MEETING CHALLENGES AND SCALING NEW HEIGHTS
Hong Kong Fire Services Department

Exemplary Services@Gov
2017
JW Player goes here
Only Cantonese version is available for this video

It is the mission of the Hong Kong Fire Services Department (FSD) to save those in distress and protect the community. To strive for continuous improvement, FSD gauges different views by fostering exchange with overseas counterparts to align with international standards. It also taps the views of local stakeholders through various channels such as the Public Liaison Group, Business Liaison Groups of different business sectors, the Fire Safety Ambassador Scheme / Building Fire Safety Envoy Scheme, seminars and visits, as well as District Councils and the Legislative Council, the media and other government departments. Internally, the management maintains close communication with the staff through regular meetings with staff associations and dialogues with the frontline officers.

ENHANCING SERVICE THROUGH INNOVATION

Apart from the continuous improvement of existing services, FSD also explores new services through innovation. In terms of rescue operations and regulation, in view of the use of special drilling techniques for the first time in Hong Kong in the construction of part of the sub-sea tunnel of the Hong Kong – Zhuhai – Macao Bridge, and the need to ensure the safety of the workers, FSD assisted the Labour Department and the Highways Department in formulating regulatory guidelines and contingency plans for the workers. It also provided special training for the staff and developed specific equipment for rescue operations. More details can be found in Getting in Gear for Deep and Shallow Waters.

FSD also proactively explores new measures to provide appropriate first-aid service to patients. For example, intravenous adrenalin treatment in emergency resuscitation can enhance the survival of patients of cardiac arrest. This complex first-aid procedure was previously performed only by doctors in hospitals. In 2016, FSD overcame the difficulty and implemented the administration of intravenous adrenalin by ambulance personnel for patients before they are conveyed to hospital.

In addition, the Guidebook for the Compliance of Fire Safety Directions Issued by FSD illustrates with graphics the relevant regulations and requirements in a clear and simple way. This makes it easy for owners of old buildings to follow the regulations and enhance fire safety.

PROMOTING A CULTURE OF EXCELLENCE AND CARING FOR THE STAFF

FSD is committed to promoting a culture of service enhancement and encouraging staff to pursue continuous learning. It also values staff’s opinions and responds positively to them. For example, under the Scheme on Optimised Arrangements for the Rest Areas, a more comfortable rest area and better replenishments are provided for frontline officers working at the scene of an incident. This has won unanimous praise from the staff. The Scheme not only raises the level of occupational safety and health and the morale of the frontline staff, but also enhances their ability to perform rescue work over extended hours.

On the training front, a brand new, world class Fire and Ambulance Services Academy was opened in 2016. It is fully equipped with various simulation training facilities to enhance the ability of the trainees to deal with the situation on site. More details can be found in Team up for the Cradle of Elites.

FSD embraces new challenges and continuously improves its services with remarkable achievements. The success is attributed to a robust mechanism of continuous improvement and a culture of service excellence.

The Guidebook for the Compliance of Fire Safety Directions Issued by FSD provides stakeholders with information in a clear and simple way.
The Guidebook for the Compliance of Fire Safety Directions Issued by FSD provides stakeholders with information in a clear and simple way.
Pre-hospital administration of intravenous adrenalin enhances the survival of patients of cardiac arrest.
Pre-hospital administration of intravenous adrenalin enhances the survival of patients of cardiac arrest.
Under the Scheme on Optimised Arrangements for the Rest Areas, a more comfortable rest area and better replenishments are provided for frontline officers working at the scene, enabling them to continue with their work in better shape.
Under the Scheme on Optimised Arrangements for the Rest Areas, a more comfortable rest area and better replenishments are provided for frontline officers working at the scene, enabling them to continue with their work in better shape.

排难奋进 再创高峰
香港消防处

卓越服务@政府
2017
JW Player goes here

消防处一直秉持「救灾扶危,为民解困」的宗旨服务市民。为了不断完善服务,消防处广纳意见,既与海外同业交流,务求与国际接轨;又透过不同渠道收集本地持份者意见,包括公众联络小组、各类型营商联络小组、消防安全大使 ∕ 特使计划、研讨会及参观,以及各级议会、传媒和其他政府部门等;在部门内,管职双方亦保持紧密沟通,除与部门职工会定期会面外,管理层与前线人员亦不时真情对话。

推陈出新 提升服务

消防处在持续改善现有服务的同时,亦运用创新思维,不断开拓新服务。在救援和监管方面,针对港珠澳大桥香港段海底隧道工程采用本港首次应用的钻挖技术,以及保障工程人员安全的需要,消防处协助劳工处和路政署等部门制定监管规例,并为工程人员制定应急预案,又为消防处员工提供特殊训练,以及研发专用救援装备,详情请参阅浅滩深海任纵横

消防处也积极研究新措施,致力为伤病者提供最适切的救护服务。例如为心脏停顿伤病者注射「肾上腺素」,有助恢复自主心跳,增加存活率。以往只会在医院由医生进行这类复杂急救程序。处方克服困难,于2016年年底全面落实在伤病者送院前,由救护人员施行「肾上腺素」注射,务求提高病人的生存机会。

消防处亦编制了《遵办消防处消防安全指示的实务指南》,以图片及简单易明的方式阐述法例及其要求,使旧式楼宇的业主易于遵从,提升消防安全。

推广优良部门文化 细心支援员工

消防处致力推广提升服务的部门文化,鼓励员工持续进修,亦很珍视员工意见,并积极回应。 「优化歇息区计划」便是其中一例。该计划为灾场执勤同事提供更为合适的小休地方和更佳的补给,获员工一致好评。这计划不但提高职业安全健康的水平及前线人员士气,亦显著提升他们长时间执行救援工作的能力。

在培训方面,达世界先进水平的全新消防及救护学院已于2016年启用。学院设施完备,包括多项模拟训练设施,增强学员的实战能力,详情请参阅共建精英摇篮

消防处勇于接受新挑战,并努力不懈提升服务水平,取得丰硕成果。这实在要归功于部门完善的持续改善服务机制和优良的服务文化。

《遵办消防处消防安全指示的实务指南》为各持份者提供简洁易明的资讯。
《遵办消防处消防安全指示的实务指南》为各持份者提供简洁易明的资讯。
院前「肾上腺素」注射有效抢救心脏停顿病人,大幅提升存活比率。
院前「肾上腺素」注射有效抢救心脏停顿病人,大幅提升存活比率。
「优化歇息区计划」为灾场执勤同事提供更合适的小休环境、设施和用品,让他们可以在稍事休息后,以更佳的状态继续执行任务。
「优化歇息区计划」为灾场执勤同事提供更合适的小休环境、设施和用品,让他们可以在稍事休息后,以更佳的状态继续执行任务。