates multiple life-like rescue situations and training elements.
The “Weird House” integrates multiple life-like rescue situations and training elements.
The newly built FASA is equipped with diverse training facilities to nurture more talents.
The newly built FASA is equipped with diverse training facilities to nurture more talents.
Real fire simulation facilities such as aircraft, vessels and railways are installed in FASA.
Real fire simulation facilities such as aircraft, vessels and railways are installed in FASA.

共建精英摇篮
香港消防处、建筑署、机电工程署

卓越服务@政府
2017
JW Player goes here

多元像真设计 培育全能消防救护人才

随着社会发展,使用近50年的八乡消防训练学校已不敷应用。为容纳更多受训学员及满足现今多元化的训练需求,消防处、建筑署和机电工程署携手合作,在将军澳兴建消防及救护学院。

学院占地15公顷,集合多元先进训练设施。北面的实火训练区,设置多个模拟训练设施,在安全及受控的情况下营造不同的灾难场景,让受训的消防及救护学员,锻炼在紧急事故中的应变及协调能力。南面的教育区及生活区,设有模拟不同工作场景的教室和公众教育中心,以及学员宿舍。

颠覆常规建筑 善用空间资源

香港社区环境复杂多变,学员有需要熟悉不同楼宇的特色及救援方法,但受空间所限,学院内不能兴建所有类型的楼宇以供训练。为解决此问题,消防处别出心裁,构思兴建一座兼具工业、商业和住宅建筑特点的救援训练楼。由于每一种用途的楼宇在结构和消防通风系统上各有不同,又须符合建筑物条例及消防安全条例,工程殊不简单。三部门紧密配合,始能完成此号称「古怪屋」的项目。

此外,学院亦设有针对楼宇坍塌事故的搜救训练场,模拟塌楼后颓垣败瓦的情景。为了保障使用者的安全,训练场的结构须符合标准,仿建的危楼和瓦砾场也在适当位置安装了安全绳索支架、紧急通道和闭路电视等设施。为提升可持续性,瓦砾堆以混凝土浆黏紧,能抵受暴风豪雨,防止瓦砾松脱,避免水渠淤塞。三部门兼顾训练需要和工程限制,为学员提供像真度高而又安全的训练环境。

广纳内外意见 成就精英摇篮

部门在过去七年与学院督导委员会和其他持份者,包括消防处工会及市民代表积极沟通,举行会议及实地勘察超过500次,将他们的建议融入学院设计之中。

学院按计划如期于2016年启用,首年培训人次达2万多,为旧校的五倍。 2016年举办两次开放日,共吸引约26,000人参观。学院充分见证政府部门通力合作,将大家梦想中的训练学院建成,培育更多消防和救护人才。

六不像古怪屋,集多种实战场景和训练元素于一身。
六不像古怪屋,集多种实战场景和训练元素于一身。
新建成的消防及救护学院设有多元化的训练设施,培育更多优秀人才。
新建成的消防及救护学院设有多元化的训练设施,培育更多优秀人才。
学院设有飞机、船只和地铁等多项实火模拟训练设施。
学院设有飞机、船只和地铁等多项实火模拟训练设施。