LICENSING OFFICE OF RESIDENTIAL CARE HOMES FOR THE ELDERLY AND KWUN TONG DISTRICT SOCIAL WELFARE OFFICE – “FROM DUSK TILL DAWN: WE SERVE WITH WARMTH AND DEVOTION”
Social Welfare Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2017
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

A SEAMLESS OVER-NIGHT EMERGENCY EVACUATION OF RESIDENTIAL CARE HOMES

In 2016, two residential care homes for the elderly were affected by dense smoke produced by a No.4 fire alarm set off nearby. In light of the latest developments, the Social Welfare Department (SWD) arranged the safe evacuation of 293 elderly residents, many of them in a fragile state of health, and 56 members of staff. It also immediately provided manpower for direct assistance, as well as transportation services, accommodation, emergency supplies, crisis support and counselling.

CAREFUL DEPLOYMENT AND THOUGHTFUL ARRANGEMENTS

The notice of a possible evacuation of the facility was released at about 8:00 am. To avoid panic and miscommunication, SWD and district office staff activated an emergency response process to deploy resources on site and provide accurate information to the affected people.

The elderly evacuees were all in very different health conditions: some could walk by themselves, some were bedridden, some were wheelchair users, and a few of them suffered from dementia. SWD staff therefore developed a comprehensive evacuation plan based on these specific needs, and implemented it in an orderly manner. They also reminded staff at the elderly homes to assist the residents with packing up their medicines and supplies, and constantly keep an eye on their health and general well-being. In addition, they contacted family members to see if they could provide temporary care for their seniors.

SWD immediately approached related organisations to provide resources and assistance. Ambulances and other vehicles of different capacities were arranged to transport the elderly residents, and nearby community halls were converted into temporary shelters. Short-term accommodation was made available for people who could not go back to their own homes. SWD also liaised with hospitals in the affected districts to provide medical support. Their staff stayed on site while waiting for the residents' evacuation to maintain normal operations of the two elderly homes. They also provided counselling services to the residents and staff.

ORDERLY OVER-NIGHT EVACUATION AND RETURN

At about 7:00 pm the residents were evacuated as instructed. Additional manpower for assistance was sent to the elderly homes and shelters. Staff closely monitored the physical and mental health of the elderly residents, assisted people with walking difficulties, checked the number of evacuees and their ultimate destinations. The evacuation carried on until 4:00 am the next morning.

During the following week, SWD staff continuously followed up with the status of the elderly residents. They paid daily visits to 11 different elderly homes together with medical staff from the Hospital Authority to monitor the elderly residents’ health conditions. By the end of June, when the two facilities were declared safe again, SWD staff accompanied the residents back to the elderly homes in batches.

Besides significant extra care required by the target group, SWD had to overcome many challenges during the evacuation. For instance, it had to provide accommodation and supplies for the elderly within a very short time. SWD also had to deploy a large number of staff to these sites to provide support, and the dense smoke constantly coming in created a very difficult working environment. The emergency also posed a challenge for the department’s internal communications. Because of its effective internal structures and division of labour, SWD staff maintained close contact and complemented each other. In terms of external communication, SWD responded promptly to enquiries from various district councillors and the media. It issued press releases proactively, and set up a 24-hour hotline for public enquiries and counselling services. The evacuation is regarded as a great success and the credit goes to our dedicated colleagues and their ingenuity, a careful and efficient deployment process and excellent team work.

Inspectors from the Licensing Office of Residential Care Homes supervised the on-site staff of the elderly homes while they prepared drugs for the residents.
Inspectors from the Licensing Office of Residential Care Homes supervised the on-site staff of the elderly homes while they prepared drugs for the residents.
SWD prepared residents to be evacuated from the residential care home.
SWD prepared residents to be evacuated from the residential care home.
SWD arranged a temporary shelter for the residents.
SWD arranged a temporary shelter for the residents.

安老院牌照事务处及观塘区福利办事处 –「深宵护老大行动」
社会福利署

卓越服务@政府
2017
JW Player goes here

撤离长者 用心护航

2016年两所安老院受到邻近发生四级火警的浓烟影响。社会福利署(社署)因应现场最新情况,策划及安排293位体弱长者院友及56位员工安全撤离,即时提供人手、交通、住宿照顾、紧急救济、危机介入和情绪支援等服务。

缜密部署 细心安排

社署于早上约8时接获通知有可能需要安排长者撤离,总部和地区同事即时启动指挥及协作机制,部署所需资源,并确保发放的资讯准确,以避免引起误会和恐慌。

院友有不同的身体状况,有的行动较自如,有的需要卧床或使用轮椅,也有部分患有认知障碍症。社署按他们的需要,作出分流安排,并编排撤离次序。社署同事亦指导安老院职员收拾医药等用品以供院友其后使用,监察他们的健康状况,并联络家属了解他们可否暂时接回长者。

社署迅速联络相关单位寻求资源和协助,包括安排救护车及其他合适的车辆运送院友,把邻近的社区会堂辟作庇护中心,为未能回家暂住的院友找寻临时宿位,要求地区医院提供医疗支援。在等待撤离期间,同事一直在现场协助两院维持运作,稳定院友和员工的情绪。

连夜撤离 有序归航

当晚约7时按指示开始撤离院友,社署即时加派人手到院舍和庇护中心,留意院友身心状况,帮助行动不便者,核实人数及目的地。撤离行动一直持续到翌日凌晨4时。

在随后一周,社署持续跟进庇护中心院友的情况,并联同医管局医护人员每天到11所安老院监察暂住院友的身体状况。在证实原安老院回复安全后,社署于6月底有秩序地分批护送院友迁回。

除了服务对象需要加倍照料外,社署在行动中还面对多项挑战,包括需要在短时间内安排宿位和物资、调动大批人手支援,以及面对浓烟不断渗入的工作环境。这次行动对内部沟通也是一大考验,社署清晰的指挥架构和分工,让同事紧密联系,互补互助。对外方面,社署积极回应区议员和传媒的查询,主动发放新闻稿,设立 24 小时热线即时回应市民查询及提供情绪支援等。凭着同事的热诚机智,周详部署和合作精神,这次行动得以圆满完成。

牌照处督察指导院舍员工预备院友的药物
牌照处督察指导院舍员工预备院友的药物。
社署同事协助运送院友撤离院舍
社署同事协助运送院友撤离院舍。
社署安排院友到庇护中心稍作休息
社署安排院友到庇护中心稍作休息。